Bella Roma {Vow Renewal}

After an amazing day seeing Rome, we got dressed up and began walking toward Aventine Hill in Rome. We had heard that there was a great view over the city and we were hoping to find a semi secluded spot to renew our vows. However, on the way, we passed the Circus Maximus. It looked so lovely in its wild, abandoned state. Wildflowers grew down the side of the hill and the ruins of the Roman forum and Palatine Hill stood behind it. We both just knew. This was the perfect spot. Secluded and beautiful and surrounded by history. πŸ™‚

vow renewalWhile I was getting the camera out of the bag, Christopher walked over and started picking wild flowers. My heart pitter pattered as I watched him. He has such a sweet spirit and I just love that about him. He presented me with a hand picked bouquet of flowers. The most beautiful ones I’ve ever seen.

vow renewal

vow renewal

vow renewal

vow renewalRach, standing here today holding your hands makes me think back to five years ago when we held hands as best friends in front of our friends and family. On that day, our wedding day, we pledged to love each other forever and these hands have continued to fulfill that promise. These are the hands that hold yours during our many prayers of thankfulness. With these same hands we have built a home together, cherished one another, and been on numerous adventures. And now after five years of marriage these will be the hands that will hold our future children as we build a family. Rach, I swear that I will never stop loving you. I will never give up on us. You are so amazing that I will never get used to you. You will always have my heart. You have entranced me with your spirit and captivated me with your mind. You love God and have such a passion to love and help those around you.Β Rach, you know that I have eyes for you alone. You are my only. I vow to love you forever and always and to never stop telling you just how much I love you. I vow to help you love life. I vow to always do my best to bring you closer to God.Β 

vow renewal My dearest Christopher, trying to sum up what you mean to me, how much I love you, and how much you inspire me is such an overwhelming task. Not because I am unsure, but because after nearly a decade together, I have so much to say! Christopher, you are genuinely my best friend. I love how we laugh together and I love living life with you. Sweet husband, I hope to always help you love life. You treat me with such gentleness and respect. You speak well of me and have eyes only for me. Most importantly you love God and it shows in the way you live life. Through all these things you inspire me to be a better and more Godly person. I love you for all of this and so much more. My love for you grows every day. I vow to show and prove my love to you every day. I vow to never give you a reason to question my love for you. I vow that I will never look elsewhere – my eyes are for you alone. I vow to continue to stand by you through each season of life. I choose you. Always. I will never give up on us. And when our family grows, I vow to cherish each addition. I vow to always do my best to help bring you closer to God.Β 

vow renewalFather, may the road rise to meet us, may the wind always be at our back. May the sunshine warm upon our faces and the rains fall on our fields. May the light of friendship guide our paths together. May the laughter of children grace the halls of our home. Help us always live life full of joy. And when eternity beckons, may You embrace us. But until that final day, hold us in the palm of Your hands. Amen.

Love Rach

54 responses to “Bella Roma {Vow Renewal}

  1. Aww this is so sweet! What great memories you will have when y’all are older.

    • Thanks, friend! I’m thankful for the way that blogging really makes me almost create a digital scrapbook of these adventures together. Makes it easier to remember when I go back and read it. πŸ™‚ Someday when we’re old and gray we can sit in our rockers and read back through all our fun times in Italy. Or even better… BE in Italy again! πŸ˜‰

  2. So beautiful! I love that Christopher made you a bouquet and the photos are so nice! I was tearing up reading what you both said to each other. πŸ™‚ So sweet, Rach!

  3. What a gorgeous spot to renew your vows! I’m all teary eyed (I love weddings and people in love…) reading this.
    Thanks for sharing your special time with all of us.

  4. aaaw! I canΒ΄t help the tears I get from reading these wonderful, precious vows youΒ΄ve given each other!

