Gifts from my Sister {and Sweet Potato Noodles with Veggies Recipe}

For Christmas my sister gave me a package of sweet potato noodles which is an old favorite of mine from my years spent living in China.

DSC_0007

I know it may sound weird, but they are really yummy! Especially when combined with baby bok choy and carrots! Oh gracious, it was delicious. Several of these ingredients may sound unfamiliar, but they should be fairly easy to find at your local Asian food store. Plus finding the ingredients is part of the adventure! πŸ™‚

DSC_0004Sweet Potato Noodles with Veggies

Ingredients:

4 oz sweet potato noodles
1 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup carrots
3 cups baby bok choy
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp sesame seed oil
1 tbsp black vinegar
1 tsp sugar in the raw
1 tsp sesame seeds
Optional: red pepper flakes

Directions:

1. Pull bok choy apart and rinse each leaf, place in strainer to let excess water drain. Slice carrots into one inch pieces and then thinly slice each piece (you could also use shredded/matchstick carrots for this).

2. Steam bok choy and carrots in a steamer for 15 minutes (if you don’t have a steamer, you could also stir fry them for 5-10 minutes or until bok choy is wilted and carrots are soft).

3. Boil noodles according to package directions (approximately 5-8 minutes)

4. Heat olive oil in large wok to medium high. Add garlic. When it begins to sizzle add bok choy and carrots. While the veggies stir fry in the wok, in a separate small bowl mix together yourΒ soy sauce,Β worcestershire sauce, sesame seed oil, black vinegar, and sugar.

5. Drain noodles then add to wok. Add sauce mixture. Mix all ingredients well, top with sesame seeds, then serve hot! I prefer mine not to be spicy, but you could add red pepper flakes for a bit of a kick if you like.

Speaking of gifts from my sister… we also got this from her:

future baby v2Oh yeah, “To the Future Baby V”… ha! Well here’s to a very very early merry Christmas to our future kid. πŸ˜‰ EDIT to add: this is not an official announcement. Just too funny not to share. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

28 responses to “Gifts from my Sister {and Sweet Potato Noodles with Veggies Recipe}

  1. WHOA….hang on. Are you trying to tell us that you’re pregnant?! Or is your sister just really REALLY planning ahead for some reason?

    And I love sweet potato noodles, but I never really ate them in China…all this time I thought they were more of a Korean thing. Maybe it was just a popular dish in the province where you lived. I still enjoy ordering Japchae here in the U.S., but I need to find a Korean restaurant in Pittsburgh! This recipe that I found online looks basically like yours, just with some meat and peppers added in: http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/japchae

  2. Those sweet potato noodles sound so good! I need to look for them. I would like to try them sometime. πŸ™‚ Aww! I can’t wait when you have a baby. I would love to read along about it!

  3. I’m going to have to try that recipe … it looks so goooood!

  4. My sister made us a dish using baby bok choy over the summer and it was delicious. And sweet potato noodles? Can you get that at the store?

  5. How about you come on over and make me some of those noodles? hmm? πŸ™‚

    Tooo funny that your sister is already buying for her future niece or nephew! I love it πŸ™‚

  6. I guess you can never be too early huh? Haha this recipe looks amazing.

  7. yum! those sweet potato noodles look & sound AMAZING!

  8. oh my goodness i want to try these sweet potato noodles! definitely heading to the Asian market soon, need to replenish my sambal stash anyways too πŸ™‚

  9. Hi friend! Thank you so much for the comment. I was really upset about missing her first Christmas but also had to realize its not the worst thing in the world. My blessings of having her every day out weigh that…..but I still pouted just a little πŸ™‚ I can’t believe in 6 more months I will have a one year old! Crazy πŸ™‚ Hope your day and weekend rocks!!

  10. i’ve not heard of these before, so that’s sweet you got them!

  11. Your sis really wants you to have some offspring hey! I can’t imagine eating sweet potato noodles, do they actually taste like sweet potato?

  12. I go to the Korean restaurant every once in a while and it serves sweet potato noodles… they are SO good! They look just like the ones you have! YUM πŸ˜€

  13. What! Those sweet potato noodles sound incredible!

  14. The noodle dish sounds yummy! I am lucky enough to have a store not far from here where I could probably find those ingredients… I love the gift to the future little one — your sister sounds like a fun person! One

  15. oh my goodness, that looks and sounds absolutely delicious.

  16. Oohh, I bet I would love sweet potato noodles! Great recipe πŸ˜€

  17. Hehe!! Can’t wait to start reading your baby posts πŸ˜‰

    Those noodles look awesome.

  18. I love that recipe idea!! Looks amazing!!

  19. I think I tried that type of noodle when I lived in China. I’ll have to track some down now and try out this recipe.

    And someday when it is time to make an official announcement, you can post the picture of that gift again and say, “Guess this can be put to use…”

  20. Hahaha I thought that you were announcing you were preggo for a second! I got really excited πŸ™‚

  21. Those noodles look delicious!! I love Asian food, right up my alley!

  22. dynamicsofhappy

    if those are what i think they are…they are so delicious!!
    except i never knew they had sweet potatoes in them! nor have i ever known their proper name. i just refer to it as the noodles in “ants climbing up a tree” dish- do you know what dish i’m talking about?? it’s generally stir-fried with some ground meat (not sure what else…)…, this is what it looks like:

    • Yes!!! That’s exactly what those noodles are! So yummy! I haven’t found a place that serves “ants climbing up a tree” here. Do you have a local restaurant that makes it? Is that what they call it? I’d love to eat it again. So delicious!

Leave a Reply

