Memphis Italian Festival {Randy Houser Concert}

This weekend was the Memphis Italian Festival!

memphis italian festWe love coming to the Italian Festival every year! Bocce ball tourney, volleyball tourney, delicious food, different families competing for the best gravy (aka sauce), cooking classes, grape stomping, wine races, Italian Idol (like American Idol), arts and crafts, and LOTS of people watching.

us and kelsiKelsi came with us! It was her first time to the Italian Fest and she had a great time (she even discovered a new favorite band)!

garibaldis and colettasOur Memphis Italian Fest staples are pepperoni pizza from Garibaldi’s and bread from Coletta’s! SO good! πŸ™‚

pronto pupsPronto Pups! This was new for us. I’ve heard people rave over these, but never had actually tried one. They coat the footlong corndog in a delicious mustard. Next time I see them at a fair, I will definitely stop by for another Pronto Pup!

people's choice gravyWe got to vote in the People’s Choice gravy (spaghetti sauce) competition. They were all so delicious! Funnily enough, Christopher and I had almost opposite rankings on the sauces!

bocce mudCheck out all that mud! Every other year we’ve attended the Italian Festival, it has been super hot, but this year it was only in the 80’s and it rained most of the weekend making TONS of mud. Our feet were covered! However, in the five hours we were at the festival, it only sprinkled on us twice!

sunsetIt was overcast the whole time we were there until just at sunset when the sun began to do this. It was pretty amazing to see. πŸ™‚

Β We got to see The Owens Sisters and they were amazing! They harmonize together so beautifully! They sang a lot of great covers including “Jolene” (the clip above).

eddie smith bandWe also got to hear the Eddie Smith Band which is Kelsi’s new favorite!

Β And the headliner of the event – Randy Houser! He sang some great songs (including “Going Out With My Boots On” and “How Country Feels”), but I wasn’t super impressed with the amount of language he used at such a family oriented event. Other than that, though, I really enjoyed getting to hear him play!

All in all, Memphis Italian Festival 2013 was a huge success despite the mud and cloudy skies! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

38 responses to “Memphis Italian Festival {Randy Houser Concert}

  1. That looks like a great time!

  2. I love this! I have never been to an Italian festival before and I’m Italian! I laughed every time you said gravy. Sometimes I forget that normal people don’t know that means sauce. That’s the way I grew up saying it. The food looks amazing. I want all of it!! I need to fine one of these near me!

  3. I love the sunset/cloud picture. That is too cool! Also, taste testing is amazing haha. I would love that!

  4. Your city always has such fun events! I love it!

  5. I want to judge a sauce competition!!! That sounds like something I (in my objective opinion) would be quite good at really.

    • I bet you’d be great at it! I kept laughing at Christopher and I since we had such different taste profiles. It helped me finally understand why we can’t pick a favorite gravy recipe to make at home! πŸ˜‰

  6. Fun, fun, and more fun! This post made me hungry haha. It is lunch time and I want a pronto pup!

  7. I did not know that Italian people call marinara sauce “gravy.” I’m glad that you told me! If I had been there, and someone had offered me some gravy, I would have been like, “But I don’t have any biscuits to put it on!” Just the other day my husband (who keeps forgetting that just because we live up north now doesn’t mean I know the lingo) was asking me if I wanted “jimmies” on my ice cream cone. He was baffled that I didn’t know that “jimmies” are sprinkles. The only time I’ve ever heard the word “jimmy” used (other than the name) is when someone has a door that’s tricky to unlock, and they say something like, “You have to jimmy it to get it open.”

    Now I have one more strange northern/Italian word in my vocabulary! πŸ˜€

    • Haha! It’s crazy how there are dialect differences all over the States. If it makes you feel better, I’ve never heard of sprinkles being called “jimmies” until now. I’ll add that to my list of words to remember when talking to one of my friends from the North East. πŸ˜‰

  8. I love festivals! This one looks so fun! Haha yes I would have asked where the biscuits were too. πŸ™‚

  9. Love me some country music!!! So obviously I loved this post! πŸ˜‰

  10. Ps: Italian Festival!!! I might be a Boudreaux now but I was originally a Cirotto….They need to bring this to Austin! πŸ˜‰

  11. Sounds like such fun! There is a very popular Italian festival in WIlmington, DE every year. I was not sure if we wanted to make the (not terribly long) hike, but you may have just inspired me!

  12. That looks so fun! We have pronto pups at the beach in Oregon… wonder if it’s the same one?

  13. Italian festival?! That sounds amazing!! My mom is full blooded Italian and would LOVE it there! Especially the sauce contest, though, I bet hers is better πŸ˜‰

  14. the festival looks like so much fun! And just the thing for your Italian family!
    All the food looks sooo good!

  15. Oh looks like fun!

  16. The fest looks fab- such yumminess and oh that sunset shot! What a treat πŸ™‚

  17. That Italian festival looks like a great time! So many yummy things to eat πŸ™‚

  18. This looks like so much fun! I would be so stoked to be surrounded by all that Italian food haha.

  19. Ψ―Ψ§Ω†Ω„ΩˆΨ― ΩΫŒΩ„Ω…

    Very good

Leave a Reply

