An icy treat for an icy day

Christopher and I got “iced in” earlier this week. Not “snowed in” since there was no snow, we just both got off work early due to the ice and then decided to cancel our plans that evening just in case the roads got really bad. It was a totally unexpected, but wonderful night in.

So since it was so cold out, you’d think that we would be sipping on hot tea or cocoa that night, but oh no! Not us, ha! We decided instead to make banana soft serve inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie and oh my gracious, it was delicious!

DSC_0029
Chocolate Banana Soft ServeΒ 

Ingredients:

3 medium bananas (the riper the better)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
dash salt
3 tbsp cocoa powder
3 tbsp creamy peanut butter
2 tbsp almond milk

Directions:

1. Ahead of time: peel and slice the over-ripe bananas into chunks. Freeze in a Ziploc bag.

2. Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender. If you want the look of ice cream, use an ice cream scoop to serve! (If you scoop it all into a container and freeze about 10-15 minutes, the texture will also become a bit firmer like ice cream, as opposed to soft serve.)

Right now my house smells amazing. Beef stew in the crock pot and Amish bread rising in the kitchen. Assuming that they both turn out well, I’ll share the recipes soon! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

28 responses to “An icy treat for an icy day

  1. I could definitely use a beef-stew-in-crock-pot recipe, so please share (because of course it will be delicious!). πŸ™‚

  2. There’s seriously nothing better than (1) being snowed/iced in and (2) peanut butter. That looks SO good.

  3. Yum, that sounds so good and easy, too!

  4. YUMMMM!!! My stomach just grumbled…
    xo,
    nancy

  5. I love banana softserve! Love the idea of mixing in cocoa powder πŸ˜€

  6. That looks amazing! I don’t think it’s weird to eat soft serve in the winter. I am definitely an ice-cream-in-four-seasons kind of girl! πŸ˜‰

  7. This soft serve is right up my alley! Looks great!

  8. Carley @OptimisticHealth

    Yum!! That looks great! Her stuff is always amazing!!

  9. Hahaha I’m getting iced in right now!!! And I’m actually eating a smoothie similar to that recipe! haha YUM!

  10. Banana soft serve is so terrific. I love putting strawberries and cocoa powder πŸ™‚

  11. Mmmmm, I want to see pictures and recipes of this bread and soup!! I’m glad you guys decided to okay it safe with the icy roads!

  12. i wish you could bring me some of that right now! i would even pay you!!

  13. Mmm…this is one of my favorite “quick, I need something sweet right now” desserts! I’ve never tried adding cocoa and peanut butter, though! YUM. I also enjoy adding protein powder for a post-workout treat. πŸ˜€

  14. I love making banana soft serve in my Yonanas machine. πŸ™‚

  15. Yum, looks delicious!

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  16. Yum! I’ve been making protein shakes with bananas that turn out sort of ice creamy — so good!

  17. Oh my delicious!!!!!
    xo TJ

  18. i have all the ingredients to do this and I’m way toooo excited now πŸ™‚

  19. this looks yummy too!!! you’re a cooking machine!!! way to fight cold with cold :-p

  20. Dairy-free! I’m so excited!!!!

  21. Oh YUM!!!!!!!! I haven’t made banana soft-serve in FOREVER! Making it this weekend for sure! ❀ Thanks girlie!

  22. it is nice getting forced to relax at home! yes i have made banana ice cream before so good!

    Jessica
    http://www.jumpintopuddles.com/

  23. Good job!! That looks and sounds amazing! I’ve never made my own ice cream, but now I’m thinking I should.

  24. I’ve heard of doing it with plain bananas, but never thought of making a chocolate version — yum!

  25. Yummm this looks wonderful!! Can we make this when I come visit?? πŸ˜‰

  26. I love making ice cream out of bananas! This sounds like a yummy recipe…I want to try it with my coconut peanut butter.

  27. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ice Cream” |

Leave a Reply

