Cabbuci & An Old Friend!

Back in March I came across a recipe for Cabbuci (sort of an Italian form of pita bread) from Manu’s Menu and I just knew I needed to make it. You know, what with being married to an Italian and all. As it turns out, I didn’t actually get around to that until just this past weekend, haha! But hey! At least I got to it eventually! 🙂

homemade cabbuci
Cabbuci 

Ingredients:

1 cup warm water
1 packet yeast
1 tbsp sugar
2 cups all purpose flour
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Add yeast and sugar to warm water in large mixing bowl. Set aside for a few minutes until yeast is bubbly.

2. Mix salt and olive oil into yeast mixture. Add flour one cup at a time until fully incorporated. Knead until dough is smooth and elastic. Make into a ball and place in a large greased bowl, then cover with a clean towel and let rise 2 hours or until doubled in size.

3. Transfer dough onto lightly floured surface and divide into 8 equal pieces. Shape each into a ball. Roll each ball into a 1/8″ thick oval, about 7″ in length. Put the ovals of dough on a large baking sheet without overlapping and cover them with a lightly damp towel. Let rise for 1 hour until puffy.

4. Bake in a preheated oven at 500F for 5-7 minutes or until puffed up and lightly browned.

I ate one pretty close to out of the oven and it was amazing! Then we used them as “pitas” to have BLTs for dinner that night.

cabbuci BLTLettuce, bacon, and tomato in cabbuci = delicious!

Christopher used them for a breakfast sammich the next morning (eggs, turkey, hot sauce, and cheese) and said it was pretty delicious as well. 🙂

Sooooo… I’m pretty stoked about tonight. Tonight I will see one of my best friends from my teen years in China who I haven’t seen in 8 years! She and her son are in the States right now and TONIGHT I get to see them! I am so excited! I will definitely fill you guys in on everything, but until then…

DJ and meI can’t believe I am sharing this because I so do not look cute here, buuut… it’s a pretty true representation of mine and Ding Jing’s friendship. SO excited to see her in just a few hours! 🙂

Love Rach

24 responses to “Cabbuci & An Old Friend!

  1. Yay for reunions!!! 🙂

  2. That cabuchi bread looks delish.

  3. There’s nothing I love more than old, unflattering pics with friends. Still, I think you look adorable!

  4. Yum yum yum!! I need to try this is looks so awesome. Love all of the recipes you post!

    creamyclothes.blogspot.com

  5. Aw cheers to old friends!! I hope you have an awesome time!

    Also, I dont think an unflattering picture of you exists (:

  6. Hope he had a wonderful birthday 🙂 And those pancakes look and sound SO yummy!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  7. Ahh I hope that you have so much fun! That sandwich looks terrific, by the way!

  8. michelle @ this little light

    Have a wonderful time meeting up with your old friend … reunions are the best!

  9. Yum! THose look amazing, and would be perfect for hummus!

  10. Ahh! Have fun with your friend–that is SUPER exciting! I have never heard of Italian pita bread… YUM!

  11. Yummm!!!! have fun with your friend!

  12. That cabbuci sandwich looks so good. I lovee seeing old friends from other areas of the world after a long period of time!! I hope you had a blast!

  13. Have FUN!!! And that bread looks so delish!

  14. I hope you had fun! 🙂 That pita looks yummy!

  15. Those look gooood.

    And I hope you had a great time with your friend. 🙂

  16. Just had to comment that you called your sandwich a “sammich,” and that’s what my husband always does! And he’s got me doing it now. I thought we were just weird. 🙂 And I love your China picture! Somehow, that room you’re in looks like EVERY room in China, green curtains and all. Our dream is that someday some of our Chinese friends will be able to come visit us in America! Several of them are dying to come over here, but it’s tough…maybe eventually!

  17. that looks delicious as always…and yay for new memories with old friends!!!

  18. My mom made pita bread all growing up. Tons of it! And I never liked it. I think I would like it now. Probably too much! Yum!

  19. The bread looks great and I’ve never tried it so I for sure will have too!!

    That is awesome you get to see an old friend 🙂 There is really nothing like it. Have fun!

  20. That sounds really easy! I love Pita bread. I want to try it with whole wheat.

  21. ooh, yum! this looks excellent!

  22. This looks incredible! You always have such awesome and practical recipes- love it!

Leave a Reply

