Pizza Night {finally sharing our pizza recipe!}

Every Friday night that we are in town is pizza & a movie night. It’s one of my favorite traditions that I grew up with and I’m glad that Christopher has whole heartedly embraced it into our own little family as well. πŸ™‚ I’m not sure why it has taken me so long to share our pizza recipe with you guys since we make it nearly every week. I guess it’s mostly because I thought that I might eventually do a fun how-to video to go along with making the pizza, but that definitely hasn’t happened yet and it won’t anytime soon, haha! So I’ve finally decided to just share it with you as it is and then if I ever do get around to making a video then I’ll share that too! πŸ™‚

There are so very many options for pizza crust. Our two favorites are to use artisan bread or focaccia bread. I’ve blogged about usingΒ focaccia bread as pizza crust here, but apparently I haven’t mentioned how we like to use artisan bread as crust sometimes too. So here’s a picture from the last time we did:

artisan bread pizzaAh, there it is in all its glory. Using artisan bread as pizza crust is Christopher’s favorite. He likes how it gives the sauce a chance to really shine. I really like this one too (it’s chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside like pizza crust should be), but I grew up eating focaccia bread as my pizza crust so it’s still my favorite.

focaccia bread pizzaPlus look how good it looks when you use focaccia bread as your crust. Oh me oh my. I love this. So many herbs in the dough itself PLUS the amazing sauce… it’s just fabulous!

basil, oregano, rosemarySo when making the sauce, you start with some fresh herbs! These are all straight from my little garden so they were uber fresh and fragrant. I don’t grow herbs through the winter, though, so I normally just used the dried kind. Still very tasty! I just like the flavors of the fresh when I have it on hand. πŸ™‚

makin' pizza
pizza sauce

After the sauce has time to blend its flavors together, top your prebaked dough with all the sauce you want. {to prebake: 8-10 minutes at 425 for artisan bread or 450 for focaccia bread.} I like a nice thick layer of sauce because it’s my favorite (as seen in the photo above the recipe), but Christopher likes a thinner layer. That’s the great thing about this recipe – it makes two medium pizzas which means we each get to personalize ours however we want and eat the leftovers the next day. πŸ™‚

pizza with fresh mozzoI top my pizza with slices of fresh mozzarella and pepperoni from the deli then let it finish baking until the cheese has melted (about 5-7 minutes). We have only recently discovered the joy that is actual deli-sliced pepperoni. It’s like the difference between prepackaged sandwich meat and what you get behind the deli counter. I’m not sure how no one has ever mentioned this to me before! I highly recommend it.

two pizzasChristopher uses regular mozzo cheese on his pizza and tops it with as much pepperoni as he can. As a side note: we put the pepperoni on top of the cheese so it crisps up more. I like the taste of crispy pepperoni. It does even better if you microwave it for 10 seconds, blot it with a paper towel, toss it on top of the pizza, let it bake until the cheese melts and viola! Super crispy pepperoni!

I hope this isn’t terribly confusing. I know I kind of bounced all over the place with different options, but that’s part of what makes pizza so great. And I didn’t even touch on all the different toppings we like to use or the fact that sometimes Christopher uses the artisan bread to make a giant calzone instead of pizza. Just so many options and they are all delicious. πŸ™‚ Happy pizza making! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

 

42 responses to “Pizza Night {finally sharing our pizza recipe!}

  1. We will have to try this next time we make our traditional homemade pizza! Looks great, thanks for sharing!

  2. Yum yum! That looks and sounds delicious. I love that it is a Friday night tradition for you guys.

  3. Yes yes yes that looks good! Fresh herbs are key!!

  4. This recipe, is PERFECT!!!! I would use a spoon and scoop it right into my mouttthhh!! YUM!

  5. Okay! We are coming to Memphis just to get this! It looks amazing!

  6. You’re KILLING me. That looks amazing. Next time we have a pizza Friday!

  7. I’ve never made homemade pizza before. Always seems like too much work, but this looks worth it!! Also, love that you guys have movie nights! I will definitely be doing the same once I’m married πŸ™‚

    • Oh Liz, you have got to try making homemade pizza! You will love it! Have a few friends over and make it a make-your-own-pizza night by prebaking the crust and letting them each pick their favorite toppings. It’s so fun! πŸ™‚ If you try this recipe definitely let me know! I want to hear how it turns out for you! πŸ™‚

  8. these look so tasty, definitely perfect for a friday! and love using fresh herbs too, adds such fabulous flavor, yummy!

  9. all of your recipes look delicious!
    I’ve actually never made home-made pizza but it looks SO GOOD!

  10. Oh my gosh…YUM! I’ve never made my own sauce before or used either of those breads as crust. Now I am going to have to. Thanks for sharing! And you should still do a how to video sometime for fun. πŸ™‚

  11. Eeeee that is seriously making my mouth water right now. Thanks for the recipe! πŸ˜€

  12. YUMMMMM! Love that you guys have a tradition of pizza night. We made homemade pizza last night with green chiles and bacon… mmm!

  13. We have the 11 year old that I mentor visiting us, and I was hoping to make homemade pizza together, but she doesn’t like pizza!! I can’t wait to just make it with Travis, though!

  14. I love making homemade pizza but I had never made my own crust! I’ve always wanted to try making it. So I think I will try your recipe. πŸ™‚

  15. ahhhh i can almost smell it over here! my tummy is rumbling!

  16. This is such a fun tradition! Those pizzas look so good!

  17. Making homemade pizza is so fun! And all of your ingredient-options look delicious!

  18. Yummy! Just thought I would let you know that I’m reading at work on my lunch break, but the computer here didn’t load all your posts so it’s taking all I have to skip ahead and read out of order. I’m a nut! πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: Remaking our favorite pizza from Vegas! |

  20. Pingback: Pizza on the Grill |

  21. Pingback: Whole Wheat Pizza Dough (can be frozen!) |

  22. Pingback: Quick Pseudo Italian Dinners |

Leave a Reply

