Because sometimes we should talk about breakfast…

If you like pancakes then you will love these fluffy, delightful pancake squares. I found the recipe over at Big Red Kitchen and oh my gracious, they are delicious! These were part of our breakfast-for-dinner that was oh so fabulous. Also fabulous is realizing that you already have all the ingredients for a recipe on hand so no trip to the store is necessary! πŸ™‚

Mmmm… just imagine that doused in butter and pure maple syrup… YUM!

Pancake Squares

Ingredients:

3/4 cup almond milk
2 tbsp melted butter
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp sugar
1 cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350Β°. Lightly grease an 8Γ—8 baking dish.

2. In a large mixing bowl, beat together milk, butter, egg, and vanilla. In separate bowl whisk together sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt. Gradually mix dry ingredients into wet.

3. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

While we’re on the topic of breakfast foods… let’s discuss this crazy easy Cinnamon Twist recipe that I got from my mom ages ago. Actually, there isn’t much to discuss. It’s super simple, really quick, and so yummy. End of discussion. πŸ˜‰


Cinnamon Twists

Ingredients:

2 packages Pillsbury Recipe Creations refrigerated dough
1/4 cup brown sugar (not packed)
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter, room temperature
1Β½ tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. To make filling, combine brown sugar, sugar, 1/4 cup butter, cinnamon and salt in medium bowl, stirring well to make sure the butter gets mixed in evenly. Set aside.

2. Prepare a dry surface by sprinkling it with a small amount of flour to prevent sticking. Remove dough from package and roll out onto floured surface. Using a rolling pin dusted lightly with flour, roll out dough just a little until your sheet is Β about 8 inches by 12 inches. Repeat for the other sheet of dough.

3. Spread filling out evenly over 1 sheet of dough, leaving a Β½-inch border around the edges. Place the other sheet of dough on top of filling. Slice into 9 equal strips. Twist each strip into a ball and place into greased muffin tin.

4. Cover muffin tin with aluminum foil. Bake in the oven for 8 minutes. Remove foil and return to oven. Bake for an additional 5 minutes, or until cinnamon twists have risen and are slightly browned on top.

Note: I used to make these with Splenda and fake butter products and they were delicious, but this past year we have really moved toward eating more real foods and trying to cut out the fake stuff which is why many of my recipes look different than they used to. πŸ™‚

Aaaand finally, let’s end with some quick and easy orange rolls!

Orange Rolls

Ingredients:

4 oz softened cream cheese
1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp orange zest
1 (11oz) can refrigerated French bread dough
1 tbsp melted butter
1/2 cup powder sugar
1 tbsp orange juice

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375Β°. Beat softened cream cheese, brown sugar, and orange zest at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth.

2. Unroll refrigerated French bread dough onto a lightly floured surface. Spread cream cheese mixture over dough, leaving a 1⁄4-inch border. Gently roll up dough, starting at 1 long side.

3. Cut into 11 (11⁄4-inch) slices. Place slices in a lightly greased 8-inch round cake pan. Brush top of dough with melted butter. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until golden.

4. Stir together 1⁄2 cup powdered sugar and 1 tbsp orange juice in a small bowl until smooth. Drizzle over hot rolls. Serve immediately.

And now I am officially craving sweet breakfast foods. πŸ˜‰ Good thing I still have a few leftover in the fridge from this weekend!

16 responses to “Because sometimes we should talk about breakfast…

  1. Oh my gosh, so much breakfast goodness!!! I want all of these!

  2. At first I thought those pancake squares were blondies! They look like a great way to enjoy both a baresque dessert & a pancake for breakfast πŸ™‚

  3. Lots of goodies!! I need to make breakfast food like that more often.

  4. Orange rolls? Those sound fantastic!!! I love breakfast for dinner. πŸ™‚

  5. Okay, you’ve officially made me hungry. I have never heard of pancake squares, but I love the concept!!

  6. Ooh those cinnamon twists sound amazing!

  7. what a great idea with those pancake squares, they sound delicious!!!

  8. Great…now I drooled on my keyboard!
    Thanks for sharing – these all look fantastic.

  9. Yum!! Why can’t you be my neighbor? I would be visiting you ALL the time.

  10. I am thinking that instead of the regular crescent roll dough, you could use that crescent creations dough they have now.Just roll them out a little thinner after popping them out of the package. What do you think? I also think they taste better with the real stuff than the fake stuff. πŸ™‚

    • Hey! You commented on my blog! I think this is a first! πŸ™‚ You’re right, I definitely use the recipe creations when possible since they are so much easier to use. I’m not sure why I didn’t think to change that in this recipe. I’ll edit it. πŸ™‚ Thanks, Mom! πŸ™‚

  11. Thanks for making me crave all of that after I have been eating bad on vacay and definitely don’t need it πŸ˜‰

  12. Oh yummy! I want to make the cinnamon twists asap! They look so good. πŸ™‚

  13. k! so i am officially coming over to your place next time you are making breakfast, i have never heard of pancake squares now i definitely need to try them and anything cinnamon i love it!

  14. mmmmm! this post makes me hungry for breakfast food!!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

