Memphis Zoo!

The Memphis Zoo is fabulous! I take the kids I nanny there often. And I’m not the only one who thinks the Memphis Zoo is great. In 2008, it was ranked as America’s #1 zoo by Trip Advisor! And in 2009 it was ranked the top zoo in the country by Morey Associates. In fact, the famous lion roar at the beginning of MGM movies was actually recorded at the Memphis Zoo! {sources for all that info here}. So obviously, we had to take our family there to show it off! 😉

memphis zooThe Memphis Zoo!

memphis zooMy in-laws inside the zoo! Like the Egyptian theme? Get it, we are in Memphis and the original Memphis is in Egypt… nifty, huh? 😉

memphis zooSome of the animals at the Memphis Zoo! 🙂 Isn’t the Panda cute? Oh, and the tiger was being fed while we were there which is why he is in stalk-mode. And the lion is actually yawning, not roaring, but the picture is still pretty cool. 😉

brothers at the zooChristopher and his brother, Michael, sharing a laugh

christopher break timeWe stopped at the Teton Trek lodge for a quick water/bathroom break. Christopher took that opportunity to kick back and relax. As a side note, that’s actually my camera bag that Christopher is holding. He toted it all around the zoo for me ’cause he’s good like that. 😀

christopher dad zooLike father, like son. 😉

Happy Friday, friends!

Love Rach

32 responses to “Memphis Zoo!

  1. Yup, I definitely want to visit Memphis! I love going to zoos! I’ve only been to one in Washington D.C., Pittsburgh, and Tampa!

    • Oh girl, yes! You’ll love the Memphis Zoo! I always forget just how cool it is until we have friends from out of town come to visit and they rave about how great it is. I have a pass here so I can take the kiddos whenever I want so it’s easy to take it for granted. Anyway, I will definitely bring you here when you come visit! 🙂

  2. Great pictures! I have this on my list of things to do…

  3. We loooove the zoo! Those are some seriously good pictures! 🙂

  4. That last picture is great! What a fun Zoo, I had no idea this was such a famous place!

    • I honestly didn’t either until I was doing research on it to send to a friend. I just have always known that I loved the zoo here. I didn’t grow up in Memphis, but when I was a kid, I would visit my grandparents here over the summers and they would always bring us to this zoo. So it definitely holds a lot of great memories for me. 🙂

  5. I love Zoos! They never get old. Your animal pictures are so good!

  6. Zoos are so amazing, and they don’t lose their fun the older I get! 🙂 Animals are just wonderful!

  7. Your zoo does look amazing! I’m not a fan of the zoo here, the animals are never out when I go… but maybe I’ll have to give it another shot.

    • Oh sad! You definitely should come visit our zoo then! The animals are always out. It’s rare that you walk by an exhibit without an animal in it!

  8. my husband LOVES zoos! I’m sure i’ll like them more when we can take our baby there!!

  9. How fun! I haven’t been to a zoo in such a long time.

  10. I LOVE going to the zoo!!!! If it was ranked # 1, then I think I need to visit your zoo someday. 🙂

  11. i LOVE zoos! i am so jealous, but i’m glad you posted photos so i can live vicariously through you. 🙂

  12. I want to visit this zoo! It looks like so much fun!

  13. I love zoos! I find them just as entertaining as children do. The Memphis zoo looks really nice.

  14. I love visiting the zoo! I haven’t been to one in years though!

  15. I love zoo`s, it´s so fun trying to take cool pictures of all the animals.

  16. We do have a really great zoo.

Leave a Reply

