The Glue and Cheerio Project

Glue and cereal may not normally go together, but when it comes to improving hand-eye coordination and fine motor skills… they most definitely do! I originally found this little project on Pinterest from the Skain’s Family Blog.

DSCN2042Items Needed: construction paper, pen, Cheerios, and glue

DSCN2046Write child’s name (or any word really) on construction paper.

DSCN2047Have child trace letters with glue (this was actually really difficult for Will since the glue squeeze bottle didn’t want to squeeze very easily. I ended up doing this part for him).

DSCN2049Then have child place Cheerios on the lines of glue.

DSCN2050Then have child pose proudly with the new work of art! 🙂

I gotta tell you… my job is pretty amazing.

kiddos2I mean, I get to hang out with these two all day. And I get paid for it! 🙂

Love Rach

 

16 responses to “The Glue and Cheerio Project

  1. That is such a great idea! i remember doing that as a child…love it!

  2. Fun! What a neat craft idea. Anything with glue is exciting for a kid, right? AND you can snack on the Cheerios while crafting. Win-win. 🙂

  3. Your job really is so amazing! These are the kinds of things I do with my kindergarten students to work on fine motor and muscle memory for letter recognition! They LOVE making letters in shaving cream on a desk and just drawing in it too 🙂

  4. AH how fun!! Those kids are adorable and Will looks so proud of his work, as he should be!

  5. too cute! i might have to try that with my boys!! 🙂

  6. This makes me miss being a nanny! Such a fun and rewarding job!

  7. And they’re so blessed to have YOU! Look at those sweet little smiling faces … precious!

  8. I used to do that all the time when I was little! Such a fun little activity for kids.

  9. I’m so happy that you love your job!

  10. That is a fun craft! I remember doing that when I was younger! 🙂 I’m sure the kids love you. They are so cute!

  11. What a cute project!! He looks SO happy and proud in that pic, where his name is finished. 🙂

  12. That is a cute project! He sure looks proud of it too!! I don’t think you can beat that for a job. 🙂
    Emily at Amazing Grapes

  13. My daughter is at the table doing this right now! Thanks for the cute idea 🙂

  14. Those kids are adorable! Pinterest sure is awesome for ideas 🙂

  15. That’s a great little kid project!!!

  16. I’ve gotta try this with the kiddos I nanny!
    And I hear ya about getting paid for hanging out with adorable little ones. How lucky are we!?

Leave a Reply

