Chicken soup for the sick days

Tuesday I started to feel a bit off. By Wednesday I was definitely sick. And yesterday I woke up with a fever of 103. Late last night I finally broke my fever and today I am feeling much better. I still have cold symptoms, but at least I can move around, haha! I haven’t exactly been cooking up a storm this week, but thankfully I made a huge batch of soup from the Skinny Taste website earlier this week to tide us over. And it is certainly delicious soup!

DSC_0012
Chicken Shiitake and Wild Rice Soup

Ingredients:

1 tbsp butter
1 small onion
1 tbsp flour
8 cups chicken broth
1 cup water
2 carrots, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 chicken breasts, cut into quarters
4.5 oz long grain ride and wild rice combo
1/2 cup long grain white rice
4 oz shiitake mushrooms, sliced
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Melt butter in a large pot on medium heat, add onion and saute until soft but not browned, about 3-4 minutes. Add flour and saute another minute.

2. Add chicken broth, water, carrots, garlic, and chicken, cover and simmer 20 minutes. Add wild rice mix, long grain rice, mushrooms, salt and pepper to taste and simmer on low, covered 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. Remove chicken from pot and shred with two forks, return to pot, adjust salt and pepper to taste and serve.

There is just something about chicken soup that nourishes the soul when you’re sick. 🙂
Love Rach

 

27 responses to “Chicken soup for the sick days

  1. Yum! That soup looks hearty and tasty! YUM!!

  2. oh my gosh feed me! that looks absolutely delicious!

  3. 103!? Yikes!! So glad you’re feeling better.

  4. I just got sick yesterday with the flu and I wish I could make this appear in front of me right now!

  5. I love soups in the winter. Such comfort! So glad you’re on the mend. 🙂

  6. I am absolutely LOVING these soups, bookmarking these. Perfect timing! I’ve missed your blog, don’t mind me while I catch up with tons of comments!

  7. This looks so tasty that I’d have it for a non-sick-day, too!!

  8. I like the idea of putting rice in the soup instead of noodles. And throwing shiitake mushrooms in there—woo! That’s a pretty bold move, but it looks good! I hope you feel better soon! 😀

  9. So much junk is going around. Glad you are better!

  10. Mmm, that looks and sounds delicious. I’m glad you’re feeling better! Take it easy this weekend.

  11. Oh no! I hope it wasn’t the flu! I had pretty much the exact same experience as you… feeling bad, feeling really bad, and then back to just feeling bad. The good news is that it gets better.. eventually :). Take care and have some of that delicious soup for me!

  12. Chicken soup soothes the soul! Glad you’re feeling better! 🙂

  13. hope you feel better soon!! being sick is the pits. that soup looks delicious, i made a skinny taste soup earlier this week too, beef and barley. i will definitely have to try this soup

  14. Oh no, sorry to hear you’ve been sick!! I’m glad you were able to fight it off so quickly thought. This flu going around is horrible! I’ve heard of people being sick up to a week! Here’s to you feeling even better!!! 🙂

  15. yikes! flu sucks.
    this recipe looks great. i’m always looking for a different one to try.

  16. yum!! glad you’re feeling better!

  17. Aw I’m glad you’re feeling better! Being sick is no fun!!!

  18. This sounds amazing…chicken and mushrooms in a soup? I’m sold. Glad you are feeling better!!!

  19. Aww, Rach, I’m so sorry you caught the flu! I’m glad that this fabulous-looking chicken soup worked its healing powers, though. It really DOES make a difference when you’re sick! I hope you’re feeling 100% rested and revitalized today! ❤ xoxo

  20. Chicken Soup has been my saving grace this week! Mine wasn’t as good as yours, though 😉 I hope you are starting to feel better. It took me about the same amount of time, but I’m finally feeling okay!

  21. dynamicsofhappy

    there seems to be a flu going around…hope you feel better!

    skinnytaste has the best recipes! i absolutely loved the skinny chocolate chip cookies recipe! my BF actually prefers skinnytaste’s over normal cookies as they are generally overly decadent for him

  22. Aww hope you are a lot better now. Nothing beats chicken soup!

  23. Hope you are feeling better! Looks like a delicious recipe 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  24. YUM! Hope you’re feeling better.
    HUGS!

  25. perfect for a sick day! i made chicken soup friday as well after feeling a bit under the weather yet again and it seemed to do the trick. yum and hope you are feeling better!

  26. Yum! I am definitely needing that soup right about now!! Just scrumptious!
    xo TJ

  27. Pingback: Potato Soup and a Piano Playing Dog |

Leave a Reply

