Beef Stew and Amish Bread

So I am finally delivering on the recipes I mentioned last week. They are both SO good and so perfect for this time of year. Beef stew (Eat Yourself Skinny) in the slow cooker is unbelievably easy. It left me with plenty of time to make the Amish bread (Daydream Kitchen) from scratch. 🙂

beef stew

Beef Stew

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs cubed stew beef
1 (15 oz) can fire roasted tomatoes
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
3 1/2 cans of water using tomato paste can 
1/4 cup ketchup
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 medium onion, diced
3 large carrots, chopped
1 (10 oz) bag frozen peas
2 russet potatoes, cubed
1 tbsp dried basil
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp seasoned salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 bay leaf

Directions:
 

Put all ingredients in slow cooker. Mix together. Cook on low 8-10 hours.
Amish Bread (1)
Amish Bread 
Ingredients:

2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp butter, melted
1 1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup hot water
1 tbsp yeast
2 1/2 cups flour (possibly more depending on sticky-ness of dough)
1 egg white + 1 tbsp water
kosher salt
rosemary

Directions:

1. Put all sugar, melted butter, salt, hot water, and yeast into the mixer (I used my trusty KitchenAid) and let sit for a few minutes or until yeast bubbles. Add the flour in small batches and mix with a dough hook until all incorporated. Remove and place in a bowl that has been greased and let dough rise until double in size (about an hour).

2. Punch down and place on a greased cookie sheet. Cut decorative slits on top. Let dough rise again (about 30 minutes). Rub an egg white wash (1 egg white + 1 tbsp water) over the top and sprinkle with kosher salt and rosemary.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Amish Bread (5)
My girls RAVED about the Amish bread. I made two loaves and they demolished them. One girl asked if I could make it every week from now on, haha! 🙂 Just looking at these photos makes me hungry for both of these all over again. I don’t like the cold weather, but I do love the warm comfort foods that tend to come with this season. 🙂
Love Rach
22 responses to “Beef Stew and Amish Bread

  1. All of this looks so delicious!!!!!

  2. I have been wanting to see these recipes since you mentioned them a while back. I love the addition of rosemary on the bread. Perfect!

  3. Sounds delish! I should try that stew recipe – all about cozy comfort crockpot food 🙂

  4. Fresh bread is the best! I made naan this past weekend (your post inspired me) and it was awesome.

  5. Amish bread sounds PERFECT to go with Stew. I need to make stew the next time we have the low temps. Or before because I just love stew 🙂

  6. I just started cooking more so I definitely want to try this recipe!!!

  7. This is the perfect dinner for a freezing day like today! I really want to try the Amish bread. It sounds heavenly 🙂

  8. I love stew, and that bread looks absolutely heavenly. The perfect thing to dip into and clean that bowl!

  9. Oh yum. Don’t you agree that Amish bread would be an excellent inaugural recipe for my new KitchenAid mixer? I think so.

  10. yum, thanks for sharing! i’m definitely going to have to try these (:

  11. This looks so tasty!

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  12. that beef stew looks amazing, rach!

  13. Delicious and looks like a perfect meal for these frigid temps I arrived home from key west to!! Love Eat Yourself Skinny blog, so many awesome recipes on her site!

  14. That bread looks amazing 🙂

  15. Wow, that bread looks perfect!!!!

  16. This looks SOO GOOD!! That bread is perfect! 😀 Yum!!

  17. Pingback: Potato Soup and a Piano Playing Dog |

  18. I can not wait to try this myself! It looks and sounds amazing.

  19. This looks amazing! I really want to try the amish bread!

Leave a Reply

