Thankful for my In-Laws

We celebrated Thanksgiving with Christopher’s parents over the weekend and I just have to tell you guys: I love my parents-in-law. I first met them almost exactly 8 years ago when they came to our university to pick Christopher and his brother up for Thanksgiving break. Christopher and I had only been dating a couple of months at this point, but they treated me like one of their own. In the 8 years I have known them, they have never been unkind to me. I’m sure they had their concerns when they first met their son’s the very opinionated 17-year-old girlfriend (who was still dealing with reverse Β culture shock at this point), but if they did, they never let it show. They were gracious and loving to me always.


My mother-in-law is unbelievably supportive. It doesn’t matter what “it” is… she believes I can do it and even be the best at it! And it’s not just me that she supports so whole heartedly. She is like this with everyone she loves (especially everyone in our family). She is the reason that my husband truly has no fear when it comes to trying new things. He has been raised to believe that he can excel at anything he puts his mind to. And you know what… he has. He amazes me with his determination. And like his mother, Christopher believes I can do anything. Even when I don’t see it. He is my biggest cheerleader. Always. When I feel like I don’t measure up or I’m afraid to try something new, he is by my side, cheering me on.

That very first day I met Christopher’s dad, Tony, he pulled me aside and said, “I have been watching and I see the way my son looks at you. He is falling in love with you. You are good for him, but I want you to promise me to date him for at least 18 months before you agree to marry him. In those 18 months you will really get to know him and see all sides of his personality.” I don’t remember my exact response, but I do remember being surprised and happy and confused and excited all at the same time. At this point, we’d only been together a couple of months and Christopher and I definitely had not said the “I love yous” yet so I was ecstatic to hear that someone who knew Christopher so well could see that he was falling in love with me. Plus I loved knowing that I had his parents’ approval! It doesn’t take long in the same room with my father-in-law to discover that he is hilarious. But in serious moments, he truly gives some of the best advice (like the advice not to rush into marriage at ages 17/18, haha). Many of my husband’s decisions have been based in wisdom shared from his father over the years. I am grateful for the relationship he has with his dad.

As I’ve been writing this I realize that I love how the things I love most about my in-laws are traits that Christopher carries as well. The wisdom and sense of humor from his dad and the constant encouragement from his mom. I am so thankful for my husband’s parents and that they raised their son the way they did because he is truly an amazing man of God. πŸ™‚

29 responses to “Thankful for my In-Laws

  1. In-laws get a bad rap, don’t they? I’m glad you set the record straight about yours … you can tell they’re a warm and loving couple.

  2. this is the sweetest post I have ever read – so thoughtful, so honest, & so full of love & appreciation. Def the best post I have read all day!

  3. Uhhhmazing!! I swooned at that sentence about what his dad made you promise. What amazing inlaws!! You got really lucky!

  4. I am so happy to hear you love your in-laws so much and you had a nice weekend!
    Thanks for sharing your sweet post

  5. This is SUCH a sweet post! It’s amazing that you have a great relationship with your loving in-laws and that they raised such an awesome son. It was also cool to read how their good personality traits have been instilled in your hubby! Very cool!

  6. so awesome to have such great in laws!!!

  7. Love that you guys met each other and you’ve like one family and there’s so much love in your life, Rachel your so blessed πŸ™‚

  8. Amazing in-laws are such a blessing! Thankfully I love mine, but I’ve heard horror stories. Yours sound wonderful. πŸ™‚

  9. What a sweet little post! You all are just precious! It really makes a difference when the in-laws love you. My in-laws are pretty great and I have no doubt that they love me just like one of their own.

  10. Your in-laws sound wonderful! How exciting that you got the inside scoop on Christopher when you’d only been dating for a couple of months! πŸ˜€

  11. This was so special and a beautiful tribute to your in-laws! πŸ™‚

  12. This is so sweet! You are really lucky πŸ™‚

  13. So cute, you are so lucky to have such great in laws!

    creamyclothes.blogspot.com

  14. this post was amazing!!! it was so heartfelt, and you can tell that your in-laws really mean the world to you! it was refreshing to read something so kind and heartwarming. So glad you have this wonderful couple in your life, and that they raised a son who is just as amazing! good catch rach!

  15. This is so sweet! How great is it to have great in-laws?? I couldn’t ask for better in-laws, and I feel so lucky that they are as wonderful as they are. Because I know it could be a totally different story!

  16. aw this is the most adorable thing ever! how wonderful to have a great support system

    Jessica
    http://www.jumpintopuddles.com

  17. It is soo nice to love our in-laws. I feel bad for people that don’t!

  18. I wish I have in-laws just like yours when I get married! πŸ™‚

  19. I think it is so awesome you have such a great relationship with your in-laws. You have such an awesome and supportive family, I said it before, but I really think it is just beautiful! Not to mention good aesthetics – I love the coordinating purple colors πŸ™‚ Congratulations, love, couldn’t have happened to a sweeter person!

  20. aww… ❀ what a beautiful family!! you truly are blessed! happy for you πŸ™‚

  21. i had remembered this post from a while back when you posted it, and i wanted to tell you that your father in law is very wise! we learned during our first year med school in a human behavior course, that 1.5 years is the time it takes for any sort of infatuation to fade away. so now that is also an interesting factoid that i tell people- to wait 1.5 years minimum!

  22. Pingback: A day for birthdays! :) |

  23. Pingback: #thankful |

  24. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recap |

  25. Pingback: Celebrating 60 years |

  26. What a wonderful post! You are amazingly blessed to have such a wonderful and supportive family. I love this. I wish to be blessed with such great in-laws in the future. Stay well!

  27. I love this. You are truly blessed. I look forward to having an amazing set in in laws like you. Stay well.

Leave a Reply

