The Ruins of Pompeii

Pompeii is just a short 30 minute train ride from Naples so we jetted over there for an afternoon and spent four hours exploring the ruins. Once a thriving Roman city, it all ended abruptly when Mt Vesuvius erupted in 79AD and covered everything in ash. It was rediscovered in 1599, but only really began to be properly evacuated inΒ 1863. Since then it has been one of Italy’s top tourist destinations. It was so surreal to actually walk through a city preserved from the past. Like a time warp almost. Both Christopher and I have always loved ancient Roman history so this was unbelievably cool to us.

pompeii (5)Pompeii with Mt. Vesuvius in the background

pompeii rick stevesWe used Rick Steve’s book all through out Italy and it was especially helpful at Pompeii. We used his guided tour and it was super cool to have him tell us all about everything we were seeing. Also, we had heard people talk about how miserably hot Pompeii is so we did our best to walk from shady spot to shady spot (note Christopher stopping in the shade to check the next place we are supposed to go) and we drank lots of water. For us, Pompeii was a breeze. We never got too hot. So either the weather cooperated with us or our shade/water plan was brilliant. πŸ˜‰

pompeii (14)Ancient streets

pompeii (4)Columns left from the Temple of Jupiter

pompeii (13)Us on old Roman roads

pompeii (10)HAVE : “Hail To You” (an ancient form of an welcome mat)

pompeii (3)Walking through the ruins was so surreal

pompeii bakeryAn ancient bakery

pompeii (25)Ruins and Mt. Vesuvius

pompeiiOld streets and their forum

pompeii dogsThere were stray dogs all over Pompeii. Christopher was worried I would try and take one home. I hate seeing strays and am notorious for picking them up and finding homes for them. He kept telling me that these dogs wouldn’t fit in my suitcase, haha! They all seemed well fed and happy, though. I’m guessing the number of tourists that come through here keep them well fed. πŸ˜‰

pompeii (17)Can you believe those columns were covered in volcanic ash for 1500 years and they are still this intact?! It was amazing!

pompeii (23)Us at Pompeii

Pompeii was incredible. We had so much fun walking through the streets and discovering an ancient Roman city! Up next we headed to actual ROME which was our favorite city overall! I am SO excited to write about all of that goodness tomorrow!
Love Rach

23 responses to “The Ruins of Pompeii

  1. That is so awesome. πŸ˜€ *sigh*

    -Tia β™₯

  2. That is amazing that the buildings are still intact! Ready for Rome!

  3. This looks like such a cool place to visit. So amazing it still stands after so long and going through so much. I’m the same as you with strays…that breaks my heart, but at least they seem happy. Great pictures!

  4. This is weird, but I’ve always wondered if people that travel overseas use travel guides! Now I know some people do!! Haha.. anyways!

    The stray dogs are so, so cute. I think I would have tried to take one home, too!

    I LOVE the last picture! Beautiful!

    • Oh girl, we definitely did! I actually did about 3/4ths of the planning on my own before reading his book, but I wish I had just started with his book. You really could just use his advice to plan a whole trip! I did SO much research that I didn’t need to if I had just read his book first, haha! But yes, we are huge Rick Steves’ fans! πŸ™‚

  5. Stunning! I am always floored when I am surrounded by history. It is completely surreal. I would have a hard time leaving a stray pup behind. I’m a tough case now. I leave food out for the birds, the bunnies, and the stray cats in our neighborhood. I also foster for the humane society. My husband says I’m a loveable softy or is that sucker? πŸ™‚

    • It really is SO surreal! Rome was where it hit us the hardest. I updated a little about that today, but tomorrow I will talk more about it when I blog about visiting some of our favorite sites. It was awesome! And I think it’s totally sweet that you take care of animals! πŸ™‚

  6. WOW!! Amazing girl:) I LOVED Pompeii too! And Rick Steve’s is the BEST travel book ever! I use him everywhere I go in Europe:) Love you!

  7. Amazing! And you cracked me up about wanting to take a stray dog home… Miles is always scared I’m going to do the same thing πŸ™‚

  8. I would looove to visit Pompeii someday! IΒ΄m a total history geek, so this would be just the thing for me to see in Italy. Must be so cool being there and imagining how people lived their lives in Pompeii.

  9. Soooo crazy that a place like Pompeii exists. And soooo exciting that you got to explore it.

  10. You have wonderful quality pictures!!!! The skies look amazing!!! And so do the two of you ❀

  11. How exciting that you got to explore an ancient city! And it’s cute that you were being friendly with the stray dogs. When we lived in China, I was always feeding little hotdogs to stray cats. One time during winter, Justin even lured a stray orange cat into our apartment (which was pretty impressive since we lived on the sixth floor), and the cat wasn’t even interested in food. All he wanted to do was snuggle and warm up. It broke my heart. 😦 I wanted to keep him!

  12. Pingback: Bringing Italy to our Christmas Tree |

Leave a Reply

