DIY Cinnamon Ornaments

Do you guys remember making these when you were a kid? I forgot just how heavenly they make your whole house smell. While Mallory was napping yesterday, Will and I got busy in the kitchen making ornaments!

DSC_00043/4 cup applesauce, 1 cup and 2 tbsp cinnamon, dash nutmeg, and dash cloves all mixed together into this heavenly smelling lump.

DSC_0012Sprinkle work surface with extra cinnamon then roll out dough to 1/4″ thickness. Grin adorably for photo.

DSC_0010Look on with pride at your rolled out dough

DSC_0009Take a whiff of that amazing aroma!

DSC_0007Be sure to cover your mouth when the inevitable cinnamon-induced sneeze comes.

DSC_0014Using cookie cutters, cut shapes out of the dough!

DSC_0015Lay ornaments on parchment covered cookie sheet and use a dowel/straw/chopstick/whatever-you-have-on-hand to poke a hole in the top. Bake for 2 1/2 hours at 200 degrees flipping over once during the cook time.

DSC_0358Ornaments all baked up!

DSC_0368Loop bakers twine, ribbon, or hemp string through hole and hang on tree!

These are actually going to be gifts! I’m so excited with how they turned out. And especially with how amazingly they made my house smell. πŸ™‚
Love Rach

 

22 responses to “DIY Cinnamon Ornaments

  1. Okay, we never made these when I was a kid but my kids are gonna make them for sure – probably tomorrow!

    You’ve given me all sorts of ideas lately, thanks πŸ™‚

  2. I love them! They came out so great! Totally forgot about these, what a fun craft idea πŸ™‚

  3. Those parents must be thanking their lucky stars to have found you. What fun things you do with the kiddos! That picture of the almost-sneeze is so cute!

  4. I loved making these when I was growing up! Thanks for bringing back some memories! =)

  5. i am thinking about making more of these just so i can have my house smell amazing again! haha! πŸ™‚

  6. Wow, I have never heard of these! They’re so cute and simple .. I may have to try them!

  7. Ooh, you beat me to it… I’ve been wanting to make these! I didn’t have the recipe for them though, so thank you so much for sharing!! πŸ™‚

  8. those turned out so cute! I do remember making these school – sadly mom would never hang them on the tree in fear that our dogs would eat them!

  9. So cute!! I don’t think I ever made these growing up but I totally wish that I had!

  10. I can practically smell the cinnamon. This post is Christmas, through and through.

  11. I loved making these as a child! πŸ™‚

  12. Those look great! It would be hard not to try to eat them, hehe.

  13. I don’t remember making these as a kid, but I want to now! So pretty and festive!

  14. these DIY ornaments are the best! i love all things smelling cinnamon

  15. Such cute photos and I definitely remember making those πŸ™‚

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  16. I have one of these hanging on my Christmas tree that I made when I was in SECOND GRADE! Those things really last a long time! Mine is a little man with glitter pants. πŸ™‚ Cute idea to do homemade gifts! I’m about to blog about some homemade gifts that I’ve been working on too!

  17. I remember those from when I was a kid!!

  18. Gingerbread ornaments bring back so many happy holiday memories! We ‘d make these every Christmas when I was young, and my mom still has many of our creations. Thanks for reminding me about this tradition; now I want to make my own! ❀ xoxo

  19. I seriously need to try these with my boys. You are so fun πŸ™‚

  20. Sounds like it smells amazing!

  21. Will is too cute!! Good thing we didn’t try those sneezed on ornaments. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

