Birthday Recap!

I had SUCH a great birthday yesterday! Here’s a recap of my favorite day-time moments via Facebook posts:

roses and starbuckswith donna

ciao bellaChristopher took me  to Ciao Bella and oh my gracious it was amazing! Definitely our new favorite Italian place in Memphis! I will update all about it soon! 🙂

Funny side note, Christopher plays basketball over lunch every day so when Tony texted to ask if he would be there yesterday here is the conversation that took place:

text msgOh goodness this cracked me up! This message got passed around to everyone yesterday, haha! Christopher is notorious for sending messages without reading them first. He once texted me that he “showered” a coworker (instead of “showed” them). Ah, just love him. 😉

Then yesterday evening all our best friends here in Memphis came over to party with us!

besties!Most of the time when I’m talking about our friends here in Memphis, it’s someone in this shot. Of all the people we hang out with in Memphis, these are the ones we’re always around! Definitely our Memphis besties! 🙂

As a random side note, I always feel really awkward when people sing Happy Birthday to me. I think it’s because everyone is staring at me and I’m not quite sure where to look or what to do (is it weird to sing along?). Anyway, last night I thought I might have gotten away with only candles and no singing, but as this video proves… there was plenty of singing:

 Things to notice about this video: (1) how awkward I look when I don’t know what to do while everyone is singing to me – I promise I really was grateful for the happy birthday wishes, I just wasn’t sure what to do, haha! (2) my fear of my hair catching on fire when I blow out my candles (3) my second awkward face as I attempt to wave all the smoke away from the cake (4) the glee I exhibit when the tables are turned and we are suddenly singing for Christopher (in celebration of his graduation) (5) the third awkward moment when I realized that both Tony and I forgot part of the words to the song and we laugh at each other.

bestiesAnd I’ll end with this shot. These are the girls I talk about all the time on the blog. So just for reference: Abigail, Courtney, Mandy, (Hadley, haha!) Lilly, Whitney, me, Heather, Heather, and Lyndal. 🙂 Yes, there are two Heathers and yes they are standing side-by-side, haha! These ladies are some of my best friends. I can’t even begin to tell you guys how grateful I am for them. 🙂

It was certainly the happiest of birthdays. 🙂
Love Rach

36 responses to “Birthday Recap!

  1. Hahahahahahaha his text had me laughing so hard! If we were in Memphis we would be in that pic! I just know it! I’m glad you had a good bday! Gift in route now!

    • Haha! I know! I laughed so hard when I saw it! And YES! Of course you guys would be in that photo! When I told Christopher that he needed to read the texts you had sent me on my birthday (because I thought they were the sweetest thing ever!) he was all “Oh! Are they about how we are all such good friends now? ‘Cause Alan and I are friends too!” I am so glad that our husbands got along so well too. 🙂 So yes, of course you guys would be part of our photo of Memphis besties if you were here. Next time we see you guys, we need to be sure to get a photo of all five of us together! 🙂

  2. hilarious! hope your day was magnificent in every way ❤

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! I love that video, I am the SAME way with singing, and I HATE when I would go out to eat for my birthday and someone would secretly tell the waiter that it was my birthday.

    • Oh good! I am so glad I’m not the only one, haha! Christopher hates attention on him, but he LOVES to put it all on me. Which normally I don’t mind, but the whole Happy Birthday song thing always confuses me, haha! My family is super cheesy about singing it so it’s hilarious to watch/listen to them. But when normal people sing it, I have no idea what to do with my eyes or mouth or face or anything, ha!

  4. What great group shots! A fantastic celebration it seems to be! That text is awesome hahhaah

  5. i don’t think you look awkward! i think you look pretty! and i just love how christopher is looking at you!

    • Aww, you are sweet to say so! I was cracking up at my awkward head bob back and forth while they were singing. Ah, good times. You’re right, though, it’s sweet how Christopher is looking at me! I should focus on that instead. 🙂

  6. Happy birthday!!! So glad you had such a fun day! 🙂

  7. I am the same way during the happy birthday song. What are you supposed to do?! Happy Belated Birthday!! So glad you had a great day!

  8. optimistichealth

    What a great day! Haha about the Happy Birthday song- I get so awkward as well. So cute!

  9. Happy belated Birthday! It certainly looks like you had a fantastic time! You have a beautiful smile 🙂

  10. So glad you had such an amazing birthday!! That text convo cracks me up!! AND I’m the same way when being sung too…ah where to look, what to do?! Hahahahahahah.

  11. What a great birthday celebration! I love that green top! It’s super cute! 🙂

  12. Pingback: Birthday Eats! |

  13. Ahh, what a wonderful birthday day!! You have an amazing support system, that much is clear. And I’d say they’re blessed to have you!
    I’m totally the same when people sing me happy birthday. I turn bright red and the vein in my forehead pops out. It’s hideous. People are probably tempted to stop singing and run away in terror.
    I love autocorrects on text convos! Sooo funny.

    • Yes, indeed! I am so so so grateful for this group of friends. 🙂 And girl, I hear you! It’s hard to tell because of the coloring in that video, but my face was definitely red too, haha! I normally don’t mind attention, but I am just never quite sure what to do during the Happy Birthday song, ha!

  14. You are just the cutest thing! Happy belated birthday! Looks like you had a really, really special birthday. And that text is a classic!

  15. Oh my word, that TEXT! Hilarious 🙂 Looks like you had a fantastic birthday. And I totally agree about birthday singing awkwardness. I NEVER know what to do with my face haha.

  16. I’m glad you had such a nice birthday! It looks like you really got to celebrate ALL day, which is nice. I’m with you on feeling awkward about the birthday song, especially when it’s in a public place like a restaurant or something, and all of the other patrons turn to look! At least you were at home in your own dining room. 🙂

  17. I’m totally the same way! I always feel so awkward when people sing ‘happy birthday’ to me. Ha, ha!!

    • So many people have commented saying that they feel the same awkwardness that I do during the Happy Birthday song that I looked it up. Turns out this song has been sung to birthday honorees for over 100 years… I’m thinking it won’t end anytime soon, haha!

  18. What a blessing it is to be with friends on your birthday!!! 🙂 And Hadley is the best in the photograph 😉 she managed to steal all my attention from you girls to her!!! 😉 😀

  19. Pingback: Party at our House! |

Leave a Reply

