Bambi Chili

Okay okay, I know this recipe has a terrible name. But that’s because it is my husband’s recipe. He created it (with a little help from Google and me) two years ago for a chili cook off at his workplace. He took first place! Anyway, the reason for the tragic name… one of my husbands’ friends gave him deer meat and it was just hanging out in our freezer. He decided that the chili would be even better with deer meat so he dubbed it “Bambi Chili”… I know, I know, it’s terrible. But that’s the name the chili won under and the name just stuck.

But confession… it’s really good despite the sad name, ha!

our chili
Bambi Chili

Ingredients:

2lbs ground beef or venison
1/2 onion, chopped
1 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp garlic salt
5 cups tomato sauce
1 (16 oz) jar Pace Picante salsa (mild or medium)
1 package Williams Original chili seasoning mix
2 (15 oz) cans light red kidney beans
2 (15 oz) cans dark red kidney beans

Directions:

1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, combine the ground beef and the onion and saute for 10 minutes, or until meat is browned and onion is tender. Drain grease. Put in crock pot.

2. Add the ground black pepper, garlic salt, tomato sauce, salsa, chili seasoning mix and kidney beans to crock pot. Mix well and cook on low for 8 hours.

Does anyone else eat their chili over rice? One evening when we were living in China my dad had brought a couple of surprised guests home for dinner and mom knew the amount of chili she had made just wasn’t going to cover everyone. So she made a pot of rice to go with it and served the chili on rice. Our family liked it so much that from that point on we always ate chili on rice. It’s actually kind of weird for me to not eat chili on rice (or at least with noodles – yeah Cincinnati Chili!). 🙂
Love Rach

24 responses to “Bambi Chili

  1. lol, I love deer meat but that’s just wrong 😉

  2. That’s definitely a name that only a guy could come up with. LOL! But the recipe does sound delish!

  3. That name is so funny! Chili on rice isn’t a bad idea…and it especially makes sense in China! For me, chili definitely always needs SOMETHING to compliment it, like cheese slices on crackers or some crumbled tortilla chips sprinkled on top or something. Chili is just too much by itself!

  4. Ohh this reminds me I need to eat some chili..asap. No Bambi meat for me though! 😉

  5. One of my ex-boyfriend’s family always served rice with their chili. It was good but I never really got into it. My family always serves chili over sweet cornbread topped with lots of cheese and sour cream!

  6. that is kind of sad, but i do love chili nonethless…

    Jessica
    http://www.jumpintopuddles.com

  7. I am biased, but I think Cincinnati chili is the best (because I grew up on it!) And I’ve never eaten chili over rice! Your husband’s chili looks pretty good though and with a first place win it has to be!

  8. i would definitely have to make this with beef. i just cannot bring myself to eat deer, but it sounds like a good recipe regardless and i’m always up for a new one.

  9. Fun fact, I’ve never seen Bambi because I know how sad it is…

  10. My mom served us chili over rice all the time when I was growing up. That is the only way I knew chili, but I tend to eat it plain now or with tortilla chips. I make venison chili all the time since we often have venison on hand and I’m not much of a beef fan. The name is terrible, but I could see my husband coming up with that sort of name too. Boys will be boys!

  11. awwwa poor bambi!!!!!!!! lol. i’m afraid of eating venison.

  12. Chili is perfect for this time of year! I usually eat it solo, with some sour cream and cheddar.

  13. Haha, that really is an unfortunate name. Looks tasty, though!!

  14. This looks really good despite the fact that it was made from bambi. LOL!

  15. I love deer chilli! My dad makes it this time of year and I always look forward to it!

  16. My family eats chili over rice too! That’s how we always ate it in the South, so when people don’t I think they are crazy. Haha. Deer Chili is awesome, but I couldn’t call it Bambi 😉

  17. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

  18. Pingback: Because today I’m craving potatoes |

  19. Pingback: Pioneer Woman’s Chili |

  20. Pingback: Sweet Potato Spud Ole! |

  21. We had company once (a young guy that used to rent from us) and we were having chili. Normally we just eat chili and cornbread, but for some reason I hadn’t made the cornbread. My Dad invited him to join us and I was scrambling to make it stretch…I whipped up a salad and threw some tater tots into the oven. It was THE strangest combination, but it worked. 🙂 I like the sound of rice better!

  22. Pingback: 18 Favorite Go-To Healthy Recipes |

Leave a Reply

