Those Neighbor Kids

Will, the little boy that I nanny, asks me every now and then if we can go play with “those neighbor kids” who live in the house by mine. Every time he asks, I remind him that “those neighbor kids” moved to Florida with their parents a few months ago. Weeell… this week, they were back in town! Their house sold so they came to sign the final papers and such. When I told Will that we were going to see those same old neighbor kids he was SO excited! However, he couldn’t wrap his mind around the fact that we weren’t actually going to Florida in order to see them. I kept trying to explain that they were back HERE visiting, but geography is a tricky thing for a four-year-old. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, we met up with everyone at My Big Backyard at the Memphis Botanic Garden. All in all, there were 10 kids with 6 adults so we were quite the crew walking around.

big backyardThe kids had a GREAT time! There was so much to explore and see and they loved it. πŸ™‚

DSCN6896 copyWill and Judah saying goodbye. They kept calling each other “Best Buddy” which I thought was pretty much the sweetest thing ever. I knew Will had missed “those neighbor kids” but I didn’t realize how attached he was to them.

Speaking of those neighbor kids… they have grown up SO much since I last saw them. On Wednesday evening, our old neighborhood friend group all got together again. πŸ™‚

amosΒ Baby Amos is nearly a year old! And he has so much hair!

riversRivers is still a mess and never stops going, but he has only gotten cuter as time goes on. Check out all those blonde curls!

judahJudah is still just as adorable. I’m not exactly sure where his shirt went, but well, these things happen. πŸ˜‰

elizabethAnd big sister Elizabeth is still trying to fend for herself with three younger brothers. πŸ˜‰

neighborhood cove partyTim & Stephanie (who are still our neighbors!), Rachel & Tony with their four kiddos, and then us. We miss this sweet family, but are so thankful that Tim and Stephanie still live just two houses over. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

30 responses to “Those Neighbor Kids

  1. =)
    Children are so fun with what they remember/who they play with/ explaining life/geography to them….it’s always so interesting! Glad you got to see them again!

    • It’s so true! Especially with geography. I love to hear kids talk about living in Memphis, but if you say something about them living in Tennessee then they say “no, I live in Memphis…” πŸ˜‰

  2. Ah, fun! I still remember kids that I played with when I was age 4-6 who I never saw after that. I think that must be a very influential time for children to develop friendships.

    It’s great that you have such a close-knit neighborhood! There is definitely comfort in that.

  3. oh my how adorable!! Kids make everything so happy!! Glad they got to see each other!!

  4. I agree it’s great that your neighborhood is so open and friendly. Thank the kids have friends just a few door down.

  5. It looks like yall had so much fun!!!

  6. What a blast!! Huge groups like this are SO much fun! You are going to make a fabulous mama my friend! Just sayin…:)

    • I know right! All those kids running around was hilarious! And hey, thanks for the vote of confidence. I really hope I am a good mom someday!

  7. Awe poor little buddies losing their best friends 😦 Adorable pictures! Glad Will got to see them before they are gone again!

  8. How sweet is this?? The picture of them hugging? Priceless πŸ™‚

  9. So sweet!! I love that the boys call each other “best buddy.” Kids are so adorable! And I love your shirt in the last picture!

  10. Those kids are SO CUTE! And the botanical gardens look fun!

  11. Looks like a house full!!! Looks like a sweet reunion πŸ™‚

  12. Awww! All of those kids are so cute! I love that you are friends with your neighbors.

  13. You look like such a natural with all those kids Rachel!

  14. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli

    Aww, how cute! Love that they got a chance to play again…looks like they had a blast! And wow, that one with the curls is gonna break some hearts for sure…especially with a name like Rivers! πŸ™‚

  15. Pingback: Swanky’s Taco Shop |

Leave a Reply

