Potato Soup and a Piano Playing Dog

So apparently I’ve been in a soup making mood lately. All this cold weather has me craving warm and hearty dinners. 🙂 Chicken & Rice soup, Beef Stew, and last night… Potato Soup! This is actually my mom’s potato soup recipe that I grew up eating. I tweaked it just slightly by switching out the milk with unsweetened almond milk so it would be more friendly for my tummy. And you know what… you really couldn’t tell. None of my girls or Christopher even noticed! Granted, they had theirs loaded with tons of cheese and bacon so that might have masked the almond milk, haha! It’s not technically “dairy free” since it does have some butter in it, but actual butter doesn’t bother my tummy as much as other dairy. You could probably use earth balance “butter” if you wanted this to be totally dairy free. 🙂 Anyway, enough talking… more recipe!

Potato Soup

Potato Soup

Ingredients:
6 large potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
2 cups chicken broth
4 cups water
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or of course you could use regular milk as well)

Optional: salt, pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, cheese, bacon, and sour cream

Directions:

1. Cook potatoes in water and broth with ½ tsp salt (about 10 minutes). Remove from heat and mash a few of the potatoes until preferred consistency, but leave most of potatoes in chunks.

2. In small saucepan melt butter. Whisk in flour flour to form roux. Add milk and cook until slightly thickened, whisking often. Add milk mixture to potatoes.

3. Serve with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, cheese, bacon, and sour cream.

On a completely unrelated note… last night we were getting ready for bed when we heard a key play on our piano. Confused, I walked into the room we keep the piano in and this is what I saw:

Oreo and the pianoGuilty face, much?

Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

 

23 responses to “Potato Soup and a Piano Playing Dog

  1. Uh ohhh Oreo..haha I had to. This soup looks hearty and delicious!

  2. michelle @ this little light

    That pooch has quite the personality! I love it!

  3. mmm that looks amazing. And I LOVE that photo!! I love those looks!! 🙂

  4. Carley @OptimisticHealth

    This looks good!! I Look forward to trying it! 🙂

  5. Your dog has a secret talent, huh? lol That soup looks amazing!! Btw — I just spelled soup as “soop”. It must have been a long day, lol.

  6. I love this post!! Potato soup is my favorite, so that always lifts my spirits, and Oreo is so precious! I LOVE his face. 😀 Too cute.

    -Tia

  7. Ahhh, the pic of Oreo at the piano is so cute. I think there is some serious musical talent to be discovered there.

    And the soup looks delicious and hearty. Perfect for cooler weather.

  8. Yes! I love this soup. I just brought some to a potluck not too long ago. I put in diced onions and sprinkle chives on mine, but other than that the recipe looks the same. LOVE that your dog was playing the piano! 🙂

  9. i miss my mom’s homemade potato soup SO much, especially in the cold months – this recipe seems so simple, I can’t wait to try it out, especially since I can’t get the “good stuff”. & oh my goodness, that pic is way toooooo cute!

  10. This soup looks amazing and I am cracking up over that picture of Oreo. That is awesome! And he does look so guilty. Haha.

  11. I’ve never used almond milk before but I’ve been tempted to try it for a while now. Your recipe sounds delicious enough that I just might do that!:)
    P.S.: You dog is adorable! Mine always hated it when I plaid piano.:)

  12. i LOVE potato soup, definitely going to try this out. for whatever reason, i’ve never really considered making it myself- you’ve inspired me! looks delish!
    and oreo is toooo cute. we get that guilty face all. the. time. from titan, they definitely dont have good poker faces!

  13. That recipe looks delicious, especially with the cheese and bacon! I’ll have to try it, it’s definitely soup weather! Also, that pic is so cute of your dog, deflinitely looking guilty!

  14. The dog playing the piano is priceless!! You need to catch that on video.

  15. Potato soup is one of my favorites! And I love most soup. Can’t wait to try that recipe!
    And oh my goodness that dog! Adorable!

  16. Bah! No way! I made potato soup last night! I’m going to blog about it tomorrow 🙂 Great minds think alike!

  17. yum!! I had made a potato soup last year and forgot about it this year! now I want to make it! and that last picture is so funny!!

  18. That recipe sounds so simple!! I should totally make that!!!!

  19. This is my all time favorite soup. Deelish!!!!! And sooooo guilty!!! 😉

  20. That face is adorable! I love how guilty he looks though, there’s nothing like a face that knows they weren’t supposed to be doing something. It’s kind of cute 😉

  21. Oreo is too cute!! I want a piano-playing puppy! 😉

    Thank you SO much for this recipe! Potato and broccoli-cheese soup are two of my favorites, but the amount of milk they contain makes my tummy go topsy turvy. I definitely want to give this a try!

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend, Rach! ❤

  22. That soup looks delicious! My husband would be in heaven if I made this. Baked potato soup is his favorite. 🙂 Oreo is so cute!!

  23. That soup looks great! And oh my goodness, the piano playing puppy…SO cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

