Walkin’ with My Feet Ten Feet Off of Beale

With family in town touring Memphis for the first time, we knew we had to take them downtown to see the Peabody Ducks and Beale Street!

peabody collageThe Peabody Hotel! The famous fountain is currently supporting our local NBA team, the Grizzlies. πŸ™‚

peabody ducksThe Peabody Ducks! Every morning the ducks march down the red carpet to play in the fountain and at 5pm they march back to the elevator that takes them to their suite on the rooftop. {this photo is actually one I took in 2010 – we weren’t close enough for me to get a good shot this time}.

beale streetNext up we headed to the WORLD FAMOUS Beale Street! Why it’s called “World Famous” I’m not exactly sure, haha! But it is a lot of fun to see.

beale streetBeale Street!

a schwabI know you guys have seen us exploring A Schwab on Beale so many times (like here, here, and here), but that’s just because it’s such a fun store! I mean, you can’t just buy “Special Fast Luck Powder” anywhere. πŸ˜‰

a schwab museumPlus there is a cool museum on the second floor full of fun stuff to look at. Christopher and his brother were checking out the ledgers (they both work with numbers). πŸ™‚

a schwab hatsAnd of course, my favorite thing about A Schwab is the selection of ridiculously hilarious hats! I kind of love the shot of my mother-in-law and I in matching sparkly pink fuzzy cowgirl hats. πŸ˜€

memphis music beale streetBeale Street is loud and fun and I’m glad we got to take our family to see it! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

39 responses to “Walkin’ with My Feet Ten Feet Off of Beale

  1. Great pictures!! Can you believe I’ve barely even been to Beale since I’ve moved downtown. Hoping to so some daytime exploring this summer on some weekends though. ; )

    • That does surprise me! If nothing else, think of what adorable outfit photos you could get on Beale Street in the mornings when it isn’t busy. πŸ˜‰

  2. I love learning about all the cool places in Memphis! And those ducks? Unforgettable!!

  3. We stayed at te Peabody when we went to a wedding a couple of years ago. We also visited Beale street. It was a lot of fun!

  4. Oh my gosh…I’ve never heard of those ducks before!! That is awesome/hilarious! They’re duck royalty!

    • Even though I didn’t grow up in Memphis, my mom did, so I grew up hearing about the ducks. The first time I saw them, I thought it was pretty much amazing!

  5. AHH I WANNA GO!! Seriously about those ducks!? How do they get them to do that!! SO funny. So when I come to visit you (because it’s going to happen) you MUST take me here!!

    • Um, YES! I will definitely take you here when you come visit! You will love all the cute little ducks. You can even visit them in the evenings on top of the Peabody where they live!

  6. In high school we went to Memphis for a day trip. We stopped by the Peabody and saw the ducks march to the elevator. I want to go back and visit Memphis. I don’t really remember much more about it.

  7. I feel like I’ve heard about the Peabody ducks before, but I don’t think I’ve ever been on a trip to Memphis. That store looks like a lot of fun! A great place to buy quirky little souvenirs! πŸ˜€

  8. how fun!! i have never been to memphis before but my husband used to go there every year for a music festival. glad you had a good weekend!!

  9. Got to say, I love the one with you in matching hats, too!

    Wow! Beale St. is one busy place!

    • It really is! It was especially busy last weekend, though, because our baseball team (Redbirds) and our NBA team (Grizzlies) were both playing downtown not to mention the normal Saturday night crowd. So yeah, extra busy!

  10. I’ve never been, but love the walking tour and those great hats- tee hee!

  11. The Peabody Ducks are adorable! How cute that they march to and from the elevator each day. I never knew ducks could be trained…Now I kind of want to adopt a few! πŸ˜‰

    Beale Street looks like an absolute blast, and makes me want to visit Memphis. I’m curious about Special Fast Luck Powder! What makes it special and lucky?!

    I’m so glad you were able to show your family around–it looks like it was a super fun day! xoxo ❀

    • Yes! So cool that they can be trained! And they get to retire after three months of duty at the Peabody to live out the rest of their days at a farm. πŸ™‚

      Haha! I have no idea what makes the special fast luck powder so special, but it cracks me up every time I see it. πŸ˜‰

  12. What an awesome place! I really hope to visit Memphis sometime soon! I also really want to check out Nashville.

    • Yes! Come visit! I’ll show you around! πŸ˜‰ And Nashville is pretty great too! We briefly considered moving there, but decided to stay in Memphis because we love it so much. But Nashville is great to visit! πŸ™‚

  13. There’s a five and dime store that I love to go to, because there are funny hats to try on. πŸ™‚ I’ve definitely tried on a pink cowgirl hat like that before. Too fun!!

  14. Those ducks!!! Is that real life?? So funny!

  15. Oh my goodness, those DUCKS! That might be the cutest thing I’ve ever seen haha.

  16. Hahahha omg those ducks are HILARIOUS

  17. I’ve heard about those ducks! A couple of months ago, Mike had to go on a business trip and he stayed at a Peabody hotel and took a video of the ducks to show me. I want to see it in person now! πŸ™‚ That street looks awesome!

  18. Pingback: First week of Summer & some Link Love » The Norwegian GirlThe Norwegian Girl

  19. Ahhh, love that song!

    And the pic of you ladies in the blinged out cowgirl hats? Awesome!

Leave a Reply

