I fed a giraffe today!

So I don’t know how you would celebrate your five year anniversary of the day you got engaged, but we celebrated by feeding a giraffe. Yuuuup, you read that right! Today we drove to the Tupelo Buffalo Park in Mississippi where you get to feed all kinds of animals including the giraffes! ๐Ÿ™‚

giraffeSuch a neat experience! His tongue was so long! The keeper told us that if we held food above his mouth that he would stick his tongue out to catch the food – note my delighted surprise in the bottom right photo when I experience this for the first time!

giraffe3Christopher fed the giraffe too!

llamaThere were plenty of other animals to feed too! Like the llamas! I love llamas! [Note the “spitting zone sign, ha!]

DSC_0523Hehe… this makes me laugh because of the sign. This little guy definitely didn’t bite us, though. He acted like a puppy dog with Christopher. He didn’t care about being fed, but he didn’t want Christopher to stop petting him! It was too cute!

DSC_0575This little wallaby was just the cutest little thing! I was out of food by the time we got around to him, but he still came and sniffed my hand. So cute!

DSC_0577This one cracks me up because Christopher’s face tells it all. He definitely did not trust those little goats to not attempt to eat his clothes (we have a picture from a petting zoo in St Louis where a goat is definitely attempting to eat his shorts, haha!)

DSC_0587They had a cute playground area complete with mock western village (a saloon, bank, church, jail, etc) and of course tire “horse” swings! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s possible I’m a little tall for this, but it was still fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0591Us with the native American lady outside the park entrance.

We had a great time! And this is just a few of the animals they had. I have well over a hundred photos so I’m just sharing our favorites. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to say, it really is a unique experience to feed a giraffe! If you ever have the chance, I recommend it! ๐Ÿ™‚
Love Rach

 

28 responses to “I fed a giraffe today!

  1. Giraffes and zebras are the best!! Happy Five year engagement anniversary!!

  2. Okay, first of all, I LOVE places like that! Ha, ha. Seriously, one of my favorite date spots is going to the zoo! ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like SUCH a fun day and the photo’s are so great!!

  3. LOVE these pictures. So cute/fun. and yay for feeding a giraffe!

  4. I fed a white tiger once when I was like 10, it was so cool. What a fun time!

  5. I don’t know why my comment isn’t showing up on here so I’m gonna send another and hope you don’t get two lol:
    SO CUTE and fun! Love these pictures. You definitely look like a model posing in that last one!

  6. Oh nope, now I see both. Darnit.

  7. I AM SPAMMING YOU, I’M SORRY. I meant in the second to last one you look like a model posing* Not the one with the native American lady hahaha. Though you’re always beautiful so you could be a model in any picture! Okay. I swear I’m done now. lol.

  8. How fun!!! This looks like a great day! Glad you two had fun!

  9. What a cool experience! Christopher is some kind of goat whisperer. They love him!

  10. That seems like the BEST anniversary celebration! Animals are so adorable, and a giraffe is such a unique one to feed! So fun!

  11. I want to feed a giraffe!!

    Looks like so much fun!

  12. Oh my goodness! This looks like so much fun! I would love to go to something like this. Happy engage-iversary!

  13. That sounds so fun! you are too cute!

  14. Happy 5-year engagement anniversary, Rach! A trip to the buffalo park sounds like SUCH a fun way to celebrate; I’d totally be on board! I love that you were able to feed so many cute animals, too. The giraffe and wallaby are especially adorable!

    Hope you enjoyed the rest of your weekend! โค

  15. Oh my gosh! ahaha this looks so fun! You look adorable.

  16. What a unique experience! I want to feed a giraffe! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like such a fun day.

  17. You guys are too cute – love all the photos with the animals!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  18. So cute- and I love that you celebrate the day you got engage, I say any excuse to celebrate is a good one ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Happy day oxox

  19. Pingback: A Little Cajun Inspiration for your Mardi Gras |

  20. Omg this is soo fun!! What a great and unique way to celebrate your anniversary ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Aren’t giraffes the coolest?! I fed one about two years ago and I will never forget it!

  22. Love this!! Terry and I got married a year to the day after we got engaged, which was neat, but also means that never really acknowledge that anniversary much at all, which sometimes bums me out!

    The zoo in Green Bay has an area for feeding the giraffes, and I got to do it once. Such an awesome experience! It totally grossed me out when the giraffe wrapped its tongue ALL the way around the metal fence pole though… ๐Ÿ™‚

    The thought of goats trying to attack Christopher definitely made me laugh!

  23. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Happenings |

  24. Hi. Please contact us in Tupelo. We would like to speak with you about your experience here.

  25. Pingback: Showboat Barbecue |

  26. Pingback: Best Weekend of this Year so Far! {Touring Tupelo #1} |

  27. Pingback: Memphis travel blogger talks about Tupelo | Biz Buzz | Mississippi Business News

Leave a Reply

