The Fastest and Furriest 5k!

This weekend the Humane Shelter of Memphis and Shelby County (where I used to volunteer and where we adopted Oreo from!) hosted the Fastest and Furriest 5k! It was so much fun!

There were over 600 people there! And lots and lots of dogs!

Aaaaand we’re off! The runners were in the very front which meant that we were definitely in the back, haha!

Check out his adorable “Boo!” shirt! He got so many compliments on it. πŸ™‚ Also, I’m not sure what’s up with my right foot. I really don’t walk like that normally, haha!

OreoΒ loved all the grass along the route. He stopped and sniffedΒ everything! We joked that it was going to take us 3 hours to finish the 5k, but it would still be a PR for Oreo since he has never been in a race before. πŸ˜‰

Water break!

Oh look! If you count Christopher’s shadow, this is totally a family shot. πŸ˜‰

Almost there!

Oreo is SO happy about his PR! Want to hear his amazing time?? It was a speedy 1:12:05! HA! Ah, the joys of your very first race – any time is a PR! Next year we are going to shoot for 1:11:59 so he can PR again! πŸ˜‰Β 

The only 5k shirts they had left were Larges… I’m pretty sure I won’t be wearing this out and about all that often. πŸ˜‰ On the bright side, what a lovely nightgown this makes…

We had such a great time! Oreo made lots of new friends and we did too. There were so many hilarious moments. Definitely will do this again next year! πŸ™‚

22 responses to “The Fastest and Furriest 5k!

  1. too cute! My boyfriend and I tried taking Titan with us on a run and it did NOT work out. he wanted to check out and sniff eeeeevverything making it impossible to run, so I have a good feeling we would have been walking like you guys!

  2. Your pup is adorable & congrats to him on his PR! πŸ™‚

  3. WOOHOO way to go Oreo!!! πŸ™‚ That looks like such a great race for a good cause!

  4. I’ve never heard of a 5K for dogs! What a cute idea! The little dog I had growing up definitely wouldn’t have been up for that. He would have been strangling himself on the leash, trying to sniff everything, and I would have been carrying him by the end because he was too tired to finish. Glad Oreo got a personal record! πŸ™‚

  5. So cute, I love the idea of a 5K for the dogs!! YAY for Oreo!

  6. haha! that is so cute πŸ™‚ yayyy congrats oreo on your pr! πŸ˜‰

  7. Wow, looks like you guys had a great time! Oreo is always so cute. πŸ˜€

    -Tia

  8. Awww! I love Oreo! What a sweet dog! Thanks for all the sweet blog comments. πŸ™‚

  9. Heheh. Great job Oreo!!!! πŸ˜€

  10. Haha LOVE it, yay for PRs!! Congrats to Oreo, and happy future training for a 1:11:59 πŸ˜€

    You have a beauuutiful family, girl!

  11. Awww! Way to go Oreo! This is too cute πŸ™‚

  12. Yup that shirt is definitely nightgown quality right there! Too bad that they didn’t have smaller sizes left, but I’m glad Oreo is so proud of his PR!

  13. what a great event especially to raise awareness and to get more people to adopt shelter animals! good job on his pr, maybe he should train for next year’s race πŸ˜‰

  14. It does make a nice nightgown! πŸ™‚

    Oreo is soooo cute and I’m loving his Boo shirt.

    What a great event!

  15. What a fun event – Oreo looks so excited and cute!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  16. This looks like so much fun!

  17. how fun!! I think I need to get my dog to run a race!

  18. I want to take our dogs to a race — not that they could behave!!

  19. Oreo’s first race πŸ™‚ Adorbs.
    You crack me up “SO happy about his PR!” !!
    Is he going to do a race recap for us? I sniffed some grass…. and more grass….

Leave a Reply

