Thanksgiving at the Beach

We spent Thanksgiving at the beach with my family this year. Wednesday morning when we were preparing to leave home to head south we got a call saying that my baby sister had been a horrible car wreck. Amazingly, she walked away mostly unscathed (lots of pain, but no broken bones or major physical trauma) which is hard to believe after seeing pictures of her totaled car. At this time of year when we are focused on what we are thankful for, it made me especially thankful for her safety.

Little sister Abby is in the middle. My older sister Holly is on the right.

Thanksgiving Day! This is my aunt’s table cloth that she started nearly 10 years ago. Every year those present at Thanksgiving write down what they are most thankful for. I love this tradition!

Thanksgiving dinner – beach edition! Shrimp, sausage, potatoes, corn, crawfish stuffing, and rolls! We also had crab salad, deviled eggs, and fruit! It was a delicious meal!

All the boys were in charge of clean up duty! 🙂

Me with my Makenzie girl on the beach! 🙂 The weather was GORGEOUS!

Christopher and Kenzie do cartwheels together on the beach!

This year’s family sandcastle!

Love this guy and love the beach! Life is good. 🙂

On Friday night we had a Murder Mystery Dinner! Everyone (boys included) dressed up as girls and it was HILARIOUS! I would love to share the photos of the boys, but unfortunately I had to promise not to post any of the photos online. As it turns out, most people thought I was the murderer! But it turned out to be my brother-in-law! Dun Dun Duh!

Saturday we were a house divided as Bama destroyed Auburn! 9 of us were Roll Tide fans and the other 6 were faking being Auburn fans just to annoy my brother-in-law who is a HUGE Bama fan. 😉 Hence the over kill on Auburn decorations in the background. It was all in good fun, though. 🙂

My mom and two of my sisters. 🙂 So thankful for the time I got to spend with them over Thanksgiving. And that I got to talk to my oldest sister in Prague and my brother in OK via Skype. It was a great Thanksgiving!

 

30 responses to “Thanksgiving at the Beach

  1. Aw you guys totally look like sisters! You’re SO adorable! I hope you had a fantastic thanksgiving, rach!

  2. Amazing pictures! I think my new goal is to have Thanksgiving at the beach! I love the beach!

  3. Wow, you had the most stunning thanksgiving! What more do you need than family and love? And of course good food! Sorry to hear about your sis, but glad she is okay!

  4. Oh my gosh, looks like y’all had so much fun! 🙂 🙂

  5. Ahh so much fun!! THANK god your sister is ok after a scary crash!! I love that table cloth idea, I am so doing that when I start my own family!

  6. I’m a UGa fan! Had to put that out there 😉
    my youngest sister is named Holly! And I love seeing Thanksgiving traditions in different parts of the states!

  7. So glad your sister is okay … truly a blessed Thanksgiving! xo

  8. So glad your sister did not get hurt too bad! Looks like y’all had a good Thanksgiving!

  9. glad to hear your sister is a-ok!!

    i am in looove with that table cloth, such a good idea! it must be so fun to look back at previous years 🙂

  10. so glad to hear that your sister is okay. that is very scary!! and agreed – spending thanksgiving at the beach is the best – we did it again this year as well 🙂 what beach to you go to, looks gorgeous!

  11. wow, so glad to hear your little sister is okay! Your Thanksgiving looks like SO much fun, i love the idea of the tablecloth, what a fun and meaningful tradition! & you had it all at the beach?! OH WHAT FUN!

  12. so glad to hear your baby sister is okay! Your Thanksgiving looks like it was so fabulous! I love the tradition of the tablecloth, how fun and meaningful! & you got to spend it at the beach?! You lucky duck!

  13. I wish I was able to spend my Thanksgiving by the beach! Looks like heaven!

  14. Oh, you are all so pretty. =D

  15. I’m so glad that your sister is okay and that you had a great Thanksgiving! Thanksgiving at the beach sounds amazing! I’m jealous 🙂

  16. I am so glad your little sister was okay from her accident!

    I love the tablecloth tradition and the beach style food for Thanksgiving. Yum!

  17. Fun!!! My hubby the Cajun would’ve LOVED that Thanksgiving meal (I’m more traditional+love turkey when it comes to that sort of stuff, but I saw the meal and immediately thought of how much Robby would love that….maybe one year….)
    I love looking at all of these pictures and that murder mystery sounds like so much fun! Maybe I could get my fam to do that for Christmas this year. Thanks for the idea, love your blog, okay byeeee 🙂

  18. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    You have three sisters!? Aw– and you all look so alike in such different ways haha. Too cool 🙂

    Glad to see you had a family-filled Thanksgiving

  19. Oh gosh Rachel!! I’m so glad your sister is ok! And that you got to spend time with her (and your other siblings virtually!).

    Thanksgiving on the beach?! You lucky girl!

    ps. I finally bought hemp to make the dog collar! Thanks lady, your the best! 😀

  20. I’m so glad your sister is okay and that you were able to enjoy some beach time with your family! Love that table cloth idea too. So sweet!

  21. I love your beachy menu! That’s a pretty wild meal for Thanksgiving, but it looks delicious! And the murder mystery party looks like fun! I’ve always wanted to do one of those!

  22. how fun that you had a murder mystery party! you and your sisters are beautiful!!

  23. Oh my gosh. So glad that you’re sister is ok. I know that was scary for everyone.

    Glad the rest of your Thanksgiving was wonderful. What beach were you at?

  24. Glad you had a great Thanksgiving! I love the idea of doing something different – that shrimp boil looked AMAZING!

  25. Oh, goodness, that must have been SO scary! I’m so glad that your sister is okay… and that you all got to spend Thanksgiving together! 🙂

  26. Oh my gosh, thank heavens your sister is okay! I hope there are no lingering aches and pains for her!

    I LOVE Murder Mystery parties! When I was a teenager, my friends and I would do those for birthday parties all the time 🙂

  27. Glad your sister was okay! I wouldn’t have wanted to miss that fabulous beach Thanksgiving!!

  28. wow..gorgeous photographs 🙂 Looks like you all had a great time!! And I really love the tablecloth idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

