Leavin’ On A Jet Plane

Guess what, guess what!! Tomorrow morning we are headed to ITALY! After years of planning, this feels almost surreal. I can hardly believe it is actually here! I am almost giddy with excitement, haha! So excited in fact that I did something I’ve always wanted to do… I called in to mine and Christopher’s favorite radio station and made a song request… and they aired it! πŸ˜€ So naturally I videoed it. πŸ˜‰

Like how I say “Italeeeee”? Haha! And of course my little “That was me!” squeal at the very end had Christopher cracking up. He didn’t get to hear it live so he was really glad that I videoed it. One of our other friends DID hear it live and immediately texted to ask if he had indeed just heard me on the radio, haha! I love it! πŸ™‚ Anyway, he definitely makes me smile! πŸ™‚

You know what else makes me smile? PACKING FOR ITALY! πŸ˜€

packingAccidental family photos! πŸ˜‰ I was trying to take photos of Christopher and I picking out what we wanted to wear for the flight (yay yoga pants!), but Oreo decided he wanted to be in the photos too. πŸ˜‰ I’m gonna miss my little mutt!

clothesWe sorted all of our clothes by color and laid them out on each side of the bed. Then we matched outfits that coordinated so we wouldn’t clash on any given day and put them in gallon sized freezer bags.

clothes in freezer bagsClothes rolled up in gallon sized bags. We could’ve just packed separately, but we didn’t want to have to spend time each morning thinking about what we’d be doing that day and picking an outfit and then realizing that we clashed, haha! Instead we went through our itinerary last night and packed each bag according to what we’d be doing that day.

bag for cinque terreHere’s an example of a bag. On this particular day we’ll be swimming so we have swimsuits & cover ups packed for that day. And a second bag packed with a change of clothes for after we come in from the beach.

international travel survival kitMy parents who travel overseas often gave us this little survival kit. It’s been 9 years since I last traveled overseas regularly so it is nice to get current travel advice from people in the know. πŸ™‚

bagsAll packed up and ready to go!

Oreo Sun BathingThis trip will officially be the longest I have ever been away from Oreo. We have a GREAT house/dog sitter who we love and trust, but I still am going to miss him so much! So in the words of John Denver: “So kiss me and smile to me. Tell me that you’ll wait for me. Hold me like you’ll never let me go. ‘CauseΒ I’m leavin’ on a jet plane. Don’t know when I’ll be back again. Oh Oreo, I hate to go…” {okay so maybe J.Denver’s actual lyrics say “babe” not “Oreo,” but I took a little artistic license to edit it πŸ˜‰ }

But as much as I am going to miss the pup, I am super crazy excited to go! It’s like when I was traveling as a teen. I was always sad to leave, but also always excited to go!

us in italy attireThis is us from a couple of hours ago! Wearing our Italy shirts and finishing up the last minute details! Adventure awaits, my friends!

Love Rach

48 responses to “Leavin’ On A Jet Plane

  1. Oh take lots of pictures! I’m jealous…. ENJOY! I can’t wait to read of your adventures…
    Safe and happy travels.
    Bon voyage!

  2. AWWWWW!!!!!!!!! You have NO idea how excited I am that your trip to Italy is here! Ha,ha. I have always wanted to go (and it’s pretty much my sister’s DREAM to visit someday). So I am SO crazy excited about future pics and blog posts!!!! πŸ™‚ Have FUN!!!!!!

  3. I so excited for y’all!!!! I hope to see lots of pictures!!! Miss y’all!

  4. This is adorable!! πŸ™‚ How amazing is it that you’re going to Italy!!! πŸ™‚ I’m so pumped for you!!!

  5. How exciting!! Hope you have a great time and a safe trip! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  6. I hope y’all have an amazing time! It’s on my wish list one day to go.

  7. You are SOOO CUTE! OH my gosh I cannot stand it!!! THIS IS SO EXCITING!! I cannot wait to see all the pictures and adventures you guys have!! ENJOY!

  8. Have so, so, so, so much fun Rach! I can’t wait to hear all about your trip! Yay Italy!!!!!!!!

  9. It remebers me when I was movimg to Colombia
    Kisses
    Aga

    http://www.agasuitcase.com

  10. What fun! I hope that you both have an amazing time. I like that you packed your clothes together. It makes perfect sense. Why waste time figuring out what to wear when you can be enjoying Italy? Enjoy every moment!

    • We were ESPECIALLY glad that we packed our clothes together when one of our bags got lost! So instead of only one of us having all our clothes and the other not having any, we both had about half of our clothes so we just did laundry halfway through the trip and it was fine. πŸ™‚

  11. how exciting!! i hope you have a wonderful time!!! can’t wait to hear and see pictures!

  12. Aweee love the request!!! And what genius packing!

  13. Have an amazing time in Italy! I can’t wait to read your recaps!! Great ideas with the packing! πŸ™‚

  14. This is so exciting! And look how super organized you are! I got to go on a ten-day-across Europe trip with a bunch of classmates when I was in high school, and I am dying to go back! I thought Florence was somehow more romantic than Paris, with little twinkle lights and guys singing on the street corners to the people eating in cafes…just like Lady and the Tramp! πŸ™‚ You guys will have an awesome time!

  15. YAY!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about it!
    Y’all are going to have so much fun! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    PS love how organized y’all are!!

  16. It’s been my DREAM to go to Italy too! So happy for you guys! Have a blast!

  17. So exciting!!! Definitely on my top places to visit in this life, enjoy and have a blast!!!

  18. YEAH!! Have a great trip and can’t wait to hear about it when you get back!

  19. Hope you are having an AMAZING time!!

  20. Have SO MUCH FUN!! I am super jealous of your amazing trip! Can’t wait to see the pics πŸ™‚

  21. Eeeek! Hope you guys are having an amazing trip!! So jealous πŸ™‚

  22. so happy for you guys that you get to experience Italy! CanΒ΄t wait to read about your trip and all the amazing food!!

  23. I’m so glad you took a video of the song requesting adventure!! I’m learning so much more about you by reading your blog! I love it!! I think it’s hilarious that you matched the entire time you were gone and planned it before you left. Love ya! πŸ™‚

    • Glad you are learning more about me (and enjoying it)! πŸ™‚ Well, we intended to coordinate outfits, but half of our clothes were missing so really we didn’t have quite as many fabulous combinations as we would have if we’d had both bags. Love you too, Lill!

  24. Gosh!!! I’m reading this post super late!! I didn’t even get to wish you guys a happy journey….but hope you are having a good time…and this is sooo sweet!!!! My best wishes to the cutest couple I know!!!! ❀

Leave a Reply

