My Grandfather’s Birthday! {and a trip to the country}

First of all, today is Earth Day! Three years ago today we bought our very first piece of Earth… a house! Later this week I’ll show you some of the fun things we’ve been working on lately. πŸ™‚ But before that, I want to tell you guys about our weekend!Β On April 17th my grandfather turned 86. So this weekend we went out to “the country” where he lives with his wife, Carolin (my step-grandmother, but the good kind of step, not evil, haha! They got married on Valentine’s Day a few years ago!).

DSC_0185Welcome to the Country House!

DSC_0189 - CopyPull up a rocking chair and enjoy the scenery

DSC_0159My cousin, Max, came home from college to celebrate with us!

maisyAnd I got to meet my Aunt’s new dog, Maisy, for the first time! Part golden lab, part golden retriever, and more expensive education than I have, haha! My Aunt is a Physical Therapist and Maisy is a working dog. She is so so sweet!

DSC_0176The newest addition since we were last here is the chicken coop!

chicksAnd these are some of the chicks! They have a dozen of them. So cute!

chicks2Speaking of chicks… Carolin loves to collect them! In the dining room alone, Max counted over 200 chickens!

daddy ken2All of us singing Happy Birthday to Daddy Ken!

whipped creamAnd who wouldn’t want an extra shot of dairy and sugar with that strawberry short cake? πŸ˜‰

me and daddy kenHappy birthday to one of my most favorite people in the whole world! I love you, Daddy Ken!

Love Rach

18 responses to “My Grandfather’s Birthday! {and a trip to the country}

  1. too cute! i’m loving their home! and that porch is to die for, i want a big front porch so badly!

  2. Looks like an amazing weekend!! What a beautiful house!!

  3. Ok you and your family, are SO my kind of people. From the house in the wooded area, to your beaded cousin, to the CHICKENS! What a blast!!

  4. That house is amazing! Chickens are awesome, and that red hair is fantastic. I find red hair so awesome haha. Looks like a great time, and your grandfather is adorable! πŸ™‚

  5. We celebrates my grandmas birthday this weekend too! She turned 86 as well!

  6. That house looks amazing! I would love to visit there!

  7. Ahhh I absolutely love quaint houses like that! Beautiful! Your grandfather is adorable, as are you, friend! Especially love that whip cream picture hehehe.

  8. Happy birthday to your gramps. That whipped cream picture is hilarious!

  9. Such a sweet post, and such a gorgeous, gorgeous house!

  10. I LOVE that house! It looks amazing! And your cousin looks like a ham, haha. πŸ™‚ Happy birthday to your grandpa!

  11. oh he looks so smart from an 86 year old!! Beautiful pictures! πŸ™‚ Happy birthday to grandpa! πŸ™‚

  12. What a lovely home! πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday to your grandpa!! πŸ™‚

  13. The house, the dog, the dessert – your family is awesome!! These pictures are incredible. I especially love the one of the front porch with the rocking chairs.

  14. Country house looks awesome! Happy birthday to your grandpa – looks like he had an awesome time. And can’t wait to see your house πŸ™‚

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  15. That house is absolutely beautiful!!! Happy belated birthday to your grandpa!!

  16. awww! too sweet. looks like y’all had a great celebration

  17. Their house is super cute! Happy Birthday to your grandpop!

  18. Awww!! Happy Birthday to your grandpa! Their house is beautiful! =)

Leave a Reply

