Picking out names for our future kids… (and snickerdoodles!)

Another one of our friends just had a baby so after going to meet him this week Christopher and I began talking about baby names again. But before I tell you about that…

joshuaMeet Joshua James. Isn’t he precious? Born December 6th. πŸ™‚

So Christopher starts coming up with some names he thinks would really be rather excellent for our future children which led to me posting this Facebook status:

approved names

There are 30 comments on it so it’s too long to copy and paste it all, but our friends and family were very helpful in helping us pick names. Not only did they vote on their favorites from Christopher’s list, but also added a few for us. These included, but were not limited to: William Wallace, Clark Kent, Frank “The Punisher” Castle, Castle, Gandalf, Bob, Samwise, Wade, Obi-Wan, Mace Windu, Yoda, Viggo Victor, Verity Valentina, Vendulina Vilhelmina, Brunhilde, and Thorfinn.

Yeaaaaah. Our friends and family are so helpful, haha! πŸ˜‰

On a totally unrelated note, Christopher and I made snicker doodles last week that he raved about. Know where the recipe came from? A cook book. Like, an actual cook book that is on my bookshelf. Crazy, right?Β Ever since I discovered Pinterest I have been really bad about using cook books so I was pretty excited to actually have a book open on my counter instead of my laptop. So thanks to Better Homes and Gardens, I give you… snicker doodles!

DSC_0345

Snickerdoodles

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions:

1.Β In a medium mixing bowl beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add the 1 cup sugar, baking soda, and cream of tartar. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in egg and vanilla. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Using a wooden spoon, stir in any remaining flour. Cover and chill in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

2.In a small mixing bowl combine the 2 tablespoons sugar and the cinnamon. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll balls in the sugar-cinnamon mixture to coat. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet (we used parchment paper).

3.Bake in a 375 degree F oven for 10 to 11 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Transfer cookies to a wire rack; cool. Makes about 36 cookies.

Christmas is almost here, friends! My in-laws arrive today and I am super excited to see them! The Christmas weekend has begun! πŸ˜€
Love Rach

15 responses to “Picking out names for our future kids… (and snickerdoodles!)

  1. Boys are so crazy. Shaun came up with Thor as a future baby name, too, what the heck?! Lol. Those Snickerdoodles look awesome! Now that I’m on holiday break, I’m gonna have to get the baking going πŸ™‚

    -kelly
    sweettea-lemonade.blogspot.com

  2. My vote is for Gandalf. Haha. Love that list of names…too funny! And those snickerdoodles look amazing. My cookbooks have been feeling neglected lately too. Enjoy your family time!

  3. I’m partial to Spartacus. K and I joke that we’re going to name our children Basil and Vidalia. Regardless of gender. So hopefully we’ll have some big linebacker of a son who answers to Basil.

    Happy Friday!

  4. Hahah I vote for Leonidas. These names are great. The cookies look delicious!

  5. LOL at those baby names!! My boy said if we have a daughter, he wants to name her Katniss hahaha. Oh boy.

    Your snicker doodles look great! Love em πŸ™‚

  6. Such a fun post, Rach! When I was little, I’d spend HOURS making lists of baby names! I had a name book (purchased at a garage sale), and remember thumbing through each page, just to make sure I didn’t miss any options. Apparently I DID though, because I don’t remember ever considering Spartacus, Leonidas or Bruce Wayne. πŸ˜‰ Haha! Love it. I also love Snickerdoodle cookies, and the fact you used an actual cookbook. I still buy cookbooks because I enjoy reading them, however I almost always rely on the internet when I’m searching for a recipe.

    Merry Christmas weekend! xoxo

  7. Ha ha! Nate and I like to come up with crazy names for our future children too! πŸ™‚ And Snickerdoodles are my hubby’s favorite cookie, so I’ll have to try making these!!

  8. yummm those cookies look delish!
    i made those oreo truffles that have been all over pinterest and everytime i give some of them to people with their gift Kirk tells them how amazing they are haha
    you’ve inspired me to bust out the cookbooks though! i have at least 5 hanging out in a cabinet above the fridge, maybe i should dust them off and actually use those puppies!

  9. Thor. Go with Thor. πŸ˜‰

  10. My husband and I are the reverse. I spend time coming up with really cool baby names (like Nancy Drew the baby), and my husband scoffs at my choices, and insists that we need more “serious” names. But I am being serious! Naming a baby boy “Teddy” after Teddy Roosevelt is SERIOUSLY awesome. Am I right?! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  11. Haha he and Will sound juuuust alike in that department! Too funny.

  12. Hehe love the name ideas!! Sounds like my husband’s idea of a baby name too πŸ˜‰ and that recipe looks delish!!! Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

  13. Joshua is adorable! And those cookies look fantastic:)

  14. Pingback: Snapshots from the weekend |

  15. Pingback: Meeting Ben |

Leave a Reply

