Kid Food

So several weeks ago we had “kid food” night with my teen girls. I’m not sure how I didn’t get around to posting about it until now. It was their last Thursday of exams and I felt like they needed a little throw-back to earlier days. So before you start judging me for buying, preparing, and serving unhealthy junk food… let’s just remember that whole “all things in moderation” thing. πŸ˜‰

goldfish penguinsWe started off with some Penguins {like “Goldfish” but cuter!}

mac and cheeseΒ And of course you have to have the classic orange-powdered Mac & Cheese.

dino chicken nuggetsAnd chicken nuggets in the shape of DINOSAURS!

mini corn dogsAnd of course these adorable little corn dogs which are so easy to make. Just pour corn bread mix into mini muffin man and put a small piece of hotdog in the centers. Bake like normal for muffins, then serve! {original recipe here}

kid foodAre you sensing a trend? Yes, indeed, it is ALL the same color! Mac & cheese, “Goldfish,” chicken nuggets, french fries, and corn dogs.

jelloAnd for dessert… what could be better kid food than Jello? πŸ˜‰

A couple of my girls tease me for always making such healthy food all the time so they were more than a little surprised when they walked in the door to all of this. To tell you the truth, I was a little surprised myself. πŸ˜‰ I’m not sure why, though. Honestly, I grew up eating wholesome homemade dinners so quick-and-easy lunches that included things like Mac & Cheese and Chef Boyardee (ravioli and dinos were the BEST!) weren’t really the end of the world. I certainly turned out alright. πŸ˜‰

little RachAnd since we’re having a throw-back moment… here’s me as a little.

Happy Friday, friends! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

 

40 responses to “Kid Food

  1. Awe you are an adorable baby girl! I bet the girls had a blast!

  2. oh. my. gosh i want a kid food night!!!
    Great idea and i’m sure it was a lot of fun!

  3. Cute idea! I’ve made those corndog muffins and I love, love them!

  4. Oh my gosh, I seriously LOVE this idea!! I need to have one of these nights with my girlfriends!

  5. Sometimes you just gotta kick back and enjoy some comfort food! You are too cute you little angel you!

  6. yep so you were officially always cute! (like there was ever a doubt!)

    ughh i could totally go for corndogs! YUM! lou and i had a conversation the other night the was like, we cant wait for kids so we can enjoy all their great food without feeling guilty πŸ™‚

  7. I LOVE this dinner theme. How creative and fun and delicious. Oh and I’m totally making those corndog muffins soon. Yum!

  8. what a fun dinner theme:-) And I agree, itΒ΄s all about moderation and balance. Eating food like this is ok when you usually eat healthy food. And what a cute little girl you were! simply adorable!:-)

  9. You are the freaking CUTEST in that picture! Look at those curls πŸ™‚ And that is the most adorable dinner idea. Chicken nuggets and mac and cheese was my favorite combination. Dino nuggets rock!

    • Aww thanks, friend! πŸ™‚ And yeah, dino nuggets are pretty cool! I actually wasn’t a huge fan of chicken nuggets growing up, but the little boy I nanny LOVES dino nuggets so I’ve had them as an adult. They’re pretty good! And my girls loved them, haha!

  10. Oh my gosh I love the kid food theme! That looks like so much fun, such a great idea for this time of year too.

  11. I know it’s crazy how I too turned out normal though with a similar diet! I guess it’s all in moderation like you said.

  12. This is too cute!! I forgot about chicken dinos haha. And you were such a cute little!

  13. Are those Savoritz??!!! I just tried them last weekend, and I LOVE them! I am so trying those corn dogs.

  14. yum!! πŸ™‚ how fun to eat comfort food πŸ™‚ i’m sure they loved it!

  15. uh yum! I always joke that all my favorite foods are orange…and unhealthy. Haha what a fun night!

  16. This is such a fun and awesome idea!! Macaroni and Cheese and Jello, love!!

  17. That photo of you!!!!! P-R-E-C-I-O-U-S ❀

  18. I want to come over next time you have kid food night! How fun!! I adore all of these foods, especially the neon orange mac n’ cheese. Kraft was my absolute favorite when I was little; in fact, I’d always make a specific request for “macaroni FROM A BOX” on my birthday, just to be sure than my mom didn’t try to sneak her homemade (and much healthier) version to the table. πŸ˜‰

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend, Rach! ❀ xoxo

  19. This is adorable Rach! I totally grew up on Kraft!

  20. I love that you made all kid friendly foods! I used to eat that stuff when I was little too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

