Soup Sunday!

This past Sunday was Soup Sunday to support Youth Villages!

youth villages bannerYouth Villages is a local organization that helps troubled children and families. You can read more about them on their website. I’ve had several friends who have worked for them over the years and I appreciate the way they truly are a “force for families” here in Memphis.

fedex forumEvery year, Youth Villages hosts a huge event called Soup Sunday! For a $25 donation, you get to try out (and vote!) for the best soups (and breads) of the city! And this year there were food trucks outside as well!

The Memphis DoctorsThere’s live music both from The Memphis Doctors aaaand…

Pam and TerryPam and Terry!

soup sundaySome of the delicious food we tried! My favorite soups were the Beef and Potato Soup from Huey’s, the Baked Potato Soup from Houston’s, and the Chowder from Hog Wild BBQ. Bread was a little harder to decide on. Coletta’s is always a favorite of mine, but Vanelli’s Deli and Jim’s Place both had excellent bread as well!

food trucksThe food trucks outside were especially fun! Hands down my favorite thing I ate was the pizza from the Rock ‘N Dough Pizza Truck! Um, oh my gracious, delicious! It is officially my favorite pizza that I’ve had in Memphis! I actually went by the truck twice and hoped the guys handing out pizza wouldn’t notice. They definitely remembered me (which is impressive considering the number of people there!). They laughed and gave me a huge slice and I promised I’d write great things about them. 😉 You better believe I will be stalking their food truck again (and visiting their newly opened restaurant)! 🙂

We had a wonderful time! I’m excited to visit some of these restaurants in person! 🙂
Love Rach

24 responses to “Soup Sunday!

  1. Haha…you’re so cute, Rach! I bet that’s why the pizza guys didn’t mind serving you twice. 😉 I’m not usually a big soup person, but this looks like a really cool event! (And a great cause!)

  2. Ohh my gosh, what a blast. Your city really is legit!

  3. What a great event! I would love to attend something like that if it`d be arranged in Norway! aaaah, piiiizza! I`m so hungry right now, and everytime I read your blog, there`s always something about some delish food, which makes me even more hungry!

  4. oh my gosh there is a food truck called ‘yolo” that is hilarious! 🙂
    Also, this sounds like a great event!!

  5. The food all sound great! Looks like a great time.

  6. Where is their new restaurant at? That sounds like so much fun!! I would love to do this next year. I usually do the Yourh Villages 5K each year.

  7. Soup Sunday sounds so fun! I’ve never been to Memphis, but you make a great case for it…someday 🙂

  8. Haha, no shame in returning to the pizza truck! Sounds like a fun day!

  9. What an awesome event!! I would have gone back for another slice too 🙂

  10. $25 well spent and for a good cause! It sounds like that was a fun event.

  11. This sounds like such an amazing cause and looks like it was a great time. Win-win for sure! 🙂

  12. I didn’t know about this until last minute. I would have loved to gone!

  13. Yum! Soup is the best…and SO comforting!

    That is awesome that you have pizza trucks in your area. I have always wanted to go to one!

  14. You can’t beat a great cause with great food 🙂

  15. That sounds like SO much fun!!! 🙂 I’ve never eaten from a food truck, although I hear that Boston is starting to finally get them. YAY!

  16. That sounds like such a great cause, Rach! 🙂

  17. What an amazing event! Sounds like so much fun and for a great cause! That’s awesome 🙂

  18. That sounds like an awesome event, and how fun! I’ve seen events like this with other foods but never soup, what a great idea for these colder months! And so glad it’s going to a good cause!

  19. Soup Sunday sounds like a super fun event! I love that the proceeds benefit Youth Village, too. Any excuse to eat food is a good excuse, but when all that eatin’ helps out an important charity, it’s a GREAT excuse. 🙂

    The soups and bread all look amazing…but that PIZZA sounds to-die-for delicious! ❤

  20. That is such a cool event! I love soup and helping out for a good cause is even better 🙂

  21. Wow.. this sounds like such a fun event and for a really great cause!

  22. Rockin’ Dough pizza is totally my fav. Did you know they have an actual location as well as a food truck?? I’ve been meaning to try it. Kerry @ Ilovememphis says it’s fantastic.

  23. Pingback: Rock ‘n Dough Pizza! |

Leave a Reply

