Beefy Tomato Soup and Homemade Breadsticks

Just like every Thursday night, my teen girls were here for dinner and study night last night. Like every Thursday, they gobbled up the homemade bread I make (this week it was breadsticks and they were a HUGE hit!). However, unlike normal… dinner itself wasn’t a huge hit with most of my girls. They kind of ate the noodles out of their soup and ate extra breadsticks. So you would think that I wouldn’t share this recipe since it wasn’t a huge hit with the girls, but honestly Christopher and I really enjoyed it, ha! So if you like tomato-based soups, you should really enjoy this Beefy Tomato Soup from Taste of Home! 🙂

beefy tomato soup

Beefy Tomato Soup

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef
1 medium onion, minced
1 quart tomato juice
1 (7oz) can tomato sauce
1 cup water
3/4 cup uncooked elbow macaroni
1 pkg dry onion soup mix
1 tsp chili powder

Directions:

In large saucepan, cook minced onion and beef until done. Drain fat. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Simmer uncovered  15-20 minutes or until macaroni is tender.

My girls did, however, LOVE the breadsticks! Christopher and I loved them too!  Christopher said they were better than Olive Garden’s breadsticks which I thought was funny because they are actually supposed to be a knock off of those! I found this recipe via Pinterest from Full Bellies Happy Kids and they are definitely our new favorite breadsticks!

breadsticks

Homemade Breadsticks

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups warm water
1 package active dry yeast
1 tbsp sugar-in-the-raw
4 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp salt
2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

1 stick salted butter, melted (or add 2 tsp salt to unsalted butter)
2 tsp garlic powder

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, dissolve sugar and yeast in warm water and allow to sit for 10 minutes.

2. Add salt and butter, then flour cup-by-cup until fully combined. Knead dough for a few minutes until dough is smooth.

3.  Grease cookie sheet or line with parchment paper. Pull of pieces of dough and roll out into strips. This made 15 breadsticks for me. Cover dough and let sit in warm place for 45 minutes to an hour or until doubled in volume.

4. Preheat oven to 400F and once heated up, put breadsticks in for 6 minutes. Meanwhile, melt stick of butter and add garlic powder. Pull breadsticks out of the oven and brush with melted garlic butter. Put back in the oven for another 6-9 minutes until bread is lightly browned. Brush the rest of the melted butter mixture on the breadsticks and then serve.

Happy Friday, friends! Make some breadsticks… you won’t regret it. 🙂
Love Rach

15 responses to “Beefy Tomato Soup and Homemade Breadsticks

  1. That soup looks good and those breadsticks mmm!

  2. michelle @ this little light

    All I can say is you’re so lucky we’re not neighbors … I’d be bummin’ meals off you every night!!!

  3. That’s funny that the girls were picking at their dinner, but the “adults” loved it! Typical. 😛 It looks like something I would like!

  4. YUM those bread sticks!! Such a hearty looking meal!

  5. Girl, you cook some delicious looking stuff. Your recipe box is impressive!

  6. Umm, yes. I love this. I’m most likely going to make it some time this weekend.

  7. Carley @OptimisticHealth

    Oo the simplicity is superb too! Thanks for sharing lady!

  8. Hmmm, I’ve actually never made homemade breadsticks! I might have to try these!!

  9. This soup sounds so tasty!!

  10. Both the soup and the bread sticks look delicious! I personally love tomato based soups, so I’m sure this would be fabulous! 🙂 Plus, homemade bread sticks sound amazing. 😀

    -Tia

  11. Found your blog through Liz’s and I love it!

    Homemade breadsticks…so impressive. I wish that yeast didn’t overwhelm me so much.

  12. Both look amazing! If we weren’t trying to get wheat out of our house I could try both of those! Yum!!!

  13. I really really like this soup idea and have a packet of onion soup mix that needs using. Sounds perfect for a cold winter night!

  14. Ohhh I wonder how this would be if I used soy crumbles! Worth a shot, right?

  15. yum, pinned so i can make in the future!

Leave a Reply

