Celebrating Passover

I’ve mentioned before that Christopher and I celebrate a few of the traditional Jewish holidays like Purim, Rosh Hashanah, and Passover. {how have I not blogged about Rosh Hashanah?? I just went looking for a post and couldn’t find one. It’s the very first Jewish holiday we ever celebrated! Obviously I need to be better about blogging about it this year, haha!} We aren’t Jewish by race or religion, but as Christians we really like learning about our roots in the Jewish faith. Anyway, Passover began Monday at sundown. A group of 30 of us met together at Jeremy and Sarah’s home for the Passover Seder.

passover

The last meal Jesus ate with his disciples before His death and resurrection was the Passover meal. The spiritual theme of Passover is one of salvation by the blood of a perfect, spotless lamb. I know that may sound super strange to those of you who weren’t raised in a religious tradition, but let me try to explain. When Jesus died on the cross, He died after living a perfect and sinless life. He took on all of our sin so that we can stand before God blameless. Similar to long ago when Jews would sacrifice a perfect, spotless lamb (or goat) as a temporary atonement for their sins. But the difference is that Jesus was resurrected. The difference is that Jesus only died once, unlike the lambs that were slaughtered year after year. The difference is that Jesus chose to do it because He loves us. That’s a big deal, my friends.

passover meal(all our traditional Passover food)

So every year we come together to share a Passover seder for several reasons. First of all, to remember what Jesus did for us. Second to take time to remember why we need Him so desperately. Third, to pass on the story (especially to children). Traditional Jewish families will often read the entire book of Exodus to remember the story of God’s deliverance of the Jews from slavery in Egypt. We read the entire death and resurrection story of Jesus Christ. It is a great opportunity for children to ask questions (why do we sit on the floor? why is everyone wearing white? why are we eating yucky food? etc) and hear the story of Jesus’ redeeming love and sacrifice. 🙂 Plus, not all the food is yucky – just the bitter herbs. 😉

Speaking of some of the non-yucky food. I made a recipe from a friend-of-a-friend named Becky R. She’s actually Jewish by race and this recipe is from her family. It was really tasty!

meatball soup (passover)(I actually snapped this shot before I left the house – all our bowls/plates/cutlery/napkins/etc at Passover were white)

meatball stew

I doubled the recipe so forming the meatballs took forever, but it was well worth it! Plus, I like this form of boiling meatballs instead of frying them. It was a wonderful Passover Seder and it has me looking forward to Easter even more! 🙂
Love Rach

17 responses to “Celebrating Passover

  1. That’s cool that you celebrate some of the traditional Jewish holidays! I ate a Passover meal one time when I was in sixth grade. I went to Christian school, and we were reading through the book of Exodus in Bible class. We ate the Passover Seder meal to kind of experience what the Israelites did as they were getting ready to leave Egypt. It was funny because I had a friend who mistakenly told her mom that we were having a seance (but she meant to say “Seder”), and her mom got really upset and called the school to find out what was going on…haha 🙂 But anyways, this is a cool yearly tradition you have!

  2. You summed up perfectly why, I, too, like to celebrate the Jewish holidays!!! 🙂

  3. I love that you are getting familiar with these Jewish traditions! So much to celebrate this week! 🙂

  4. how interesting that you`re exploring the roots of christianity! I think we all should learn more where our traditions originally came from! 🙂

  5. What an amazing tradition! I loved reading this! Thanks for sharing! How did this tradition form?

    • For Christopher and I personally, it was while we were in college and taking a class called Living World Religions. We learned all about the history of religion and it really was a great class. Anyway, we happened to learn about Rosh Hashanah (the Jewish New Year) just a few weeks before it actually happened so our group of friends from the class decided to have a little celebratory dinner. That was the seed that started it all. We used to live just down the street from a Messianic Jewish Synagogue and celebrated Purim there one year (that was a SUPER cool experience). So just things like that. As for this Passover with this group of friends… it was actually going on a couple of years before we began going to this church. I’m not actually sure who started it, haha!

  6. Yes, Passover is a big deal! Jesus is a big deal! I love this post!

  7. Meatball stew….where have you been my whole life?? =)

  8. SUCH a great post!!! It kind of makes me want to start celebrating some of the Jewish holidays as well, in remembrance. 🙂

  9. I love that you celebrated Passover. Sadly, I haven’t been observing this year because of my stomach issues but hubby and I are making matzah ball soup tonight and possibly fried matzah for dinner. 🙂

  10. My roommates boyfriend is jewish, so they celebrate passover. (He bought her some lovely yellow roses for the occasion!)

  11. What a great post. Thanks for sharing a little information about Passover. I wasn’t really sure what it was before reading your post.

    Tracy @ Sunny Days and Starry Nights

    Enter our iPad and Lilly Pulitzer iPad Case Giveaway

  12. That’s so neat that y’all celebrate Jewish holidays!
    And YUM I love meatballs, that stew looks stupendous. Stew. Stupendous. Ha?! Okay I’m done now.

  13. that’s awesome that you shared this! happy good friday and easter!

  14. Oh I agree what a great post!!

  15. My best friend is Jewish, so I love celebrating the holidays with her and her family!

Leave a Reply

