St. Patty’s Day Cake Pops {and a photo to melt your heart}

For those who haven’t heard, Google Reader is “retiring” which is really sad for those of us who have grown accustomed to it and really really really don’t like change… oh wait, that’s me, ha! Anyway, I’m checking out Feedly and BlogLovin’ at the moment to see how I like them (you can Follow my blog with Bloglovin here). Does anyone else use a different type of reader that they really recommend?

Moving on to much more exciting things… yesterday was Pi day (March 14th… 3.14) so I did in fact, eat pie on pi day. 😀

pi day

Speaking of desserts… this coming Sunday is St. Patrick’s Day! So in honor of that, William (the little boy I nanny) and I made Cake Pops!

cake popsWhy yes, that IS green food dye! 1 ounce just so happens to be the perfect amount for turning cake batter GREEN!

cake popsMake cake according to package directions, but be sure to add your 1 ounce of green food dye! Once cake is baked, allow it to cool entirely then use a fork to make cake into small crumbles. Add the entire can of frosting to cake bits and “smoosh” together until entirely incorporated.

cake pops2 Form your cake/frosting mixture into tiny little balls and place on cookie sheet. Freeze for at least 20 minutes. Melt chocolate in microwave or double boiler. Dip frozen cake balls  into melted chocolate until entirely covered. Remove from chocolate and place on cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. Sprinkle on some green goodness. Smile for the camera… oh wait… that was just Will, you don’t actually have to do that. 😉

cake popsAnd here’s the final product! I used both chocolate and white chocolate because I ran out of the white chocolate, haha! And of course for the traditional “cake pop” you can skewer these with wooden dowels to serve. 🙂

And just in case there isn’t enough sweetness in this post already…

will and oreoMelt. My. Heart. 🙂

Love Rach

22 responses to “St. Patty’s Day Cake Pops {and a photo to melt your heart}

  1. Sweetness, indeed: a cutie-pie and a cake in one post … I love it!

  2. aw! how sweet! I bet the boy loved making GREEN cake batter! SO cool! I`ve never made cake pops before, but they`ve gotten increasingly more popular here in Norway as well!
    We`re celebrating St.Patricks day too, so tomorrow I`m making green macaroons with a milk chocolate filling in honour of the big day! We`re having a lot of friends over for a traditional egg&bacon breakfast on Sunday:-)

  3. I am so heartbroken about google reader being no longer… whyyyyy?!??!? *sigh* Anyways, those cake pops are too cute and oh so festive! I haven’t had a cake pop in quite some time but some friends of mine have business in town and are offering classes on how to make different kinds, feel like it could be a fun afternoon event one day!

  4. Ahhh, he’s the cutest little guy in the world. And with Oreo in the same picture – it’s cuteness overload. Those cake pops look delicious!

  5. Those cake pops look yummy and they need to be in my belly right about now.

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  6. I use bloglovin…and i honestly LOVE it. ha. It sometimes takes a little while for a new post to show up (an hour or two if that) but it’s great! It separates bloggers by post so you know how many posts you’ve missed reading by each blogger.
    Those cake pops look delicious!

  7. LOVE cake balls! Those look so good and festive!

    I’m having a minor panic attack about Google Reader. Please let us know how you like Feedly and BlogLovin!

  8. You are such a great cook! I didn’t eat pi(e), but I will be eating cake tonight for my neice’s bday! I love BlogLovin. I’ve been using it for a year or two.

  9. Yay for holiday cake pops!! I don’t use Google reader, so I’m not too bummed about the loss, but I do feel for you guys that do!! I just use the wordpress reader, and hand stalk the other blogs I like. It gets hard at times haha.

  10. That last photo is too freaking cute!!! And yum! Maybe I’ll make these for Sunday 🙂

  11. You’re so fun–no wonder he was all tuckered out! I have grand dreams of baking treats with Jude when he gets old enough, but I don’t want to wish his life away too soon.

  12. Those sound so easy and delicious to make.

    And, yes,there were a couple very cute pics there!

  13. These cake pops are SO perfect for St. Patty’s Day…not to mention the fact that they look amazingly delicious!

  14. Fun and yum – It looks like you had such a great day!! These are definitely perfect for St. Patty’s Day Weekend 🙂

  15. These look so good! Cake pops are always a fun snack 🙂

    And oh my goodness, what a sweet picture! Such a cute kid!

  16. I’ve never tried cake pops, but they sound delicious! I think they sell them at Starbucks? My nephews always beg my sister for them. 😀 I bet Will was happy!

  17. That is such a precious picture of the little guy. I’m sure he adored making the pops with you.

  18. I was pretty depressed to hear about Google Reader as well.. like what?! I have been trying out Feedly and it’s pretty similar to Google Reader 😀

    I love the last picture. Melts my heart and makes me want kids!!

  19. yum!! those looks so good – wish I had one right now!!!

  20. Ahhh that looks like so much fun!!! Yummy:)

    Also, I just replaced google reader with Bloglovin…it’s good so far!

  21. Those cake pops look yummy! 🙂 Awww..such a cute picture!

  22. Those definitely look yummy and festive, and that kid is QUITE adorable!!

Leave a Reply

