Slow Cooker Pot Roast for Fall

Rebecca (the mom of the kids I nanny) makes the most amazing smelling slow cooker pot roast. I know because every time she makes it, I get to smell it all day, haha! When I saw that Kroger had pot roast on sale last week I decided it was time to ask her for her recipe! And it tastes just as great as it smells! She says she originally got this recipe from the back of an A1 steak sauce bottle.

pot roast and veggies (2)When I was a kid, pot roast always came with carrots, onions, and potatoes. Aldi had a great sale on butternut squash and sweet potatoes that week, though, so I decided to chop those up and put them in there. I’ve never cooked butternut squash in a slow cooker so I was a little afraid that it would just turn to mush, but it actually was really great!

pot roast and veggies (3)The pot roast goes in first with 1/2 cup A1, 1/2 cup water, and a packet of dry Lipton beefy onion soup mix (all mixed together first). Turn on low for 8 hours.

pot roast and veggies (5)Halfway through the 8 hours Β toss in all those veggies!

pot roast and veggies (9)After 8 hours pull it all out and serve on a platter! It’s so funny that most of this meal ended up orange. It’s just what happened to be on sale. And it was delicious! Sweet potatoes were particularly amazing with this recipe. I had no idea how good they would be. I definitely plan to use them instead of regular potatoes when I make pot roast from now on! πŸ™‚

slow cooker pot roast and veggies{click here to see a larger version of this recipe card}

And of course this recipe can be adapted with whatever vegetables you prefer. I used what was on sale that particular week, but I’m pretty sure that when I make it again it will still include at least onions, carrots, and sweet potatoes. So delicious! πŸ™‚
Love Rach

 

29 responses to “Slow Cooker Pot Roast for Fall

  1. Yum!!! You share the best recipes!
    LOL at all the orange. I thought it was cubed cheese.

  2. That looks amazing! My mom makes a great pot roast but I’ve never been able to really get it – mine always come out kind of tough. I’m definitely going to try this one though, especially since it has sweet potatoes (the best!) in it!

  3. Looks like a great fall dish with all the orange!!!

  4. Yum! I would never think to use butternut squash or sweet potatoes, but I’m glad you tried it and it was a success! I think I will try that as well! I hope you are well! I have been out of the blogging scene for awhile, but am glad to be back. I will have to catch up on your blog!

  5. i do believe we have the same plates. target?!

  6. I love slow cooker meals!! And pot roast is a classic. I look forward to trying this one. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh, I bet it’s tough to nanny and smell their amazing dinner all day! I would be drooling haha.

    I love how simple the recipe is, too!

  8. Slow cookers are the BEST! Thanks for sharing this divine recipe. πŸ™‚

  9. Yum!!! Looks delicious! πŸ™‚

  10. I tried making pot roast just once, and it was notsogreat. I am so trying this recipe!

  11. i need to get the ol crockpot outta the closet now that its getting colder out, this looks good!

  12. Oh I used to love a good pot roast in the crockpot when I used to eat beef. I’m slowly trying to transition it back into my diet. Must try this!

  13. Yum!! And I love sweet potatoes and butternut squash as a side!

  14. i can imagine the smell. yum!!! ellesees.blogspot.com

  15. Pingback: The Nesting… |

Leave a Reply

