Happy Father’s Day!

In honor of Father’s Day, I want to share a few of the things I’ve learned from my dad over the years.

dad collageOne of the most important things I learned from my dad was to serve. When we were younger, my dad would take my siblings and I to the homes of elderly neighbors. We would visit with them and hear all about their children and grandchildren and life stories. And then we would mow their yards and do whatever housework we could help out with. Truth be told… I really didn’t like this growing up. But… truth be told now, I am so grateful for it. My dad introduced me to what it really means to serve those in our communities. To look after the widows and helpless. To love and serve and listen without expecting anything in return.

great wallI also learned from my dad that it’s never too late to follow a dream. He was in his 40’s when he left his career managing restaurants and went back to college to finish a degree he had quit on 20 years prior. It was while he was in college in his 40’s that he and my mom decided to move our family overseas.

mom and dadI’ve heard it said that the best way to show love to your children is to love their mother. And he does that. My mom could certainly hold her own when we were growing up (she wasn’t exactly a damsel in distress waiting for dad to do the disciplining), but Lord help the child who spoke disrespectfully to our mother in front of our father. He loves her, defends her, respects her, and cherishes her.

dad silly and grandkidsMy dad isn’t a super emotive kind of man. He doesn’t cry much or get overly exuberant. He’s steady and often quiet. Unless of course you start talking about God or China… in which case he has plenty to say. 😉 I will say, that watching my dad become a grandfather has been fun. Where he might have been more reserved before, he acts silly in order to get a laugh from a grandchild. {exhibit A: the pink furry scarf on his head // exhibit B: all six of his grandkids}

family picMy parents with their five children, three son-in-laws, one daughter-in-law, and six grandchildren. 🙂 {I know I use this family picture all the time, but it just makes me laugh so much… can’t help it, haha!}

me with dadHappy Father’s Day, Dad!

Love Rach

33 responses to “Happy Father’s Day!

  1. Case and point- she’s been known to break a few wooden spoons when disciplining! Hahaha!!!

  2. What a sweet tribute to your Dad!!! He sounds like a wonderful guy. 🙂

  3. Such a sweet post!

  4. This is such a great twist on the traditional fathers/mothers day posts! I LOVE IT! You and your father are two lucky people to have each other!

  5. This is such a beautiful post, friend! 🙂

  6. It makes me melt when I see other women who genuinely appreciate their family and father. Have a wonderful day!

  7. Aww! He looks like an amazing dad! Happy Papa Day 🙂

  8. I teared up reading this. So sweet Rachel. Happy Father’s Day to your dad!!

  9. Cute!! Your dad seems like such a great guy! Love that he would take you to serve others…such a wonderful example!

  10. that’s so sweet and your dad seems so awesome! i know you’ve learned so much from him, and will continue to do so! i wish i had so many pics with my dad or step-dad!

  11. Aww, very sweet post! Your dad seems like a wonderful man 🙂

  12. Aw – SUCH cute photos of you and your dad 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  13. littlekitchie

    Oh my goodness, SUCH a sweet post! Hope you had a great father’s day!

  14. Ahhh, I love all the old pictures (and the more recent ones – that family photo with the little guy sprinting away from the group cracks me up everytime). What a wonderful father to grow up with!

  15. This is so sweet and so filled with love! Hooray for such a great tribute to a great dad!

  16. This post is SO lovely. I think your dad rocks for teaching you to serve and everything else. He seems very awesome and I love the family photo LOL.

  17. Such a beautiful post!! I was actually really encouraged by all the fathers day blog post and facebook status love this year. Trying to find a nice fathers day card is difficult, when so many of the ones in the store communicate disrespect and broken relationships. I love seeing people love their Dad’s! I’ll bet your Dad loved reading this post too 🙂

    • Even more difficult for me has been finding great mother-in-law cards. I love my mom-in-law and it makes me sad that so many of the cards are just poking jokes or backhanded compliments. So I definitely know what you mean!

  18. Pingback: #thankful |

Leave a Reply

