Blues City Thrift

Christopher and I really enjoy thrift store shopping. There are always so many fun things to discover! This weekend we discovered a little gem of a place here in Memphis called Blues City Thrift. Like most thrift stores, they have gently used clothes (including lots of Ann Taylor and Cold Water Creek in their women’s section, but of course their selection is always changing based on donations) and a whole room devoted to furniture. But best of all, this place was full of cute little items that just called out for me to photograph them (and even buy a few of them).

blues city thrift6685 Quince Road, Suite 110, Memphis

dolls blue city thriftVintage dolls

vintage blues city thriftVintage tennis rackets and the sweetest little lace covered bassinet

vintage shoes blues city thriftVintage shoes

blues city thriftWhy yes, that’s anΒ equestrian helmet… this is a prime example of why I love thrift stores. You just never know what nifty things you will find!

blues city thrift records books puzzlesPuzzles, books, and old records! We actually bought one of those puzzles and brought it home to put together that night.

puzzleI mean, what else says romance like putting together a dinosaur puzzle late at night to celebrate your anniversary? πŸ˜‰ 9 years together and this is actually the first time we can ever remember doing a puzzle together. It was so much fun! And yes, a piece was missing from the puzzle, but we had three bonus pieces that are missing from someone else’s puzzles, haha!

owl friend blues city thriftSo besides the puzzle, we also bought this little guy. I mean, just look how adorable he is! He is currently hanging out on top of our piano. He is hollow with an open top so I haven’t decided what I want to use him for. Maybe flowers or a candle or as a pen holder for the office or maybe just to stay right where he is lookin’ cute. πŸ˜‰

tinI also came home with this blue and gold tin. Isn’t it gorgeous? I just love it!

chelsea blues city thriftEveryone at Blues City Thrift was super friendly and joked around with us like we were regulars. Chelsea in particular had me laughing. She was excited to be featured on the blog so everyone say “Hi Chelsea!” πŸ˜‰

All in all, Blues City Thrift has some great finds. According to their website and brochure, 100% of their proceeds go to local charities which I think is pretty great! We definitely will be back!
Love Rach

32 responses to “Blues City Thrift

  1. I love that blue and gold tin! Trey and I go antique shopping a lot. We bought a 1969 and a 1987 Saltine cracker tins. He had been searching for them for a long time haha. I couldn’t not buy both since the older one was really cool and 1987 was the year I was born so had to have that one too! You never know what you will find at thrift and antique stores!

  2. I love that y’all like thrift stores! I would love to see this one! I also love puzzles! I can’t wait to put puzzles together with Landry!

  3. Hahah! That puzzle part cracked me up. I love that you guys got three bonus pieces! How fun. The owl is super cute! I like thrift stores as well. It’s always interesting to see what other people have donated.

    And hi Chelsea!

  4. Thrift shops are fun, but they always have an odd smell in them. HA!

  5. This seems like a really interesting thrift shop! I haven’t been to one in a long time. That is awesome that their proceeds go to charity!

  6. i never find good things at thrift stores! i think i need to go more often! how fun to do a puzzle together!

  7. That does seem like an extra-good thrift shop! I’ve never spotted an equestrian helmet. And those vintage shoes are to-die-for! Your owl is DARLING!! And hello to Chelsea!

  8. So fun, you found some cute things, I especially love that owl!

  9. Love that little owl! Too cute!

  10. “Hi, Chelsea!!!” πŸ™‚ AND what a fun time! Come to think of it, me and my hubby have never done a puzzle together either. Hmmm, I may have to remedy that!

  11. Thrift store shopping is fun! You never know what kind of things you might find πŸ™‚

  12. I LOVE that you two will thrift shop TOGETHER! So sweet!

  13. Thrift stores have my heart. I need that owllllllll

  14. Thrift stores are the BEST! I love the treasures you can find there. ❀

  15. I love the owl….and just about everything else! Looks like you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

