Cinque Terre: Hiking and Exploring

Like I mentioned yesterday, we left Milan at 6:10am so we arrived in La Spezia around 9:30am. While we were waiting for a train to Riomaggiore (the first of the five towns and the one we stayed at) we grabbed some breakfast at the train station. There was a guy there making fresh focaccia bread so I bought it because it’s a fav of mine and Oh My Gracious. Best focaccia bread I’ve had in my life. And I didn’t have my camera out to document it! We were in a hurry and at the train station so I didn’t get it out. So sad. But really believe me – it was AMAZING! So then we hopped on a train and headed the last few minutes into Riomaggiore!

1 riomaggorie (4)Welcome to Riomaggiore! Cinque Terre means “Five Lands” which it was named because there are five small towns all in this same area along the coast.

la baia da rioWe checked into our room at La Baia di Rio. The shot on the left is looking down at the water as we climbed up toward our room. I loved that the water was so clear that you can see the bottom! And the shot on the top right is the view from our balcony. Um, yes, gorgeous.

1 riomaggorie (2)We started at Lover’s Lane in Riomaggiore. Like many places in Italy, there were locks on the bridge placed there by lovers. Unfortunately due to a mud slide we weren’t able to walk to Manarola (town 2!) so we hopped on a boat and cruised over (the boats run regularly and are inexpensive).

2 Manarola (4)Us in Manarola! Don’t you just love all these towns? They are so precious!

manarolaManarola! We explored for a little while and then since the trail was closed to Corniglia (town 3) we hopped on a train (which like the boats, run regularly and are cheap).

alberto in cornigliaWe explored the town for a bit and stopped in at Alberto’s Gelateria where we got what Christopher claims to be the BEST gelato of the trip! We both got dark chocolate and coffee. This was actually the only time I ate dairy on the trip. I had one little medicine packet to help me digest dairy (all the others were in the checked bag – so yes, because the airline lost our bag, I didn’t get to eat dairy other than this one time). I was a little apprehensive about using up my one dairy freebie, but it was so worth it. The gelato was amazing! As you can see by my face – I was pretty stoked about it. πŸ˜‰

hikeFrom Corniglia we began the hike to Vernazza (town 4)! Prepare yourself for some gorgeous photos coming up…

3 corneglia (13)The trail

3 corneglia (12)The view πŸ™‚

3 corneglia (11)The view behind us. That’s Corniglia back there!

3 corneglia (14)We found a shady spot about halfway and just sat here for a while taking in the gorgeous view. What view? Oh, well, let me share:

3 corneglia (15)Um yeah. Gorgeous. I wish I had words to describe how beautiful it is. Pictures don’t even do it justice. Phenomenal beauty. Designed by God. It was truly awe inspiring.

Β When we first walked down into Vernazza we were met with the sound of singing. As we followed our ears we came upon this group of men and one lady who were performing their own sort of flash mob. It was DELIGHTFUL! After they finished, they all just walked away. I literally laughed in delight when we came across them!

4 vernazza (5)Christopher making friends with a little girl while filling up our water bottles.

4 vernazza (11)Us in Vernazza

vernazza view and castleOn the right is the view of Vernazza from the water (I actually took that photo the next day while cruisin’ on the water, but more on that tomorrow). And the other shot is of the Vernazza Castle which we stepped inside so we could say that we went in a castle! πŸ˜‰

4 vernazza (3)More locks on a bridge

capitanoWe had dinner at Capitano in Vernazza.Β This area is famous for their basil pesto so that was good in of itself, but the seafood pasta was AMAZING! One of the best three pastas of the entire trip! Seriously, SO good!

4 vernazza (22)Our view from dinner. πŸ™‚

local goodsAfter dinner we walked around exploring the little shops and local stuff. πŸ™‚

We hopped back on the train and rode back to Riomaggiore where we were staying. It was an absolutely amazing (and gorgeous and tasty) first day in the Cinque Terre!
Love Rach

 

35 responses to “Cinque Terre: Hiking and Exploring

  1. It looks absolutely stunning, gorgeous pics!

  2. Wow, these pictures are so vibrant!! I am glad you got to enjoy the best bread of your life! That is awesome πŸ™‚

  3. Oh Rach, it’s so gorgeous!! β™₯ πŸ˜€

    -Tia

  4. Okay, so this is my favorite place you’ve visited so far. Ha, ha. πŸ™‚

  5. Even though I haven’t been commenting, I’ve enjoyed your Italy recaps. I went there a couple years ago and love seeing similar places. And I hope you don’t mind me asking, but I just got this funny feeling reading your most recent post…are you pregnant?!?

  6. It’s so gorgeous!!

  7. Oh my goodness, now that’s beautiful!! Looks like a day that you’ll never forget!!

  8. Loving these updates!! What an amazing trip, I wish I had more time to explore when I was there!

  9. Beautiful pics! Sad about the dairy!

    • Yeah, it was sad to not have the option to eat the dairy (well, I guess I could’ve but then I would’ve been sick the whole time in Italy, haha), but to be honest I felt healthier than I would have if I HAD been eating dairy so maybe it was a small blessing in disguise. πŸ˜‰

  10. WOW those photos are gorgeous. and that gelato looks amazing. how fun!

  11. stunning pictures!!! the water is SO BLUE. i bet this was even more amazing in person, wow!

  12. My favorite of the Italy posts so far. And that’s saying a lot because I love them all. But this place….magic. I LOVE the flash mob!! That’s awesome.

  13. Your photos are amazing! I especially love the locks forefront with beautiful ocean view behind. How did you end up in Italy?

  14. Stunning pictures! I’ve always wanted to go to lover’s lane! I’ve seen those lockets on tv shows and in movies. It seems so romantic to leave a lock there πŸ™‚

  15. ah your pictures are amazing. I feel like I am becoming a broken record on all of your travel posts. I would like to come across a singing group like that in the street. How neat!

  16. Pingback: Bringing Italy to our Christmas Tree |

  17. Pingback: Celebrating Christmas with Christopher’s Family |

  18. Pingback: Top 12 Moments of Our Italy Trip |

  19. From Corniglia to Vernazza, did you take the lower or upper trail?

  20. Pingback: Cinque Terre, Italy |

Leave a Reply