  5. You both look amazing! Those vows are precious, and it’s just so moving to hear that you’re still crazy about each other five years late. I wish you both five hundred more years of happiness and love! xo

    • Thanks, sweet friend! I remember people telling us early in our marriage that the “honeymoon phase” would wear off quickly and a day would come where we would just tolerate each other. I’m glad they were wrong. I’m not as giddy about everything as I first was when we got married (like the first time he called me “Mrs. *****” or introduced me as his wife), but the love is so much stronger now than it was even on our wedding day. πŸ™‚

      • Why do people always feel the need to be doomsayers like that? When my husband and I were engaged, we had people warning us about all of the possible ways our marriage could fail. So far it hasn’t. πŸ˜› I totally agree with what you said about love growing stronger over time. I loved Justin on the day that we got married, but looking back, it was kind of a new/untested love compared to what we have now, after we’ve been through so much together and really grown some “roots.”

        • Yes, yes, YES! I just met some newly weds at church yesterday and we ended up talking about this and I was encouraging them not to listen to people who tell them that they won’t even like each other after a few years. Like you, I don’t know why people have to be so discouraging like that. I’m glad to have a friend like you to encourage me in my own marriage. πŸ™‚

  6. So beautiful! That location was perfect, I love all the flowers! And your vows were so heartfelt and loving, how awesome you got to renew them!

  7. How absolutely Beautiful! I just love this and that you guys clearly put God in the center of your relationship.

    Happy Five years of marriage!

  8. Unmm hi, tearing up over here!! Christopher’s vows got me..I started to tear. Sooooo unbelievably beautiful..all of it! You both did an amazing job with the vows and I think you two look stunning. I would have had no idea you lost your bags, these outfits look perfect! Bless you both!

    • Oh girl, I hear you! His vows got me too! He has such a sweet soul. And thanks! To tell you the truth – I packed my dress and his shirt in my carry on bag just in case something might happen to the other bag. So these were the clothes we were planning on. It was just my jewelry and hair stuff that I was missing for this day. But hey, a braid is simple and very me. It was a bummer that I couldn’t where my hair down and pretty like I wanted, but I’m pretty okay with out it turned out now. πŸ™‚

  9. So, SO sweet!! I love you guys! I pray that God bless you abundantly in this next year of marriage!

  10. Sweetest post ever. You are beautiful. What a special time for you two!!! πŸ™‚

  11. So sweet!!!

  12. I might start crying… this is too sweet! I love you two!

  13. What a beautiful, beautiful post! Congrats on 5 years of marriage πŸ™‚

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  14. aww..this is so sweet….reading the vows and seeing the photos, I almost got teary eyed!!! Rach and Christopher, God be the head of your family always!! Much love ❀

  15. Ahhh, I got little tear prickles in the corners of my eyes. Beautiful renewal vows!

  16. This post definitely brought a tear to my eye πŸ™‚ So sweet, you two!

  17. I love this so much. You guys are just a beautiful couple. Congrats!!

  18. ah tears! happy tears.
    This is just beautiful.
    Thank you for sharing y’alls renewal of your vows….so inspiring girl! ❀

  19. Pingback: Bella Rome {Vatican City} |

  20. Awww, how beautiful and special<3

  21. I was tearing up reading your vows!! The love, respect, and friendship that you both share is SO precious. And, girl, I don’t know that I’ve told you this yet or not, but my hubby and I are going to do this for the first time this year! It will be our five year anniversary in October, and I suggested to Nate that he and I write vows for each other and read them to each other on a special night, as a vow renewal. (I did totally get the idea from you!). And he loved the idea. I am SO excited to do this with him. πŸ™‚ Thank you for being an inspiration to the rest of us who are married!

    • Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! I love it!! I am so glad that you guys are going to renew your vows this year! That will be absolutely so precious. I can’t wait to read all about it! And I love that Nate loved the idea too! You guys are so sweet together and after everything you have been through (especially in the last year) I know these vows will be especially special. I’m thankful for you guys and your marriage. It’s encouraging to me to see other couples our age loving each other and being supportive of each other. πŸ™‚

  22. Pingback: Bringing Italy to our Christmas Tree |

  23. Pingback: The awesomeness that was 2013 |

  24. Pingback: Top 12 Moments of Our Italy Trip |

  25. Pingback: 3 Random Facts and 5 Questions |

  26. Pingback: The romantic anniversary post |

  27. Pingback: Oh, by the way, I have a blog… |

  28. Pingback: Rome, Italy |

Leave a Reply

