Comfort Food for Cold Weather

So it was nice and warm and sunshiny and then a cold front came through. I was not prepared for a rainy 50 degrees today after sunny 80 yesterday. But at least my flowers are being well watered. πŸ™‚ Plus, my sunshine will be back tomorrow and it will warm back up over the weekend! But this cold snap has me craving carbs. So I thought I’d share a couple of the recipes we made this winter that I somehow never got around to sharing on the blog. πŸ™‚

I honestly can’t remember where this first recipe originally came from. It’s one I made several years ago and we loved it so much that I put it in our “favorites” file to make again. I’m so glad I did because this is absolutely delightful! {Ps. if you have seen this recipe before or know where it came from please let me know! I want to give credit where it’s due!}

Italian Sausage Soup

Italian sausage soup

And from Better Homes and Gardens, we have Chili Pasta Skillet. One might even call this whatever-you-have-in-your-pantry dinner night. πŸ™‚ It kind of reminds me of the goulash that they used to serve at our college. I know it sounds icky, but it was definitely a favorite!

chili pasta skillet

chili pasta skillet

And since I’ve made so many different bread recipes lately, here’s the Artisan Bread recipe viaΒ Thousand Story KitchenΒ and Cooking Italian Comfort Food! It worked out well for us. My girls really loved it. And I liked how easy it was. πŸ™‚

artisian bread

artisan bread

In other news, I will leave you with this video that I came across yesterday. Both Christopher and I found it hysterical! Enjoy!


Love Rach

22 responses to “Comfort Food for Cold Weather

  1. I want all of this food!! It looks amazing!

  2. THAT VIDEO! HAHAHA. Oh my gosh! That was one of the funniest things I have ever seen.

  3. Those recipes look so hearty and warm and delicious!

  4. Cold front came in here too! I don’t remember an April ever being 40 something degrees in Austin. (I kinda like it though, but I know you like your warmer weather lol)
    That bread looks delicious and way easier than I would think!
    I saw that video earlier this morning…bahahaha.

  5. Great recipes for the COLD! It was FREEZING here yesterday and it’s still super cold today. WHY OH WHY. At least we get to eat yummy food like this though!

  6. the weather was getting better here too, then it started to snow today! So this kind of food is excellent! that chili pasta skillet sounds perfect for me, maybe IΒ΄ll put it into next week`s mealplan.

  7. Yummy! I want some of that soup πŸ™‚

  8. That soup looks so good and perfect for today’s weather. YUM

  9. DYING over that video! It is still in the 80s here! Not complaining though πŸ™‚

  10. I just saw that video the other day and almost spit out my drink- freakin’ hilarious!

  11. Mike would love all THREE of those dishes!

  12. Rach DonutsMama

    Oh these all look great! I might have to add them to our menu plan!

  13. Oh my gosh. So funny! That first recipe looks so great for a blustery day!

  14. Bahahaha that video was so good. Now I want bread mmmm.

  15. All of this food looks yummy! It’s chilly here today so this would be perfect πŸ™‚

  16. Oh my goodness, I want to try every single one of those recipes! Thank you so much for sharing!!

  17. Yummm definitely lots of good comfort food there! I loved making soups this past winter!

  18. that chili pasta skillet looks deeeelish! and the italian sausage soup reminds me of olive garden’s pasta e fagioli. i found their recipe on the ‘top secret recipes’ website and its to die for! seems like it only a couple ingredients different!

  19. Ooh..these are fantastic recipes; thanks for sharing!

  20. Oooh I haven’t had a good Italian Soup in awhile!

  21. Pingback: Study, Study, Study & Saturday Link » The Norwegian GirlThe Norwegian Girl

  22. Pingback: Pizza Night {finally sharing our pizza recipe!} |

Leave a Reply

