On why you don’t already know that Christopher is in Graduate School {CampusBookRentals}

Christopher isn’t shy, but anyone who spends a lot of time around him will soon discover that he doesn’t really talk about himself that much. He’ll brag on me, tell a funny story about our dog, or talk about things going on in our life together. But you won’t hear him talk about getting a promotion at work or about how he dominated in basketball today or even that he is currently rocking his grad school classes. He just doesn’t think to talk about himself with people other than me. I think this is a big part of why people tend to be drawn to him. He is down to earth and humble. Not even remotely conceited. He is genuine and kind. And I love him. But I am getting way away from the purpose of this post. 😉

Christopher Oreo{this photo has nothing to do with this post except for the fact that Christopher is in it. And I find it hilarious.}

So, up there… I mentioned that he is in grad school. He actually has been for a year now. For the longest time he really didn’t want anyone to know just because he didn’t want a lot of attention over it. But now that he’s getting close to graduating (this year!) so he has okayed me to share it with you guys. So hooray! He’s in grad school! And acing his classes, by the way! I’ve been so proud of his grades! 😀 He has an amazing scholarship so grad school isn’t costing us a fortune, but his books are still super expensive.

DSC_0389

In fact, between the two of us, we’ve spent close to $6,000 on text books for college and graduate school. Um yeah, that’s a lot of money. Most of the books we have sold on Amazon, but I’m definitely a high-lighter/note-writer when it comes to text books so I lost a sizable amount of $$ on each book. This is where CampusBookRentals comes in. Have you guys heard of them? They let you rent your text books from them with free shipping both ways and you can still high light and write notes in the margins! Oh, and if you want to keep a book for future reference, you just pay the difference left after your rental fee! 

campus book rentals{source}

They also have a new program called the RentBack program where you send them your books and other student rent YOUR book from you. So you get paid each time someone rents your book! The only textbooks I have left are the ones I plan to keep, but if I still had any, I would definitely do this! Also, I love that they are partnering with Operation Smile who provide cleft lip surgeries for children whose families wouldn’t be able to afford it otherwise. And if you aren’t already sold on them, they have a 30 day risk-free guarantee. You can return your book for any reason within 30 days for a full refund.

In case you were wondering, I was compensated for this post, but you can be sure that I will not endorse anything on this blog that I don’t fully back. These thoughts and opinions are all mine (I mean, who else is going to go on and on about how swell my husband is? 😉 ).
Love Rach

18 responses to “On why you don’t already know that Christopher is in Graduate School {CampusBookRentals}

  1. Your husband sounds like a great guy — together, the two of you are double awesome! Congratulations to him on his upcoming completion of graduate school. 🙂

  2. I used to love to rent my college textbooks, you get a break on the price and I didn’t have to worry about the hassle of trying to resell them after.

  3. It’s so sweet that he didn’t want anyone to know about being in grad school… but I’m glad that now you can brag on him!

    This company sounds awesome – such a great concept. I was a literature major in college AND grad school, so although I spent less money on books (because a lot of my textbooks were novels or poetry books), I really couldn’t sell them back for anything but pennies, so I’ve just kept them all. It did help me accumulate an enormous library though!

  4. I’m a highlighter/note writer as well, I HAVE to mark up every single book of mine! I swear anything I’m reading for school is usually marked up with an assortment of colors, it’s CRAZY but it works for me! 🙂
    I’ve never heard of that site, I’ll definitely have to check it out, textbooks are SO SO expensive it’s depressing.

  5. I’m using Campus Book Rentals for the first time this semester…I wish they had been around when I was in undergrad! I didn’t buy ANY of my books this semester. I decided to rent all of them! But I didn’t realize that I could decide to pay the difference to keep one if I really wanted to–that’s exciting! Thanks for the info 😀

  6. Pretty cool idea! I am such a high lighter! 🙂 I think it would make more sense for me to high light the stuff I don’t like haha

  7. I’ll have to share this with my boyfriend!

  8. It’s INSANE how expensive textbooks are!! You have such a wonderful husband though 🙂

  9. renting your textbooks? And you`re allowed to highlight??? Why in the world does it not exist in Norway??? I`ve wasted so much money on my have-to-highlight-everything-and-then-not-being-able-to-re-sell method! And hurray for your man almost finishing Grad School! that`s great! 🙂

  10. Wow, that’s a great program. I remember well how expensive text books were, and my college days ended … 20 years ago! (WHAT?!?!)

  11. i will definitely check this out for when i start my nurse practioner program. nursing books are so not cheap!! thanks!

  12. Textbooks are ridiculously expensive. I think I was somewhere around 800 dollars for each law school semester this year. But, it’s all supposed to be worth it in the end, right??

    Congrats to Christopher on almost being done with grad school! How exciting!! Also, I just have to say, that your little blurb about him had me smiling. You two are just too adorable!

  13. Again, you and your husband are adorable! I can tell y’all are crazy about one another!

  14. I wish this would have been around back when I was in college! I would have saved a lot of money. I think it’s a great idea 🙂

  15. textbooks are soooo expensive.. happy to be done with that phase.

  16. This is fabulous. My hubby and I will have to look into it for him.

  17. Yay for being so close to graduating! That is awesome! You must be proud 😉

  18. Pingback: Surrounded {learning life lessons} |

Leave a Reply

