A Saturday with Family

This past weekend my sister, Holly, and her family came to Memphis to visit! Holly’s husband, Glen, also has a sister who lives here in Memphis so our three families all got together on Saturday.

madison and tuckerThis is Madison and Tucker. Their mom is my sister’s husband’s sister. Follow that? No? Well don’t worry about it. Essentially they are cousins to my niece and nephew, but not actually related to me. But you don’t have to be related to me to call me “Aunt Rae Rae” as these two quickly figured out! We had a ball together!

DSC_0914My nephew, Wesley and his cousin, Tucker, playing in the backyard before the mid-afternoon downpour.

makenzie and madisonMy niece, Makenzie, and her cousin Madison, modeling new looks.

car troubleAt one point there was a little bit of car trouble so Tucker thought he’d help out with the big boys. Look at that little hand on his hip – too cute!

nerf gun attackAnd of course we did what all normal adults do on a rainy Saturday… we armed ourselves with nerf guns and ammo and sneak attacked the kids!

froyoThen the rain stopped so we took the kids to get frozen yogurt! YUM!

makenzie and oreoAfter froyo we needed to run home to let Oreo out and to feed him dinner and Makenzie wanted to come with us. Which is strange since she is terrified of dogs – especially BIG dogs! But apparently she has decided that Oreo really is a nice dog after all. In fact, she told her mom (my sister) that after Christopher and I die that she plans to adopt Oreo. I’m not sure what she knows that I don’t know, but I definitely didn’t accept anything to eat or drink from her this weekend… πŸ˜‰

with makenzieAnd naturally we needed to take photos together since she is my little mini me look alike after all! πŸ™‚

christopher and kenzieChristopher and Kenzie kept making faces at each other until this precious moment when they both were laughing at the same time. Those two crack me up!

dress upThen naturally it was time to play dress up! By the way, the shot of Makenzie on the bottom left is one of my favorites! So funny!

cousinsMakenzie and Madison being adorable together.

We played Barbies, we sangΒ karaoke, we played dress up, we played with nerf guns, we read books together, prayed together, even had a little devotional time together, and had just a really swell day. But the best part of the day was when I realized I had several open opportunities to speak truth into these girls’ lives because currently they still think I’m cool.

They are both only 7-years-old so I was surprised when I heard them talking about being bullied at school. Name calling is bad enough now, but what happens a few years from now when these girls have cellphones and social media? When that bullying is no longer only at school, but part of every moment of their day? I wanted to hug both the girls close and just tell them over and over how beautiful and special they were, but I read an article over the summer that has really changed how I interact with little girls called “How to Talk to Little Girls.”

In that article it talks about not only telling little girls how beautiful they are, but also affirming their intelligence. So we talked about bullying if it happens to you and we talked about how to handle it if you see it happening to someone else. I did my best to speak truth into their lives all day. Telling them how smart they were when I heard them piece something together or affirming their kindness when I saw them share or play well together. I know it’s not much in the grand scheme of things, but at least it’s a start. πŸ™‚
Love Rach

 

30 responses to “A Saturday with Family

  1. That is a little bit of everything in one day – Nerf guns to fro-yo!

    I’m so glad that you saw the opportunity (and took it!) to be a positive influence in their lives. It is awful that there is already bullying in a seven year old’s world.

  2. how cute is your family… love your grey & orange sweatshirt!

  3. So glad you got to have a weekend with your family! And I’ve seen that article before… so good! As a teacher, I say amen, amen, amen!

    • It really is so good! I didn’t realize how much I focus on telling little girls how gorgeous they are and how much I like their pretty dresses and shoes and hair until reading this article. It’s just that little girls ARE so adorable that it’s hard for me to remember to focus on other things too.

  4. Hey Rachel,
    Thanks for giving those four special kiddos some of your time on Saturday. They are all great kids that soak up attention from people who care. Thanks for talking to the girls. Mrs. Sandy

  5. Awww, I love the photos, and your straight talk with the girls. I hate that bullying is a part of our girls’ lives already and at such young ages.

  6. I just love how much time you spend with family!! Also that photo of Christopher and Kenzie, absolutely adorable. I love that you were able to talk to the girls about the bullying too..so much love from me haha.

  7. So cute! Family time is the best time.

    I am so sad to hear about that…kids are so so mean. 😦 I luckily had great experiences in school, I only pray that my future kids have it as easy as I did. I had a occasional rude comment that I would get upset about but nothing compared to some of the awful stories I hear!

  8. What cuties. I especially love the photo of Makenzie and Christopher, and the last few of Makenzie and Madison. Adorable!

  9. Ha-ha, my sister and I make faces at each other like that too — then we end of dying of laughter. It’s so much fun. ❀

  10. Such cute kids! And those girls are so lucky to have an awesome aunt who affirms them and speaks life to them! I love that article; I’ve been trying to actively practice it when I speak to my four-year-old niece. It’s SO hard when they’re so cute, and you keep wanting to tell how gorgeous they are! But, I definitely see the importance of affirming their intelligence and interests.

  11. It looks like you had a great weekend! I love pictures. πŸ™‚

  12. Looks like you had such a fun weekend! I love all the pictures! Nerf gun wars are the best!

  13. You have so many sweet kiddos in your life. These pictures are all so frame-worthy!

  14. These pictures are adorable. It looks like everyone had a great time!

Leave a Reply

