Lunch Inspiration

I’m one of those people who can eat the same thing all week long and be completely happy about it. In fact, I often eat the same thing for breakfast for months at a time. Lunch goes through shorter cycles, but nearly always at least a week. I get variety at dinner so I call that good. 😉

Anyway, because I am perfectly happy eating the same thing all week, I really like lunches where I can make a few days’ worth ahead of time and just grab my individual portion and go. Here are some of my favorites.

taco roll ups taco roll ups{This probably goes without saying, but you should remove the plastic wrap before reheating these. Also, these are delicious without the cheese too – I made the ones with cheese for Christopher and ones without for me!}

pizza quesadillas pizza quesadillas{Sometimes I make several of these ahead, but often I’ll make these for lunch the day after we have pizza if I have leftover sauce}

bltblt wraps pitas{recipe inspiration here}

egg saladegg salad{I’m not exactly sure where this recipe is from. I learned to make egg salad from my mom so if this isn’t her exact recipe, we’ll at least say that it was inspired by her. 🙂 }

beautiful salad beautiful salad{original recipe here}

I try to avoid dairy so most of these are pretty excellent without the cheese. For the pizza quesadillas, I just use fresh mozzarella which my tummy appreciates. Everything else, is cheese-less for me and cheese-full for Christopher. So if you’re watching your dairy intake, these are still great even without! 🙂

My all time favorite lunches, however, are leftovers! I know some people aren’t fans of leftovers, but I love them! Even for breakfast sometimes. I get that special trait from my dad. 😉 I love those days when I eat leftovers for breakfast, but then we have breakfast-for-dinner, ha! Who says specific foods are for particular times for day? Not in this house! 😉

Also, any easy lunch ideas would be appreciated! I’m always looking for more. 🙂
Love Rach

31 responses to “Lunch Inspiration

  1. I love a good egg salad sandwich but I have never put mustard in mine. I will have to try that. I love leftovers for lunch and breakfast for dinner!

  2. I LOVE leftovers! Only crazy people don’t 😉

    • Haha! I’m with you! I love leftovers so much. I can’t tell you how many of my friends don’t do leftovers, though. They talk about how they put leftovers in the fridge and don’t bother pulling them back out until they have gone bad and have to be thrown out. So sad! Glad you’re with me on lovin’ the leftovers! 🙂

  3. I could hug you right now. LOL!! I always have such a hard time deciding what to eat for lunch, so this post was right up my alley. LOVE these ideas, especially the Taco Rollups. For lunch, sometimes I’ll just wrap some refried beans in a tortilla and then add cheese, but your recipe sounds way yummier! I am totally going to be making that soon!! Thanks for sharing!!! 🙂

    • Haha! Yay! I’m so glad I was able to help out. I know that sometimes I have trouble thinking of good lunch ideas so I wanted to round up my favorites in one spot and I figured it might help someone else out too. And that someone else is YOU! 😀 I’m so glad! 🙂 Sounds like what you make is really similar to the taco roll ups so adding in the ground beef and salsa should be a simple addition for ya. 🙂

  4. thanks for the tips!
    my lunch is always the same too – yogurt & a smart ones.
    gets boring, quick.

    • Sure thing! There’s something nice about eating the same things repetitively. Makes planning and grocery shopping MUCH easier, haha!

  5. I do the same thing with lunches! Cook up a larger amount of something and eat it throughout the week. Coming from someone who has been eating the same breakfast nearly every day for…dear God..two years? I can totally understand eating the same thing all week long! I’m gonna have to use that pizza quesadilla idea 🙂

    • Yes! I love doing that with lunches! I’m not sure why it didn’t occur to me years ago. I always love leftovers, but they only last so long… why not just make a whole batch of something and eat on it all week?! I did that a lot this winter with soups. In fact this week my lunches have been taco soup that I made on Monday. So delicious. 🙂

      So you have to tell me, what is your same breakfast of two years?! I’m assuming it’s the egg sandwich I’ve seen mentioned on your blog?? I usually go through seasonal phases. Summer tends to be smoothies for breakfast, fall is eggs with toast, winter is oatmeal and spring is cereal. Sometimes I make waffles ahead of time and freeze them and pull them out one at a time when I’m needing a quick breakfast. Especially on Saturday mornings. Though the past couple of weeks have been blueberry bagels – oh so good! Aaand now I have given you a ridiculously long run down of my breakfast habits, haha!

