Molasses and Butter

This is my grandfather, DaddyKen. He is one handsome looking fellow, isn’t he? 

He was a barber for 50+ years and has been my barber all my life. But he is also amazing in the kitchen. He taught me how to mix my cereals. And he makes the best bacon and eggs. Ever. True story.  He also taught me how to eat molasses properly.

You may think this is weird. My husband certainly did the first time he saw my family doing it. Now he’s a convert who loves it. But way back in the day, he definitely thought it seemed weird. And looked gross. So you are forgiven if you think this is weird or gross. But seriously, don’t knock it till you try it. 😉

Butter, molasses, a fork and a biscuit. Simple yet so delicious.

DaddyKen grew up eating molasses and butter “smooshed” together like this. He learned it from his father. And he passed it down to my mom who passed it to our family. And now my husband loves this too so you better believe that we will pass this down to our kiddos. I know it isn’t the prettiest thing, but believe me – it is amazingly delicious! 🙂

Has anyone else heard of this? Is it just my family? Or maybe a southern country tradition (my grandfather grew up in the country)?

34 responses to “Molasses and Butter

  1. I’m old-school. That looks delicious to me. Put me down for two!

  2. That does look gross. But my everyone in my family eats peanut butter on their pancakes, so who am I to judge? 😉

  3. I have never heard of that… And admittedly, it does like weird. and gross. But I’ve eaten stranger concoctions, so that sounds like something worth the try! 😉

    -Tia

  4. First time to learn about this.. Mmm in fact, I don’t think we have molasses in here. Let me check the grocery store later!

  5. it does sound a bit gross but I KNOW I would adore something like this Rach!

  6. Everybody thinks that it’s weird that my family it’s chocolate syrup and biscuits, but I think BOTH are good!

  7. Your grandpa is so cute! I bet I would like that combo actually. I love molasses!

  8. I’ve never heard of it, but it sounds delicious!! BTW-your grandpa is a doll!
    xoxo Darby

    Obviously Obsessed 

  9. I have never heard of this before but it does look and sound rather yummy 🙂

  10. I was a little grossed out until I saw you put it on the biscuit. That definitely makes it better! I’m sure this is actually really good!

  11. I have never heard of this, but I believe you that it’s delicious! I love the old photos!

  12. Such a cute blog an cute grandpa! And i need to try that molasses thingy!!!

  13. I’ve never heard of this before!! I’m betting its tasty, though!

    I love the relationship you have with your grandpa. Its so sweet. And still, I love that he cuts your hair! haha
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  14. I have not heard of this, but no judgement here! It looks really good!

  15. I’ve never heard of that, but I totally imagine that it’s delish! 🙂

  16. I love mixing cereal! I bet butter + molasses is super good too!! I love hearing about family traditions and such 🙂

  17. I have never heard of this! Wasn’t it a Julia Child’s quote that went something like, “If you eat something delicious, you know butter was in it”?

  18. I love family traditions like this! I don’t think I’ve ever really had molasses (gasp!) but that sounds like it would be good 🙂

  19. You and your grandfather are so cute together! I love this little family secret – even if I do think it sounds a bit gross. But then again, butter pretty much makes everything taste amazing so I bet it’s delish 🙂

  20. never heard of molasses and butter but it sounds kind of yummy!! and your grandfather was such a handsome guy!

  21. I’ve never heard of this before but I bet it’s amazing!!! I’ve been on such a butter kick lately… *sigh* my winter jeans just love me right now haha :/

  22. Hahaha! I love crazy family traditions like this: things you would think, “seriously?”, but they end up being the BEST! I’ll have to give this a try…I love molasses…

  23. Pingback: Pioneer Woman’s Buttermilk Biscuits for Valentine’s |

  24. My grandparents used to do that too!

  25. Pingback: My Grandmother’s Rolls |

  26. Grew up doing this also, and my grandfather taught me too! We also did it with syrup.

  27. I made me some molasses and butter to eat with my toast and decided to look else ate it. I found your site and ate mine while reading the comments. I grew up in North Carolina and we ate it all the time.

  28. My dad did it but he put molasses and butter in a skillet and warmed it all up til butter melted and put it over biscuits. It is awesome. Now im craving it lol

  29. My father taught me to make this when I was a child. He came from Texas and Virginia. Must be a southern thing! I love them!

  30. Pingback: Kitchen Project: The Cooking Tribute Collage |

  31. Yes, I did!! I just finished eating a biscuit, molasses and butter! Love it! My favorite go to! My Dad was from the South, my Mom from the North – but this was expected in our home especially on Sunday mornings before church! Cracker Barrel lost my business when they stopped carrying the molasses because that is what I always went in there for !!! Yummy!

  32. Pingback: Celebrating 90 Years! |

Leave a Reply

