It’s My Birthday!!

Today is my 26th birthday! My my how time flies! Over this past weekend my mom gave me a box of mementos from when I was a wee little one. So in honor of my birthday I thought I’d share some of the sweet highlights. 🙂

baby calendarMy mom kept a calendar for the first year of my life. She wrote down sweet memories, fun happenings, and both big and little milestones.

I first smiled at 7.5 weeks.
I laughed at 10 weeks.
I slept through the night at 8 weeks (you’re welcome, Mom and Dad).
I turned over at 4 months and sat up alone at 5.5 months.
Began to crawl at 8 months and took my first step at 10.5 months.
I was potty trained in a week at age 2 (again, you’re welcome Mom and Dad).
I loved hearing my dad sing to me and by age 2 I was singing everywhere I went.

baby bookAlong with the calendar, Mom also kept this baby book for me. As you can see, it’s stuffed full of little extras. Report cards and honor roll certificates and art projects and little stories I wrote as a child.

first house and nurseryIn the book there were even photos of the first house I lived in and my nursery. I was too young to remember this home because we left when I was still a baby, but I thought it was so sweet to see my first little nursery. 🙂

dad's hospital shirt Mom also kept Dad’s hospital shirt. This is the scrubs top he wore when I was born 26 years ago. The back says: Baptist Memorial Hospital East “We Deliver” which is pretty cute because you know… they deliver babies. 😉

Alrighty, I’m off for now! Tomorrow I will update you on all the fun ways we celebrated my birthday! 🙂 Have a happy my birthday day! 🙂
Love Rach

47 responses to “It’s My Birthday!!

  1. A VERY happy birthday to you!
    What a great box of momentos. Thanks for sharing all your “baby tricks”.
    Have a wonderful day and another blessed year!

  2. Happy Birthday!! Those are such sweet things to have! I hope you have a wonderful day!

  3. happy birthday, pretty girl!! hope it’s a wonderful, blessed year!

  4. Happy birthday, sweet friend! You are wise beyond 26 years for sure! I really look up to you as an example of an amazing Christian woman and wife. Hope you have a GREAT day!

  5. How cute! Happy birthday to you and I hope you have a great day!

  6. Happy Birthday, my fellow Leo! Here’s my gift to you … (it’s short and painless, I promise!) http://wp.me/3swsV

  7. These are such fun and sweet mementos!!

    Happy birthday! Your beauty and kindness simply radiate out of you – even to someone like me who doesn’t even know you in “real” life. I hope this day is absolutely perfect.

  8. Happy Birthday! What sweet mementos – I have a baby book that my mom gave to me when I turned 25, and I treasure it!

  9. Happy Happy 26th Birthday!!! 🙂 🙂
    I love that they kept all of that (especially the shirt) how cool!

  10. Happy Birthday!! What a sweet book that your parents kept. 🙂

  11. Happy birthday, Rach!! Love this little recap! I hope the world is a great to you on your big day as you are to everyone you meet! 🙂

  12. 2harrellsonhood

    Girl we are life twins!! Well, kinda–my bday is just under 6 months away… But my parents bought me the same calendar!! Unfortunately they didn’t stick with it like yours did. (Curse of being the 2nd child I guess 🙂 my first month is packed, then it slowly stops all together so it’s kinda just a calendar. 🙂

    Anyways… Happy birthday! Hope you have a wonderful day, you deserve it!

    • Haha! Hooray for being life-twins! 😀 I’m actually the 4th of 5 kids so you would think that they would be lacking documentation on my early years, but my parents were really good about that sort of thing. I have tons of photos and video from those years not to mention all this baby stuff that I had no idea my mom had kept! I just love it. 🙂 I hope I’m good about this when I have kiddos someday!

  13. optimistichealth

    Happy Birthday! This means by now your prefrontal cortex is fully formed which is the decision making center. Let me know how life on the other side 😉

  14. Happy birthday sweet friend!

  15. Happy Birthday! How cool of your mom to share these treats with you. I love the scrubs shirt too. I hope that today has been amazing!

  16. happy birthday to you! hope you had a great day celebrating and what a cute way for your mom to keep such special memories! 🙂

  17. Happy Birthday!!!! Love that your mom kept all of these things. So sweet. Hope you enjoyed YOUR day. 🙂

  18. Happy Birthday Rachel!!! I hope you had the most wonderful day! You deserve it! 🙂

  19. Happy (belated) birthday Rach! Hope it was wonderful!!

  20. my my my!!!!! I can’t tell you how terrible I feel because I’m SUPER late to this post!!!! 😦 So sorry, but hope you had a great birthday Rach!!! I’m off to go read your other birthday update posts!!! My belated wishes to you 🙂 🙂 So blessed to have found your blog!!!!! 🙂

  21. I know this is soooo late, but I had to wish you a belated happy birthday:-)

Leave a Reply

