Pioneer Woman’s Buttermilk Biscuits for Valentine’s

Since there are only two days until Valentine’s, I thought I’d share a little heart-shaped-foodie inspiration with you guys. First up, The Pioneer Woman’s Buttermilk Biscuits! These are light and fluffy and easy to make. And isn’t it just great how you can cut biscuits into any shape you want? So perfect for Valentine’s! 🙂 Serve with jelly or honey or even better molasses and butter!

pioneer woman's biscuits
Pioneer Woman’s Buttermilk Biscuits

Ingredients:

4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp salt
2 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup shortening
1/3 cup cold butter, cut into pieces
1 1/4 cups buttermilk

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450.

2. In large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients and stir together. Add the shortening and cold butter pieces. With pastry blender, cut the shortening and butter into dry ingredients until it resembles coarse crumbs.

3. Pour in the buttermilk and mix gently with fork until just combined. The biscuit dough will be sticky,  not overly dry or crumbly.

4. Lightly flour a clean surface. Turn the dough out of the bowl and roll to a 1/2″ thickness. Cut rounds with a biscuit cutter and place them on a cookie sheet. Bake for 11-14 minutes until golden brown.

And while we’re on the theme of heart-shaped-food… have you guys ever heard of “egg-in-the-hole”? I didn’t grow up eating this, but I think it’s actually pretty cute!

egg in the hole

Egg-In-The-Hole

Ingredients:

1 tbsp butter
1 slice of bread
1 egg

Directions:

Melt butter in small skillet over medium heat. Cut a hole in the center of your bread then place in skillet. Crack egg open into the hole in your bread. Let cook 1 minute then flip over. Cook until bread is lightly toasted and egg is cooked, but the yolk is still runny. Enjoy!

Aaand finally, this isn’t heart-shaped at all, but it’s called “Anniversary Chicken” from All Recipes so I feel that it is appropriate inspiration for this Valentine’s post. 🙂 Also, it’s delicious.

anniversary chicken

Anniversary Chicken 

Ingredients:

2 tbsp vegetable oil
6 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/2 cup teriyaki basting sauce
1/2 cup Ranch dressing
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 (3 oz) can bacon bits
1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley, for garnish

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add chicken breasts, and saute 4 to 5 minutes each side, until lightly browned.

3. Place browned chicken breasts in a 9×13 inch baking dish. Brush with teriyaki sauce, then spoon on salad dressing. Sprinkle with cheese and bacon bits.

4. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, or until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear. Garnish with parsley and serve.

Oh, and for those celebrating, happy Mardi Gras today! Eat something Cajun inspired! 🙂
Love Rach

 

22 responses to “Pioneer Woman’s Buttermilk Biscuits for Valentine’s

  1. Those heart-shaped biscuits are soo cute! I can’t wait to make some heart-shaped goodies this week 🙂

  2. Heart shaped biscuits have my heart. Mmm.

  3. ok, seriously i want you to be my personal chief!! 🙂 Everything you make always look so delicious!

  4. chef! what the heck, not a chief hahahahhaah

  5. My mom used to make me the egg-in-a-hole thing. But it wasn’t heart shaped…it was just circle shaped. She called it a “bulls-eye.” That was like my number one breakfast request when I was growing up! 🙂

  6. Those biscuits are so cute!! I will have to try and make heart shaped biscuits next time I make them!

  7. Okay, all of this food is making me hungry!!! So perfect!
    xo TJ

  8. Those are SO cute! I just recently snagged me a man, so maybe I should make these on Thursday 😉

  9. Biscuits are my weakness. I know these have to be good because Pioneer Woman is amazing!

  10. Those biscuits are so cute! I love biscuits. Trey made me “eggs-in-a-basket” one morning. It was the same thing different name. It was good!

  11. Pioneer Woman recipes are always tasty. I’ve never tried her biscuits. And that chicken…oh my that looks awesome!!

  12. I seriously LOVE the egg in the toast idea. I have seen this on other blogs and I cannot get over how cute it is!!

  13. Those heart ideas are beyond adorable! Love them 🙂

  14. i love buttermilk biscuits! these heart shaped ones are so cute! love the toast too. great suggestions and recipes! thanks

  15. My kids love it when I make what they call “egg in bread”…. I was just thinking it would be fun to use a heart shaped cookie cutter….
    🙂

  16. Ohh brother I’m digging those biscuits!!

  17. Oh gosh, I ❤ buttermilk biscuits! I can only imagine how wonderful the Pioneer Woman's recipe is! I love that you used heart-shaped cookie cutters, too!

    I tried egg-in-a-hole for the first time in college, and instantly fell hard. It's been a while since I've had it, but reading this post has induced a serious craving! 🙂

  18. How cute biscuits! I was thinking of making something like that this Valentine, but then it turns out that BF is working the evening shift, so I wont get to see him at all. But I guess it would be a nice surprise to come home to freshly baked cookies of some sort!

  19. I used to eat the egg in the hole all the time growing up! My mom would call it and egg in a birds nest though. 🙂 Those biscuits are so cute!

  20. We just made jalapeno sausage gravy and now I want to make those biscuits to try that out. Sounds soooooo good.

  21. When making heart shaped biscuits: is it possible to freeze the biscuits after cutting them out , and take them out as needed to bake?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

