Focaccia Bread {and something I am SUPER excited about!}

I’ve mentioned this before, but on my 19th birthday, my mom passed down to me her collection of most coveted recipes.

recipes

I have several favorite recipes from this collection, but one I have made with great frequency lately is her focaccia bread recipe. It may seem a bit overwhelming since it has so many ingredients, but most of them are herbs that you more than likely already have in your cupboard. If you like bread and Italian flavors… you will adore this recipe. πŸ™‚

focaccia bread

focaccia bread

This recipe is great just as it is, but one of my favorite things to do with focaccia bread is to use it as pizza crust! We did this all the time when I was a teenager and it has just stuck. πŸ™‚ For two pizza crusts I split the dough in half after it rises, leave off the oil and cheese, and prebake 8-9 minutes. I add my sauce, toppings, and cheese then pop them back in the oven for another 5-6 minutes or until the cheese is melty goodness. Trust me, it is oh-so-good.

focaccia bread pizzaOooh look at all that ooey-gooey deliciousness! Now you know why I look forward to pizza night every Friday! πŸ˜‰

Focaccia Bread (1)We also frequently make it without the cheese and crack some fresh salt on top. Deeeee-lish!

Focaccia Bread (2).JPGFocaccia Bread without the cheese topping is awesome for dipping in sauces!

And since I started this post with a picture of me with my mom… I thought I’d end it the same way. πŸ™‚

mom and meThis was just before I walked down the aisle nearly five years ago. One of the few pictures of I have of just me and my mom. πŸ™‚ Most shots I have with her have at least one of my sisters in it as well. But I adore my sisters so I’m not complainin’!

Aaaaaand in other SUPER EXCITING news… check out this email I got from Sallie Mae:

loan paid!

That’s right! All my student debt (both undergrad and graduate school) is entirely paid off! We are nearly done with Christopher’s undergraduate loans as well. Then we’ll tackle his grad school debt and be totally done with our school debt! Hooray! πŸ™‚

Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

30 responses to “Focaccia Bread {and something I am SUPER excited about!}

  1. oh my goodness, that bread looks amazing! and as a pizza crust…yum!
    YAY FOR NO MORE LOANS!

  2. oh I love your wedding pic.. so precious ❀

  3. When you say “split the dough in half”, what do you do with the other half? Two pizzas? Pizza and half a focaccia? Can you freeze it for later? We need a new pizza crust recipe πŸ™‚

    • Oh sorry! I meant “split in half and make two pizzas!” Because two pizzas is even better than one. πŸ˜‰ I’ll go back and edit that so it makes more sense. πŸ™‚ I’m not sure about freezing for later. I haven’t tried it before. I know people who do it with regular pizza dough so I’m assuming you can? If you do, let me know how it works out!

  4. I’m overwhelmed with where to start this comment. First – I love the pics of you and your mom. Gorgeous! Second – that bread. A-mmmm-azing. And third – CONGRATS!!! What an awesome accomplishment. Pay off Rach’s student debt – check!!

  5. That bread looks delicious! I think they serve something like that at Macaroni Grill and provide a little dish of olive oil with spices mixed in for dipping!

    Haha…and I love that your letter from Sallie Mae says, “Dear Rach.” I know you probably just censored the rest of your name out, but it made me laugh, like you and Sallie Mae are REAL tight friends. πŸ™‚

  6. yum, yum, yum. gonna have to try this!
    congrats on the loans. that has to be an amazing feeling. sadly i won’t know how that feels for a very long time, but i’m so happy for you!

  7. Congratulations on paying down the student loan! That`s awesome news!!
    what a great idea to use focaccia bread as a pizza crust.. I have to try that next time we`re having pizza. I have a bunch of recipes from my mom too that I keep in a really old cookie jar that my grandma once gave my mom <3. IΒ΄m such a nostalgic!

  8. YAHOO NO MORE SCHOOL LOANS FOR YOU!! So exciting!! Congratulations! That photo of you and your mom is GORGEOUS!

  9. focaccia bread pizza ?!?! sign me up!!! and that’s awesome you paid off your loans, i bet that is a fabulous feeling to be done with! πŸ™‚

  10. Love that she shared her recipes with you!!! That looks soooo good…Bread, cheese….Yum!

  11. Congrats on paying off your loans!!! When I paid mine off using a big lump sum from my savings, I didn’t get so much as an email or letter. NOTHING. I think they were mad that they missed out on all of the interest they could have gotten from me! And that pizza looks AMAZING. Also, can’t believe you’ve been married 5 years! that is awesome πŸ™‚

  12. The bread looks delicious! I have never made any kind of bread, but this recipe is calling to me. I’ll let you know if I get brave enough:)

  13. The picture of you and your mom is beautiful πŸ™‚

    Yay for no more student loans!!!

  14. That bread recipe used as a pizza crust is a fabulous idea! It looks super tasty :).

  15. What an excellent gift idea!! Love these pictures of you two.

    And yayyyy for having no more loans. I know you are so relieved!!

  16. Wow!!! I cannot wait for the day my loans are paid off!! Probably not for a longgggg time. 😦 This recipe looks fantastic, I need to make it!

  17. LOVE focaccia bread, and this recipe looks delicious! And HUGE congrats on saying goodbye to your loans! AWESOME!

  18. Heck yes for paying off your loans! And that pizza looks terrific! πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: Saturday Link » The Norwegian GirlThe Norwegian Girl

  20. Congrats on killing the student loan debt for you – yea! And, the bread looks delightful – can’t wait to try it!

  21. Congrats on paying off your student loans! That is awesome!!! (I’m super jealous)

  22. More incredibly looking recipes. ; ) I really want to take some cooking classes. I am not good at all lol. And that picture of you is so so gorgeous!

  23. Congrats on paying off all of your student loans! What an amazing accomplishment! πŸ˜€

  24. Pingback: Pizza Night {finally sharing our pizza recipe!} |

  25. Congrats on paying off your student loans!! Isn’t it an amazing feeling?? I can only imagine it’s 10 times as exciting as just getting one paid off!

  26. Pingback: The awesomeness that was 2013 |

  27. Pingback: WE ARE DEBT FREE!!! |

  28. Pingback: 13 of the Best Freezer Meals |

Leave a Reply

