Homecoming!

This past weekend was Homecoming at my alma mater. My mother-in-law works at my old uni so we got to hang out with her and my father-in-law too!

Β The morning started with my parents-in-law playing with Oreo. They are hilarious when they chase him around. I’m pretty sure they get more excited to see Oreo than to see us when we come visit. πŸ˜‰

DSC_0492 copyNext up was some thrift store shopping! Christopher is a great fashion adviser!

DSC_0482 copyI found this great little magazine rack that I am going to turn into a prop for photographing babies! I’m going to remove the bars inside, refinish the outside, and then fill it with soft blankets for a baby to snuggle into. πŸ™‚

DSC_0517 copyWe came across this gazebo and did what any normal people would do… lined up for a parents-son photo! πŸ˜‰ Pretend like they aren’t so squinty-eyed. They were looking directly into the sun, haha!

marty tony meMe with my parents-in-law on campus. I just love them!

DSC_0528 copySoooo… I love my university, but it’s hard to know exactly what to write about the latest addition to the front lawn. Based on the idea of Mt Rushmore, the faces of the first five presidents of Harding University have been “carved in stone.” Actually, it’s not stone, but I’m not sure what it is. Some sort of paper mache sort of thing. Anyway, it’s certainly unique, haha!

us with mt mclartyAnd naturally we needed to have a photo taken with it. We are standing by Dr. Burks who was the president while we were at HU. I think the “mountain” had to be done in pieces in order to move it, but as Christopher pointed out… it looks a bit like headstones. Yikes! Again, a unique piece of art.

Anyway, I know I don’t have a lot of photos of homecoming activities and the reason is two-fold. 1. We didn’t do that many homecoming-related things just because we wanted to be able to spend time with Christopher’s parents. And 2. the things we did (like the play) didn’t allow photos. Anyway, it was a fun weekend. Glad we got to go! πŸ™‚

Love Rach

22 responses to “Homecoming!

  1. This weekend was homecoming at my school, too!! We did not go thrifting, though. That would have been fun – I love antique stores!

  2. those faces are kind of funny – it’d be so strange to see yourself in a mold like that!

  3. Not just the first 5 presidents, but the only 5 presidents in Harding’s history. πŸ™‚ They did look like headstones. Of course I got a picture with Burks too! πŸ™‚

  4. Aww, love the in-laws picture. Too cute. And you’re so pretty, friend!

  5. That’s so nice that you went back to your school for homecoming! I love your photography. You are so talented! πŸ™‚

  6. The statues of the past presidents is cool – but maybe a little creepy….

    Sounds like it was a wonderful homecoming – it’s great that you got to spend time with your in-laws!

  7. That video is hilarious!! I love how Oreo jumps over the couch…Max is not that brave haha. And that art is unique…I laughed out loud a little when you pointed out that it looks like headstones. It totally does!

  8. love love love this!
    and uh the first 5 presidents carved in (whatever it is)…that is AMAZING!
    & the video with your inlaws and y’alls pup I was laughing so hard!

  9. Ooh, love your new infant prop! I haven’t really been brave enough yet to jump into infant photography. I would love to at some point though; there’s so much potential for fun and awesomeness!

  10. Can’t wait to see some cute little babies in there! πŸ™‚

  11. I miss my alma matter too! And my in-laws, as a matter of fact ;P

Leave a Reply

