Aunt Juanita’s Fried Okra

This weekend we were in Oklahoma for my brother’s wedding (photos and update on that tomorrow)! We stopped along the way to see my Aunt Juanita and Uncle Perry. We hadn’t seen them since our wedding four and a half years ago and it had been years before that since I was last at their house.

aunt juanitaAunt Juanita is actually my Great-Aunt-Juanita. She’s my dad’s aunt, but I grew up always calling her “Aunt Juanita”. πŸ™‚

When she heard we were coming, she said she would throw together a quick lunch for us. This is what we had:

aunt juanitasOh, you know, just a “quick” lunch. πŸ˜‰ It really was all so delicious. Aunt Juanita is such a wonderful cook! But my absolute FAVORITE thing that she makes is her fried okra. In fact, it is my favorite okra of all time. Long before we were married, Christopher had heard our family talking about Aunt Juanita’s fried okra so he was really excited to try it out. And no surprise, he loved it. Said it was hands down the best okra he had ever eaten. πŸ™‚

I asked Aunt Juanita for her recipe and she smiled and said “oh, it’s nothing special. I just don’t use cornmeal” then she talked me through her method of making it. So I’m going to share that with you guys, but I have no actual measurements for anything, haha! It’s worth playing around with to get it perfect, though! I definitely am going to try! πŸ™‚

fried okra

fried okraA new addition to Juanita and Perry’s property since I was last there is a “tree house”/viewing deck that they built for their grandkids.

viewing deckHow cool is that?!

lake tenkillerThe view of Lake Tenkiller from the top of the viewing deck

cookson okUs in Cookson, Oklahoma with Lake Tenkiller in the background πŸ™‚

We had a wonderful time catching up with Aunt Juanita and Uncle Perry! They haven’t changed one bit since I last saw them. πŸ™‚ Oh! And I found out that my great-great-great grandmother was Native American. That explains why I thought I was Pocahontas when I was a little kid. πŸ˜‰
Love Rach

17 responses to “Aunt Juanita’s Fried Okra

  1. The “quick” lunch looks delicious! I love fried okra. Also, that treehouse/viewing deck looks like a child’s dream! How fun and the view from the top is gorgeous!

  2. wow, that treehouse/viewing deck is just awesome! never seen anything like it! and how cool to learn that you have a Native American background!!

  3. SO FUN!! I want to visit you so badly, mainly because you’re a doll and secondly because your scenery around where you live is amazing. Even when you visit others! I have been dying to try fried okra, and look..NO BUTTER OR MILK YAHH!

  4. Mmm – that okra looks amazing. And that treehouse/viewing deck –> epic.

  5. So fun! Fried okra is a serious weakness of mine… I absolutely love it!

  6. That treehouse is AMAZING! It looks like something out of a magazine!!!

  7. That treehouse is amazing!!! My cousins have something similar but in no way THAT impressive! I’ve never had okra before, but my mom had an Aunt Juanita! haha I got a hand-me-down vanity from her!

  8. Yum! I love fried okra, I haven’t had it in so long.

  9. Oh my gosh. That tree house is awesome.

  10. I want that treehouse!! On an unrelated note, I also want you’re hair; it’s so gorgeous!

    Truth: I’ve never had okra. I don’t even know if it’s something you can get here. I’m curious about it though, it looks fun!

  11. I’ve never had okra before! I’d be willing to try it though. That treehouse is awesome!! πŸ™‚

  12. That is probably the coolest treehouse EVER! πŸ™‚ What a special time!! πŸ™‚ And I’ve honestly never had okra, but it does look delicious!!

  13. Yummmm gotta love fried okra!! Your aunt is so cute!

  14. That okra looks so good! I’ll definitely try that recipe. My mom also does a “lazy” recipe sometimes where she’ll line up whole, raw okra on a cookie sheet and spritz them with some olive oil and sprinkle some salt on them. She bakes them in the oven for like 30 minutes and they come out kind of golden and roasted. Any way you cook it, okra is delicious!

    (Except the way my grandma used to do it…she stewed whole okra together in the pot with black-eyed peas. My sister enjoyed eating it that way, but it was way too slimy for me!)

  15. holy guacamole- that tree house is AMAZING!

  16. Oh my goodness, those look amazing! I love how they look thin instead of being really thick chunks. They looked like fried pickles at first. Yum!

  17. #1 i want that tree house
    #2 fried okra is where it is at…so yummy!

Leave a Reply

