My Grandmother’s Rolls

I was blessed to grow up with all four of my grandparents living and even a great-grandmother on my dad’s side. I’ve talked about my mom’s dad and how he taught me about cereal mixing and the proper way to eat molasses.  And I’ve mentioned my mom’s mom and how she left me her china collection. But I haven’t shared with you one of my favorite things about my mom’s parents from when I was growing up.

momma billie and daddy ken(yes that is me at age 15 on the left and age 16-almost-17 on the right when I graduated high school)

As a little girl, I used to love going to their house because every morning, I would wake up to the most amazing and familiar aromas: homemade blueberry muffins baking in the oven and  bacon sizzling in the skillet. I would bounce out of bed and rush to the kitchen to see my grandparents standing at the ready –  aprons on, spatulas in hand. After huge hugs, Momma Billie would pour me a large glass of milk while Daddy Ken would ask me how I wanted my eggs prepared. I would watch with fascination as the eggs sizzled and cooked just perfectly every single time. No one made eggs like my Daddy Ken. 🙂 And the best part was that I could eat as much as I wanted. My family was always amazed at my ability to down half a dozen eggs in one sitting. What can I say? When it’s good, it’s good! 😉

dk and mb (Looking for style inspiration? I love both of these looks! Daddy Ken in 1977 and Momma Billie in 1960)

My other favorite food-related memory with my grandparents would hands-down be my grandmother’s homemade rolls. I love bread and especially warm, fresh-from-the-oven rolls. And I have eaten a lot of bread in my lifetime, but I have never had rolls as good as hers. I’m sure much of that is wrapped up in sentiment and the fact that I grew up eating them. But truthfully, they are the best rolls I’ve ever eaten.

homemade rolls

I made the rolls for my girls tonight and they absolutely loved them! I mean my girls pretty much love all the bread I make and there are seldom leftovers, but more than half the girls said that these rolls were absolutely the best I’ve made!

homemade rolls

It may seem strange that these are rolled out and cut with cookie cutters like biscuits are, but that’s the way Momma Billie always made them. And you don’t mess with a good thing. 🙂 In fact, I talked to my mom about this today and she said that it wasn’t until she was an adult that she even knew there was another way to make rolls. Love how those things we were raised with stay with us. 🙂

momma billie's rolls

momma billie's rolls

momma billie's rolls

I know many people keep family recipes a secret, but I’ve never known anyone in my family to not share a recipe when asked. When you have the best-of-the-best… why not share? 😉 And trust me, friends, these rolls ARE the best! At least in this girl’s completely biased opinion. 😉
Love Rach

 

27 responses to “My Grandmother’s Rolls

  1. These look delicious…absolutely cutting out this recipe!

  2. Those rolls look yummy! I’ve always wanted to try making my own rolls 🙂

  3. I just pinned this recipe, I hope you don’t mind?? I just want to remember to make them! They sound amazing! 🙂

  4. Loved this post- so sweet! Dinner rolls are my favorite part of a big meal. So interesting how you roll them out and cut them; they turn out so pretty! Definitely going to try!

  5. Yum, those looks amazing! And I love the backstory 🙂 your family sounds wonderful!

  6. This is such a sweet post! You’re a lucky girl o have such sweet memories of your grandparents; grandparents are the absolute best 🙂 also, wow, you were youn when you graduated high school! Did you skip a grade or two?
    Happy weekend, friend!

  7. ooo i think its the fact that you add the mashed potatoes! YUMM!

  8. Oh yes. These will be tried. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Also, what wonderful memories you have of your grandparents!

  9. Family recipes are the best.

  10. Ohh mashed potatoes?! That is a perfect ingredient. Yumm.

  11. You have a true talent for sharing the BEST looking recipes. I need to just take a day to make all this delicious food that you share! 🙂

  12. What a great cookie/roll cutter- looks vintage…and this recipe- mashed potatoes? Get out. I am definitely trying these (after I make the sweet potato fries 😉

  13. Oh man! Those look scrumptious!!!

  14. Rach, these look simply wonderful! Some of the best recipes are the classics from our parents and grandparents. Yum. Thanks for sharing!

  15. How awesome that you got to grow up with all of your grandparents living… that’s truly a blessing! The rolls look so good! I bet they are perfect with maple syrup or jam on top 🙂

  16. Those look so good! Also, what kind of camera do you have? The pics look great!
    walkinginmemphisinhighheels.com

  17. Uuugh those remind me of my BB’s biscuits that we eat with chocolate syrup! Love those pics of you! You have always been such a cutie pie!

  18. oooh! Breeeaad! My favourite thing to do is bake. whenever I get an excuse to bake something I do it. Either it`s cinnamon buns, sandwich bread or just any other kind of dough! Have to try this! Never seen mashed potatoes as an ingredients! maybe that`s the secret ingredient! Love the fact that you roll the dough and use a cookie cutter. Have never thought about that way of making rolls!

  19. Pingback: Christmas in January |

  20. I don’t think I’ve ever seen rolls made this way!!! I’m going to have to give it a go! It sounds like THE perfect way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