  6. Sometimes I go through phases where I eat the same stuff for a month, and sometimes I won’t eat the same thing for two months. These seem great for when I get in a repetitive phase!

  7. I can eat the same thing for breakfast day in and day out, and it doesn’t bother me. I love it every time. But I just hate it when it’s lunch time…I guess because the go-to option is usually making a sandwich. I’m just way more of a cereal/bagel/waffle/[insert breakfast item here] fan than I am a sandwich fan. Especially when the sandwich bread sits in the Ziploc bag all day until lunch time and then it gets soggy from the may or the pickle…ugh! I love all of these lunch options! If I try one of your recipes, I’ll definitely be looking forward to lunch from now on! 😀

    • So funny story about sandwiches. I REALLY didn’t like them for years, but I found out as an adult that it was because I’d only ever had sandwiches with low quality bread and packaged “deli” meat. The first time I had fresh deli shaved turkey on hearty whole grain bread… oh. my. goodness. I was sold, haha! So in general, I don’t like the average sandwich, BUT I do love a good high quality turkey sandwich. I do understand how it can get soggy if it sits in a Ziplock all day – yuck! If I am having sandwiches then I typically make one just before I eat it instead of packing it to go.

  8. Everything looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!!

    The Fashion Heels
    Facebook
    Bloglovin
    Twitter

  9. I love these lunch ideas! I am a huge fan of egg salad but always forget to prepare it at the beginning of the week. I’m going to try your recipe. 🙂 I always eat the same thing for breakfast too.

  10. yum! they all look really delicious! Which reminds me, it`s lunch time over here in Norway, time to eat!

  11. Pizza quesadillas are honestly heaven on earth. I am also someone who can eat the same thing for lunch everyday (and I do).

  12. I love leftovers!! And I totally get into an OCD rut on my meals – wanting the same thing for breakfast for weeks at a time. I went through a wheat toast and hard boiled egg stage. Then it was oatmeal. Then it was English muffin, cream cheese, and bacon. Now it’s breakfast burritos from this one place.

    Fun (and easy!) ideas. Thanks for sharing!

    • Oh Amy, I am totally with you! I usually go through seasonal phases. Summer tends to be smoothies for breakfast, fall is eggs with toast, winter is oatmeal and spring is cereal. Sometimes I make waffles ahead of time and freeze them and pull them out one at a time when I’m needing a quick breakfast. Especially on Saturday mornings. Though the past couple of weeks have been blueberry bagels – oh so good! Aaand now I have given you a ridiculously long run down of my breakfast habits, haha!

  13. Great ideas, girl! As a teacher, I pack my lunch every day, so it’s usually leftovers from dinner the night before, or something simple but delish like these. I want that BLT wrap – yum!

  14. I eat the same thing for breakfast every day, too. LOL — but lunch I like variety. Pizza quesadillas are some of my favorites!

  15. I’m the same way with meals, I could eat the same things everyday. I rarely crave a huge variety. If I do switch it up its always dinner meals!

  16. I am a huge fan of leftovers esp making a big batch of soup/salad/etc on Sunday and carrying it through the first few days of the week! These taco rollups are super cute too, I bet they could be good as a veg option with maybe some cream cheese and salsa in the mix! 🙂

    • Yes! Such a great idea! I actually made a big batch of Taco Soup on Monday and have been eating on it all week for lunch. 🙂

  17. Love these recipes! I need to try the pizza quesadillas and the egg salad…SO YUM!! My hubby & the little guy LOVE cheesy stuff so I feel that the pizza quesadillas & taco roll ups would be a BIG hit in our house! 🙂

  18. I am a leftover gal through and through! In fact, I just had leftovers for lunch.. split pea soup and corn bread mmmm.

    I love reheating soups for lunch because it’s so easy!

  19. yummm the taco roll ups and pizza quesidillas…drooling!

  20. These all look super yummy and quick and easy recipes-my kind of recipe! =) Thanks for sharing with us!

  21. I love the pizza quesadillas. I’ve tried quesadilla de pollo in a Mexican restaurant before and it was heaven and ever since then I’ve become a fan of quesadillas. Love this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

