This {Organic} Italian Garden

Last year I shared some bits and pieces of our garden with you guys. This year, we are attempting to go all organic/nonGMO with our garden. We were even sure to buy non-treated wood for the base of our raised beds this year so there wouldn’t be any chemicals hanging out near our soil. 🙂

DSC_0118We got our seeds from SeedsNow. I definitely recommend them! Shipping was fast and they even sent us a free tomato starter pack as a bonus. Also, their prices are the same as  (if not cheaper than) the non-Organic seeds you see in stores. Most of my seeds were $0.99. So don’t think that you can’t go Organic because of price! 🙂

DSC_0372Through research I learned that when it comes to organic soil or fertilizer, don’t just assume that because it says “organic” it doesn’t have yucky stuff in it {this is a great article I found on what to look for in an organic soil}. If it has the “OMRI Listed” label then you are in luck! I found this particular bag at Walmart of all places and on the cheap at that! I’ve also seen OMRI listed soil/fertilizer at Home Depot.

planting seedsBack in March, Will helped me plant my tiny little seeds!

seedlingsAfter about a week, they had all sprouted! Just this week I finally re-potted most of the plants and put them outside to harden them off before they go in the ground. Here’s to hoping they make it!

All in all we are growing the flowers I showed you last week, marigolds to prevent pests, basil, cinnamon basil, oregano, fennel, rosemary, lavender, cherry tomatoes, roma tomatoes, marjoram, and chocolate mint. 75% of it is all totally organic/nonGMO (the other couple we couldn’t find organic seeds for so we just bought regular. We will just be sure they aren’t planted in the same beds together).

We decided to stick to mostly herbs and a few tomatoes because organic produce at the Farmer’s Market is so cheap and accessible during the summer months and last year we way over produced the veggies that we did grow. Now, our challenge will be to keep the pests away without using a pesticide this year. Hopefully the marigolds will do their job and keep all those buggies far far away!
Love Rach

18 responses to “This {Organic} Italian Garden

  1. Very cool! That’s really interesting that marigolds are supposed to keep pests away. Let me know if that proves true!

  2. I am curious about the marigolds too!! We really struggled with our organic garden last year. We had a lot bugs but still had a great crop!!

  3. I’m excited to hear how it all goes! I have the brown thumb to end all brown thumbs, so maybe I can pick up some tricks from you 🙂

  4. I love gardening during the summer. My grandpa has a decent sized one in his backyard and it’s our summer activity 🙂

  5. I’ve had mixed outcomes with gardening endeavors in the past, and I’ve definitely never tried to do all organic. I hope it all works out for you! 😎

  6. Yay for gardens!! Thanks for posting this 🙂 Although I can only have a small herb garden on my balcony, I always try to get organic seeds. I’m going to have to look for organic soil this year too!

  7. This was pretty cool to read about! I love gardening… it’s just so rewarding.

  8. When we finally get a garden started I’m using all your tips! Your veggies are going to be healthy and chemical free. That is amazing. You go girl!

  9. This is awesome! I tried to garden once and failed pretty miserably….haha my patience is crap, which is a problem when trying to garden. This makes me want to try again though!

  10. This is so awesome! Ross and I have been wanting to do the same thing!! Thanks for the tip on what to look for….keep us posted on the progress!! I am sure everything will grow perfectly!! 😉

  11. This is great! I cannot wait to start planting a garden once we have a house. Planting organic is awesome. I am definitely saving everything that you posted. Great tips 🙂

  12. I’m planting my garden today! I’m excited!!

  13. so cool! I´ve always wanted to have a little garden, but we don´t have much space to grow anything. But someday I`m definitely going to have my own garden to grow vegetables, fruits, apples, berries.. 🙂 Have to say, I´m surprised that it was that cheap to plant organic!! That`s great!!

  14. This is awesome!!! One thing I do miss about the ‘burbs now that I’m back in city life is having a garden… so fun during the summer and sounds like you guys will have lots of fabulous stuff to enjoy!

  15. Gardening is so fun! ❤

  16. This is so cool! I absolutely love growing herbs and veggies. We’re getting our garden started next week. So exciting!

    Also, cool that you’re doing organic! We don’t use any chemicals on ours (we’ve never been able to find completely organic seeds though; I might have to try that website next year), and we’ve never found that pests are a huge problem. We were prepared to use a soap and water spray, but never had to bring it out. I’m curious to see how the marigolds work for you!

  17. Oooh I hope it all grows up yummy! I bet the kids loved participating!

Leave a Reply

