Matthew’s House Warming Party

A friend of ours just moved into his new place and we have discovered that he is lacking in all the normal household items. I’m not just talking cleaning supplies and dishware, the man doesn’t own a can opener. I know, right. So we bought him one.ย And we also gave him a mug because he borrowed one over a year ago and it got passed on to my bestie Whitney so now he gets his very own identical mug. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh! And Disinfecting Wipes because they are superย versatile.

Side note, not only did my college roomie and I use these wipes to clean the microwave, counter tops, spills, sink, tub, etc… we also used them to clean the floor. No joke, we would toss them on the tile floor and step on one with each foot and dance around our dorm room until the floor was spotless. I don’t know that Matthew will dance around his new home with these attached to his feet, but I’m guessing he will at least use them for the occasional cleaning project! ๐Ÿ™‚

Since Matthew didn’t own anything to cook with before tonight, we all brought dinner to his place! I made my mom’s Macaroni and Cheese. And my gracious, it isย cheeeeesy! People loved it. Not a bit of it was left. So thanks, Mom, for another delicious recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

Mom’s Macaroni and Cheese

Ingredients:

1lb elbow pasta, cooked
1 stick butter
3 eggs, beaten
1 (10 oz) can evaporated milk
ยฝ pound Velveeta, cubed
1 pound sharp cheddar, cubed
1 cup milk
Salt and pepper to taste
3 cups sharp cheddar, grated

Directions:

Put cooked macaroni in slow cooker.ย Add all ingredients except grated cheese.ย Mix well and add more milk to make it very soupy if needed.ย Put grated cheese on top and cook on low setting for 2-3 hours

Matthew was pretty excited about the can opener! And the wipes too! He said he might even “mop” with them at some point. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But best of all was when he saw the mug! His very own! I know he will treasure it always. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I spent most of the evening chatting with friends and catching up on recent happenings. Oh, and playing with this little girl. Hadley has the best expressions. She is just SO cute!

Us with Matthew!

All in all, it was a great party and by the end of the evening, Matthew’s new house was thoroughly warmed! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

30 responses to “Matthew’s House Warming Party

  1. That mac n’ cheese looks good lady!!

  2. Haha oh the joys of bachelorhood ๐Ÿ˜‰ That mac’n cheese looks divine!!

  3. Lucky Matthew to have such good friends!

  4. That mac and cheese looks heavenly! ๐Ÿ™‚ So nice of you to make such a thoughtful package for your friend. I’m sure he loved it.

  5. So funny that he didn’t even have a can opener! Is this the guy that was living with you and Christopher for awhile?

    • Nope, that was Tony. He got married last year and his wife is taking good care of him now. ๐Ÿ˜‰ However, Matthew HAS been living with some of our besties so he was in pretty much the same boat as Tony (not having a lot of his own stuff). But now, he at least owns a can opener so he won’t starve. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. I love what you chose for him haha. It shows that you know him so well!

  7. How nice is that! =) And mac and cheeeeese! Yummy!!

  8. Mmmmm that mac and cheese looks awesome! This made me laugh a little…when Travis moved into his apartment, he had to call me to ask what to buy at the grocery store…oh, boys!

  9. I am sooo glad to know that I am not the only one that uses these wipes to clean the floor hahahaha.

  10. ahhahhah
    Guys normally have NONE of the essentials. I once went into my friends place and looked up and down for a pot and he said he didn’t own one yet…he had lived there for almost a year!

  11. I keep this wipes handy at work too! You never know when you might need them! Congrats to your friend!

  12. Lovely photos & that mac and cheese looks delicious!

  13. Such a typical bachelor, tut tut tut Matthew! At least you guys were there to save him from his dire situation. I mean, what would he have used if he didn’t have a can opener and he decided to have sweet corn for dinner>

    PS: I would so do the disinfecting-wipes-dance!

  14. Pingback: Talking about that Precious Pup |

  15. such pretty people! ๐Ÿ™‚ that mac and cheese looks awesome

  16. yum, that looks amazing, but i can’t make anything with velveeta…something about a cheese that can sit on shelves and never go bad! clorox wipes are definitely versatile. i love those things!

  17. I want to make homemade mac and cheese – that looks so good!

  18. that mac and cheese looks awesome!!!

  19. I STILL dance around the kitchen floor with disinfecting wipes attached to my feet! The mop is too messy, and I have no idea where our Swiffer went….so wipes it is! Plus, dance-cleaning parties are more fun than regular cleaning parties. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Your mom’s mac n’ cheese recipe looks to-die-for delicious! I have a secret love for Velveeta; nothing is quite like it!

  20. Pingback: Panini and Dip |

  21. Pingback: Panini and Rotel Dip |

  22. I’ve never heard of mac & cheese in the slow cooker! That does sound really good though.

  23. I love Clorox wipes & Mac and cheese (not together..LOL) ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. I love how you ended your post Rach ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  25. Funnn! And omg that mac and cheese looks AMAZING!

  26. Pingback: Christmas in January |

  27. I loved reading back on that time!!! And I’ve got to say one of my favorite things from the south is crock pot macaroni and cheese! Yours calls for A LOT of cheese! I bet it’s excellent!

  28. Pingback: Kitchen Project: The Cooking Tribute Collage |

Leave a Reply

