A Morning at the Dixon

We started off our weekend with family by taking them to the Dixon Art Gallery and Gardens! On Saturday mornings, the Dixon is free so it’s always busy on nice weather weekends like this past one. We used to live within walking distance from the Dixon so we were there all the time. I had forgotten just how pretty the gardens are. We will definitely be back soon. πŸ™‚

dixonOutside the museum

DSC_0690The current display was of French Jewelry. Some of the pieces were pretty impressive!

dixonAfter walking through the gardens, the gallery is a nice quiet (and air conditioned, ha)Β change of scenery.

dixon flowersSome of the flowers from the Dixon gardens.

dixonThere is a sculpture garden of sorts outside the Dixon and this is both mine and Christopher’s absolute favorite sculpture here. It’s so cool!

tony and marty at dixonMy sweet sweet parents-in-law

guys at dixonChristopher with his dad and brother (apparently Christopher didn’t get the blue-shirt memo;).

guys at the dixonΒ It was only after this picture was taken that my mother-in-law looked up the meaning behind this bench. Apparently it is the “whispering bench” used for a courting couple to whisper sweet nothings to each other with a chaperone in between them. You better believe we teased Christopher and Michael about that afterward. πŸ˜‰

Love Rach

32 responses to “A Morning at the Dixon

  1. I always enjoy walking through public gardens like that, especially since I’ll probably never be able to grow an impressive garden of my own! So funny that Christopher was sitting with his brother (and chaperone) on the courting bench! πŸ˜€

  2. how nice the Dixon looks! This reminded me of a botanical garden here in Oslo, which I still havenΒ΄t gotten around to visit. But THIS summer, I will! I love taking photos of beautiful flowers!!

  3. Love the story about the bench πŸ™‚ I love the flowers, too! gorgeous!

  4. Cute!! I love that bench. πŸ™‚ Looks like such a beautiful place.

  5. That looks beautiful! I love family outings to fun places πŸ™‚

  6. Those flowers are so pretty! Glad you got to spend some time with family. And the bench story is funny!

  7. Haha They never would have allowed the picture if they would have known! That’s hilarious about the bench! Looks like it was a great weekend!

  8. Ha.ha. That bench story is just too great! πŸ™‚

  9. Y’all have so much fun stuff to do in Memphis!

    • We sure do! I’m not sure how long you guys will be here when you stop through, but I’d be more than happy to show off as much as Memphis to you as I can! πŸ˜‰

  10. Wow.. I love the pictures. They’re so vibrant and bright! You’re making me want to visit Memphis πŸ˜€

  11. Haha! Too funny about the bench! That sculpture is awesome! I love going to museums…I could get lost for hours walking around and soaking up all the culture!

    • I know what you mean! It’s so cool to see so much beauty both in art and design and building and gardens. Definitely easy to get lost in. πŸ™‚

  12. Haha! They’ll forever treasure their picture on the whispering bench. πŸ™‚

    What a gorgeous setting!

  13. This looks like a fun place to visit! I love art museums and gardens! Your photos are beautiful. =)

  14. I haven’t been there in years!

  15. Pingback: Memorial Weekend with the Family |

Leave a Reply

