Girls’ Retreat 2013

This past weekend was the girls’ retreat for the teenage girls I mentor. We were at the Doublehead Resort in Town Creek, Alabama which is a really nice little spot. πŸ™‚

DSC_0147 copyEarly morning sunlight peeking through the mist and trees outside our cabins

DSC_0238 copyThe ever popular hammocks (the girls love these!)

pics with the girlsSooo I had no intention of wearing that giant red Harding hoody (which I’ve had since I was 13) all weekend. I grabbed it at the last minute just in case I got cold. Well, as it turned out, it WAS cold all weekend so I wore it nearly the whole time, haha!

DSC_0262 copyPlaying the Guess-Your-Own-Character game.

hula hoop gamePlaying the hula hoop game. Allie was in charge of games this year and she did a great job!

song pictionaryLike every year we played song-pictionary. This is where you draw the title of a song and when the group gets it they all have to sing the chorus of the song together before the other team figures it out.

DSC_0688 copyAnd of course there is plenty of quiet time for the girls to reflect and pray

DSC_0809 copyThere were pumpkins to carve and/or decorate. This little one was my favorite. How cute is he?!

DSC_0787 copyWe had chalk for the girls to play with. They decorated a whole dock with their art! And then they colored their hands for this shot. πŸ™‚

DSC_0949 copyOne of the docks that the girls decorated with chalk

DSC_0807 copyThere is a trail that some of the older girls and I walk every year. This shot is of Β the girls at the beginning of the trail!

DSC_0894 copyThen as the sun begins to set, the girls get excited about taking photos on the docks.

DSC_0078 copyPicture of a picture πŸ™‚

DSC_0055 copyAnd naturally there was a jumping shot πŸ˜‰

DSC_0076 copyAnd like every year, the sunset was gorgeous over the lake

girls' retreatAll the girls and chaperones! This was Lyndal’s first year as the new youth minister (ps. did I mention that one of my besties, Lyndal, is the new youth minister of the church where I volunteer with teens?! How perfect is that?!). She did a GREAT job with the planning and devos! The girls really had a great time and I’m glad I got to be there. πŸ™‚

Love Rach

35 responses to “Girls’ Retreat 2013

  1. Aw Rach, this looks like such an amazing weekend! Love the shot of the girls jumping…so much joy. And I want to be in that hammock right now!

  2. Looks like such a fun retreat! That shot with the sunlight is AMAZING!

  3. I just love how you do all this stuff, it always sounds like such a blast!!! You live such a positive life my friend, I SO wish we lived closer!

  4. That trip looks amazing!! What a lucky bunch of girls!

  5. What a rewarding weekend!! I love the influence that you have on these girls and how much they look up to you.

  6. man, looks like y’all had a truly lovely time!
    loved all the pictures, the walking, chalk drawing, jumping, pumpkins, etc.
    πŸ™‚ and looks like the girls were truly enjoying themselves and feeling encouraged and poured into! bravo!

  7. That’s so awesome you get to help out with the retreat, and what a perfect place for it! Looks so peaceful and relaxing, a great place to pray and reflect.

  8. It looks like y’all had a blast!

  9. I just love the smiles on all their faces; they shine! You are doing an amazing thing and leaving such an indelible, positive imprint on their lives. Yay for you, and yay for them!!!

  10. This is awesome! I love my teenagers and preteens that I mentor!

  11. what a great weekend! and the girls look so happy. glad the retreat went so well.

  12. Oh my gosh, that little pumpkin is absolutely adorable! I’m so glad you had the opportunity to spend time with your girls! You are all shining and look so happy! πŸ™‚

  13. I enjoyed these photos very much! How did you get involved in mentoring?

    • My under graduate degree was in Youth & Family Ministry so I originally planned to be a youth minister/pastor for a church. I interned for two summers with an amazing church and loved what I did, but realized that it wasn’t a good fit for me as a newly wed (I got married just a couple of months after graduating college). Anyway, even though I don’t do it professionally, I decided to volunteer with the teens at our church so they put me with the 7th & 8th graders who are now the 11th & 12th graders. It’s hard to believe that they have grown up so fast on me!

  14. The retreat looked like so much fun! I would love to just lay on a hammock and relax πŸ™‚

  15. Wow, what an amazing retreat. That is something I would have absolutely LOVED when I was a teen (haha I act like it was sooo long ago..) and it must have been a blast to be there and watch the girls have fun and grow spiritually.

  16. Pingback: Sometimes I let my guard drop and it’s okay |

Leave a Reply

