Hoddeok (Korean Sweet Pancakes)

One of my husband’s best friends from college is named Josh. They were in a social club (our uni’s version of fraternities) together and Josh stood up with Christopher in our wedding as a groomsman.

josh and christopher

One of my favorite things about Josh is that he is married to Shannon. 🙂 She and I dutifully supported our boyfriends at game after game after game when we were in college. We even won an Elite Quest together (the tag line for the event was “like the amazing race, only different”). It included things like finding and getting a photo with a zeedonk, eating raw horse radish root, and making ridiculous videos. Great memories!

yay! we won(Yes, the trophies were gold-painted-shoes nailed to a 2×4… still my favorite trophy I’ve ever won. They are displayed proudly in our house!)

These days we only get to see Josh and Shannon once a year or so, but we keep in fairly good touch in between visits and we still consider them to be some of our best friends.

all of usThe last time we were all together was last April. Christina and Ian (who are also some of our best friends!!) are at the top and though you can’t see it in this photo, Christina was pregnant at the time. So now our little group of college besties has two precious little babies!

Anyway, this post really is going somewhere, haha! After graduating, Josh decided to join the military and he and Shannon ended up moving to Daegu, South Korea. One day when we were talking she told me about Hoddeok. A Korean street food like stuffed pancakes. She described them like this: “They taste like fried cinnamon roll dough with the cinnamon sugar filling all gooey on the inside.” If that doesn’t sell you on them, maybe the picture will:

hoddeok (korean sweet pancakes)

hoddeok(recipe only slightly modified from MyKoreanKitchen)

It has been two years since Shannon passed this recipe on to me and I can’t believe I just now got around to making it. It does take a little planning with the whole 3-hour-rise thing, but it is totally worth it. Especially if you make them for a lazy Saturday lunch like we did this past weekend. 🙂
Love Rach

22 responses to “Hoddeok (Korean Sweet Pancakes)

  1. Ooh, these look good! Thanks for stopping by my blog- now I’ve found yours and it looks like fun (and I’ve already learned something totally new)!

  2. I love pancakes, sweet fried stuff, apple-cinnamon = I HAVE to try this recipe! Sounds and looks soooooo yummylicious! And I like your stories leading up to the food part! 🙂

  3. I think I ate those when we went to Korea! I’m probably too lazy to make them myself, but they look delicious! 😀

  4. Oh wow!! These look dangerous!

  5. These looks so good! Love that you have stayed friends with your group after all this time!

  6. These look so good! I would love to make them over the weekend! 🙂

  7. My college had social clubs too. 🙂 And these look awesome!

  8. You’re killing me with all these incredible looking recipes. : )

  9. i have never heard of these little cinnamon korean filled pancakes! they look delicious! and you are so stinking cute! thanks for stopping by my blog. xoxo

  10. I know you miss them 😦 But this recipe does look incredible. And you definitely had me sold by just the description!

  11. Those sound and look delicious!

    Oh and I LOVE the trophies. That is AWESOME!

  12. Aww I love friendship stories 🙂
    And that looks amazing! And doesn’t sound all that hard either. Must try.

  13. These look dangerously delicious, I really want to try making them on a lazy weekend day too!!! I am loving the new little recipe card layout look as well by the way 🙂

  14. Oh my goodness. I could eat a dozen of those pancakes.

  15. Such cute photos! And those look SO yummy 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  16. Oh yum!! Yours are sweet and mine are savory! Wish we could swap 🙂

  17. I have never heard of Hoddeok, but they look amazing! Thanks for introducing a new food to me :).

  18. yum!! i want to try those!! and that’s nice they you still keep in touch with them!!

  19. I’m not the most adventurous eater, but these look and sound really amazing!

  20. AHH love carbs! This sounds beyond fantastic!!

  21. Those trophies are awesome and it’s great that Shannon shares such great recipes with you 😉

Leave a Reply

